Batavia

The Batavia was a galleon that was in the service of the Dutch East India Company and sank on their first voyage off the coast of Australia.

 

Construction and launch :

March 17, 1626, the ship was commissioned as a so-called East India driver on the Peperwerft in Amsterdam. After 183,000 working hours, the ship was completed in 1628.

 

Mission:

The East India drivers were drafted by the Dutch East India Company into the Netherlands to transport weapons, bricks, silver and gold coins as well as soldiers and settlers in the Dutch colony on the property. On the way back the goods, textiles and Chinese ceramics are to be taken.

 

The first trip and the disaster:

The Batavia ran together with two other ships on October 29, 1628 from Texel from India. On the way in the Atlantic, however, the Batavia lost contact with the other ships and ran alone on 14 April 1629 the Cape of Good Hope, where it was 8 days left to record new supplies, then it went on to Australia.

Since at that time the navigation options were not yet so mature and the coastline with the adjacent shoals, currents and reefs were not fully mapped, the ship ran on 4 June 1629 60 kilometers west of the Australian coast on a reef of the Wallabi Islands. The disaster killed 20 people, the remaining survivors were able to save on the archipelago.

To get help, the chief merchant, the captain, and a select few sailors set off for Java on the larger lifeboat heading for Jakarta. Meanwhile, the under-salesman Jeronimus Cornelisz began to build a dictatorial reign of terror among the survivors and read about 125, including women and children, murder. Upon the return of the chief merchant, these could be warned by loyal soldiers who had saved themselves on a neighboring island, that the sub-merchant wanted to board the returned boats. Then he and several other mutineers were arrested and executed immediately. The rest of his accomplices were sent to jail, as was the captain in Jakarta.

 

In the 20th century, the sunken ship recovered the upper stern structure and the ballast cargo from carved sandstone blocks for a 6m high portal and can now be found in the museum in Geraldton, Australia.

 

Reproduction of the Batavia under sails

Reproduction of the Batavia under sails

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)frFrançais (French)itItaliano (Italian)zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))ruРусский (Russian)esEspañol (Spanish)arالعربية (Arabic)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Batavia

Die Batavia war eine Galeone die im Dienste der niederländischen Ostindien-Kompanie stand und auf ihrer ersten Seereise vor der Küste Australiens sank.

 

Bau und Stapellauf:

17. März 1626 wurde das Schiff als sogenannter Ostindienfahrer auf der Peperwerft in Amsterdam in Auftrag gegeben. Nach 183.000 Arbeitsstunden wurde das Schiff 1628 fertig gestellt.

 

Auftrag:

Die Ostindienfahrer wurden von der niederländischen Ostindien-Kompanie eingesetzt um aus den Niederlanden Waffen, Backsteine, Silber und Goldmünzen sowie Soldaten und Siedler in die niederländischen Kolonie auf dem indischen Gebiet zu transportieren. Auf dem Rückweg sollten Güter wie Gewürze, Textilien und chinesische Keramikartikel mitgenommen werden.

 

Die erste Reise und die Katastrophe:

Die Batavia lief zusammen mit zwei weiteren Schiffen am 29. Oktober 1628 von Texel aus Richtung Indien. Unterwegs im Atlantik verlor die Batavia jedoch den Kontakt zu den anderen Schiffen und lief alleine am 14. April 1629 das Kap der Guten Hoffnung an, wo es 8 Tage verblieb um neue Vorräte aufzunehmen, anschließend ging es weiter Richtung Australien.

Da zur damaligen Zeit die Navigationsmöglichkeit noch nicht so ausgereift waren und auch der Küstenverlauf mit den angrenzenden Untiefen, Strömungen und Riffen nicht vollständig kartografiert waren, lief das Schiff am 4. Juni 1629 60 Kilometer westlich der australischen Küste auf ein Riff der Wallabi-Inseln. Bei dem Unglück starben 20 Menschen, die restlichen Überlebenden konnten sich auf die Inselgruppe retten.

Um Hilfe zu holen, brachen der der Oberkaufmann, der Kapitän und einige ausgewählte Seeleute mit dem größeren Rettungsboot Richtung Jakarta auf Java auf. Währenddessen begann der Unterkaufmann Jeronimus Cornelisz eine diktatorische Terrorherrschaft unter den Überlebenden aufzubauen und lies an die 125, auch Frauen und Kinder, ermorden. Bei der Rückkehr des Oberkaufmanns, konnten diese von loyalen Soldaten, die sich auf eine Nachbarinsel gerettet hatten, gewarnt werden, dass der Unterkaufmann die zurückgekehrten Boote entern wollte. Daraufhin wurden er und einige andere Meuterer verhaftet und umgehend hingerichtet. Der Rest seiner Komplizieren wurden ebenso wie der Kapitän in Jakarta ins Gefängnis gebracht.

 

Im 20. Jahrhundert konnten von dem gesunkenen Schiff der obere Heckaufbau sowie die Ballast-Ladung von behauenen Sandsteinblöcken für ein 6 m hohes Portal geborgen werden und sind heute im Museum in Geraldton, Australien zu finden.

 

Nachbau der Batavia unter Segeln

Nachbau der Batavia unter Segeln

 

Noch keine Kommentare bis jetzt.

Einen Kommentar schreiben