George Washington

George Washington is still one of the most well-known American personalities, who not only showed military skill in the wars on American soil, but also among the founding fathers of the United States of America.

 

Origin and teenage years:

George Washington was born on February 22, 1732, to Augustine Washington and Mary Ball at Wakefield Manor in Westmoreland County, Virginia. His parents were English resettlers who built up a existence as plantation owners in the New World. As usual during this time, his parents also kept black slaves for the work on the plantations.

At the age of 11 his father died and his 14-year-old half-brother Lawrence took over the guardianship of George and the management of the plantation. Up to the age of fifteen, he enjoyed elementary school education in Williamsburg, where he focused on mathematics.

From 1748 he accompanied the husband of the neighborly daughter George William Fairfax on his surveying tours and earned himself as a geometer. During this time, he not only acquired basic knowledge in cartography, but also learned to appreciate leadership and the value of a landed property. So he bought in this time also his first own property of 585 hectares at Bullskin Creek at the bottom Shenandoah.

In 1752 his half-brother Lawrence died of tuberculosis and George took over the management of the plantation. In June 1752, he also applied to a general adjutant post in the Virginia militia.

 

George Washington

George Washington

 

 

George Washington's military career:

 

The Seven Years War in North America

His first military mission was to deliver a letter from the deputy governor of Virginia Robert Dinwiddie to the French urging him to immediately stop the fort west of the Allegheny. This request was rejected by the French.

His first command of 160 men was given to George in the spring of 1754, when he and his soldiers were sent to the area of ​​what is now Pittsburgh to scout the French forts and the reconnaissance troops. After George received the information that the Ohio Company men were expelled by the French from their as yet unfinished fort, he rallied his Native American allies and had himself build some forts in defense against possible attacks by the French. In May 1754, in the battle of Jumonville Glen, the first clashes broke out between the French and the troop squad of Washington, with the French losing. A month later, he himself was trapped in Fort Necessity with his troops and had to surrender. He was only promised safe conduct if he allowed the murder of French commander Joseph de Jumonville during the battle of Jumonville Glen. George signed the contract, was able to withdraw with his troops but later objected to a murder and made the poor translation of the contract responsible.

When the seven-year war broke out, George Washington was captained by the British Braddock expedition in May 1755. The order of the army was the siege of the French Fort Duquesne. But by the military setup based on European conditions and not on dense American wilderness, which it is easy for the French to encase the vanguard of the 10-kilometer-long train on 9 July. In this battle on Monongahela, George's troops caught between the British and the French and suffered heavy casualties. From a total of 1,300 men fell in this battle about 900 soldiers. Washington realized that the demands of European conditions were not to be applied to the war on American soil.

After the defeat of the Braddock expedition, Washington was the supreme command of the first regular regiment of Virginia with at times over 1,000 men. Through his engagement, the borders of Virginia could be defended against the French, with the main battles taking place in the other states.

1758 should follow another British expedition to the French Fort Duquesne. Although Washington expressed its concerns about the operation, he joined them. In contrast to the Braddock expedition, the current troop strength was about twice as high. In addition, this time, Native American scouts were sent ahead, the British soldiers were taught in the forest fight and exchanged their typical red uniforms against those of the Rangers, who were much better camouflage due to their green color in forests. On November 12, 1758, Washington and its regiment encountered a French reconnaissance patrol from Fort Duquesne. After a fierce but victorious battle, they reached the fort, which they found burning. The French troops had fired it because of the superiority of the British and withdrew.

In December, Washington resigned from the regiment with the rank of Colonel to assume a seat in the Virginia House of Representatives. He also married on January 6, 1759 Martha Dandrige Custis.

 

Martha Dandrige Custis

Martha Dandrige Custis

 

 

 

The time after the Seven Years War:

The marriage between George Washington and Martha Dandrige Custis was, from Washington's perspective, pure reason, not sentimental marriage. Martha was already widowed at the age of 26 and one of the richest women in Virginia. He adopted the two children Martha and managed his plantations.

With the advent of the rebellion of the locals against the British, the next conflict was inevitable. Since Washington already had a seat in the House of Deputies of Virginia, he was convened in 1774 also to the first continental congress of the 13 colonies, which wanted to prepare the way to American independence.

 

 

 

The American Revolutionary War:

1775 reached the American independence aspirations their peak. At the first Continental Congress, Washington was nominated as Commander of the Continental Army on 15 June 1775 by Thomas Johnson, Governor of Maryland, to go to war against the British. Washington accepted the nomination and immediately began to deploy a force.

His first mission as Commander led him to Boston, where around 16,000 militia soldiers encircled the pushed back British forces. After 9 months on March 17, 1776, the British withdrew from there and Boston could be taken by Washington. He then moved with most of his army to New York City, which he had fortified. On 27 August 1776, he suffered a defeat at the Battle of Long Island, but was able to win at the Battle of Harlem Heights on September 16, 1776 victory. The rebuffing of the British, however, was short-lived. With the victories of the Battle of White Plains and the Battle of Fort Washington, the British were able to occupy Manhattan in October. Washington retreated with his soldiers to Valley Forge in Pennsylvania to avoid being trapped.

On December 26, 1776, Washington surprised the Hessian mercenaries of the British by crossing the Delaware River and attacking the enemy forces at Trenton, New Jersey. He had his positions fortified, was able to hold them against a British attack in January 1777 and drive them out of New Jersey by a surprise attack at Princeton. With the lost battle of Brandywine on September 11, 1777, the city of Philadelphia, which at that time was used as a capital, fell into British hands and the Continental Congress had to retire to York (Pennsylvania). Another defeat suffered Washington at Germantown on October 4, 1777 in an attempt to retake Philadelphia. In the coming winter his army also suffered heavy losses from the diseases of typhoid fever, dysentery and pneumonia and shrank to around 5,000 men together. In February 1778 reinforced him in the leadership of sent by Prussia Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben, whose mission was the support in the construction and training of the Continental Army.

 

Die Überquerung des Delaware, von Emanuel Leutze, 1851

The crossing of the Delaware, by Emanuel Leutze, 1851

 

As early as June 28, 1778, the now more disciplined and trained army was able to demonstrate its abilities as it attacked the British rearguard of the army from Philadelphia to New York. In the summer of 1779, Washington's focus was on fighting British loyalists and some Iroquois tribes.

The allied with the United States from 1778 France sent in 1780 an expeditionary force of 6,000 men, led by Lieutenant-General Jean -Baptiste-Donatien de Vimeur, comte de Rochambeau in support of Rhode Iceland. In August 1781, the French and Continental armies joined forces and marched together towards Yorktown, where British troops had settled. Shortly thereafter, the British armed forces capitulated and with the Peace of Paris in September 1783, the American Revolutionary War ended.

 

 

 

Appointed as first president:

On February 4, 1789, George Washington was unanimously elected President of the United States of America by representatives of the 13 founding states. On April 30, 1789 was his swearing on the balcony of the Federal Hall of New York.

 

George Washington, Lansdowne Portrait von Gilbert Stuart, 1796

George Washington, Lansdowne Portrait of Gilbert Stuart, 1796

 

 

 

Leaving as president and his death:

Washington withdrew in 1797 due to increasing health deterioration from the presidency. Already at the age of 17 he suffered from malaria. Next came his, due to the high sugar consumption, failed teeth, later diphtheria, tuberculosis and smallpox added.

End of 1799 he fell ill with a laryngitis and died on December 14, 1799 on his estate Mount Vernon in Virginia. 4 days later the funeral took place in the family vault. In 1831, it was converted into the new family crypt completed at that time.

 

 

 

 

 

You can find the right literature here:

 

Washington: A Life

Washington: A Life Hardcover – Deckle Edge, October 5, 2010

In Washington: A Life celebrated biographer Ron Chernow provides a richly nuanced portrait of the father of our nation. With a breadth and depth matched by no other one-volume life of Washington, this crisply paced narrative carries the reader through his troubled boyhood, his precocious feats in the French and Indian War, his creation of Mount Vernon, his heroic exploits with the Continental Army, his presiding over the Constitutional Convention, and his magnificent performance as America's first president.

Despite the reverence his name inspires, Washington remains a lifeless waxwork for many Americans, worthy but dull. A laconic man of granite self-control, he often arouses more respect than affection. In this groundbreaking work, based on massive research, Chernow dashes forever the stereotype of a stolid, unemotional man. A strapping six feet, Washington was a celebrated horseman, elegant dancer, and tireless hunter, with a fiercely guarded emotional life. Chernow brings to vivid life a dashing, passionate man of fiery opinions and many moods. Probing his private life, he explores his fraught relationship with his crusty mother, his youthful infatuation with the married Sally Fairfax, and his often conflicted feelings toward his adopted children and grandchildren. He also provides a lavishly detailed portrait of his marriage to Martha and his complex behavior as a slave master.

At the same time, Washington is an astute and surprising portrait of a canny political genius who knew how to inspire people. Not only did Washington gather around himself the foremost figures of the age, including James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson, but he also brilliantly orchestrated their actions to shape the new federal government, define the separation of powers, and establish the office of the presidency.

Click here!

 

 

George Washington Dealmaker-In-Chief

George Washington Dealmaker-In-Chief: The Story of How The Father of Our Country Unleashed The Entrepreneurial Spirit in America Paperback – February 14, 2019

Drawing on substantial new material, Cyrus A. Ansary gives a riveting account of how George Washington sought to put in place in America an economic system that was the antithesis of what had existed in the colonies under British rule. The entrepreneurial economy – which nurtures and rewards innovation and inventiveness – did not sprout into being in the United States by sheer happenstance. It was put in place by our first President. He painstakingly laid the foundation for it, but it did not take root without a struggle. He needed extraordinary tenacity to overcome fierce opposition to his program.President Washington’s economic initiatives are the least well understood facets of Washington’s busy and productive life. They enlarged the dreams and opportunities of Americans, led to a flourishing entrepreneurial climate, and are an inspiring tale for our time.

Click here!

 

 

The First Conspiracy: The Secret Plot to Kill George Washington

The First Conspiracy: The Secret Plot to Kill George Washington Hardcover – January 8, 2019

In 1776, an elite group of soldiers were handpicked to serve as George Washington’s bodyguards. Washington trusted them; relied on them. But unbeknownst to Washington, some of them were part of a treasonous plan. In the months leading up to the Revolutionary War, these traitorous soldiers, along with the Governor of New York, William Tryon, and Mayor David Mathews, launched a deadly plot against the most important member of the military: George Washington himself.

This is the story of the secret plot and how it was revealed. It is a story of leaders, liars, counterfeiters, and jailhouse confessors. It also shows just how hard the battle was for George Washington and how close America was to losing the Revolutionary War.

In this historical page-turner, New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer teams up with American history writer and documentary television producer, Josh Mensch to unravel the shocking true story behind what has previously been a footnote in the pages of history. Drawing on extensive research, Meltzer and Mensch capture in riveting detail how George Washington not only defeated the most powerful military force in the world, but also uncovered the secret plot against him in the tumultuous days leading up to July 4, 1776.

Click here!

 

 

George Washington's Secret Six: The Spy Ring That Saved the American Revolution

George Washington's Secret Six: The Spy Ring That Saved the American Revolution Paperback – October 18, 2016

When George Washington beat a hasty retreat from New York City in August 1776, many thought the American Revolution might soon be over. Instead, Washington rallied—thanks in large part to a little-known, top-secret group called the Culper Spy Ring. He realized that he couldn’t defeat the British with military might, so he recruited a sophisticated and deeply secretive intelligence network to infiltrate New York.

Drawing on extensive research, Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaeger have offered fascinating portraits of these spies: a reserved Quaker merchant, a tavern keeper, a brash young longshoreman, a curmudgeonly Long Island bachelor, a coffeehouse owner, and a mysterious woman. Long unrecognized, the secret six are finally receiving their due among the pantheon of American heroes.

Click here!

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian) esEspañol (Spanish) arالعربية (Arabic)


Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

George Washington

George Washington ist bis heute eine der bekanntesten amerikanischen Persönlichkeiten, der nicht nur militärisches Geschick in den Kriegen auf amerikanischen Boden zeigte, sondern auch zu den Gründungsväter der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika zählt.

 

Herkunft und Jugendjahre:

George Washington wurde am 22. Februar 1732 als Sohn von Augustine Washington und Mary Ball auf dem Gutshof Wakefield im Westmoreland County in Virginia geboren. Seine Eltern waren englische Aussiedler, die in der neuen Welt eine Existenz als Plantagenbesitzer aufbauten. Wie in dieser Zeit üblich, hielten auch seine Eltern schwarze Sklaven für die Arbeiten auf den Plantagen.

Bereits mit 11 Jahren verstarb der Vater und sein 14 Jahre älterer Halbbruder Lawrence übernahm die Vormundschaft von George und die Leitung der Plantage. Bis zu seinem 15. Lebensjahr genoss er eine einfache Schulbildung in der Schule in Williamsburg, wo er seine Stärken auf die Mathematik legte.

Ab 1748 begleitete er den Ehemann der nachbarschaftlichen Tochter George William Fairfax auf dessen Vermessungstouren und verdiente sich so als Geometer. In dieser Zeit eignete er sich nicht nur grundlegendes Wissen in der Kartografie an, sondern lernte auch Menschenführung und den Wert eines Grundbesitzes zu schätzen. So kaufte er sich in dieser Zeit auch seinen ersten eigenen Grundbesitz von 585 Hektar am Bullskin Creek am unteren Shenandoah.

1752 verstarb sein Halbbruder Lawrence an Tuberkulose und George übernahm nun selbst die Leitung der Plantage. Im Juni 1752 bewarb er sich zudem auf einen Generaladjutantenposten in der virginischen Miliz.

George Washington

George Washington

 

George Washingtons militärische Laufbahn:

Der Siebenjährige Krieg in Nordamerika

Seine erste militärische Mission bestand in der Überbringung eines Schreibens des stellvertretenden Gouverneurs von Virginia Robert Dinwiddie an die Franzosen, mit der Aufforderung des sofortigen Stopps des Fortbaues westlich der Allegheny. Diese Aufforderung wurde von den Franzosen abgelehnt.

Sein erstes Kommando über 160 Mann erhielt George im Frühjahr 1754, als er mit seinen Soldaten in das Gebiet des heutigen Pittsburgh entsendet wurde um die französischen Forts und die Spähtruppen auszukundschaften. Nachdem George die Information erhielt, dass die Männer der Ohio Company von den Franzosen aus ihrem noch nicht fertigen Fort vertrieben wurden, sammelte er seine indianischen Verbündeten und lies selbst einige Forts zur Verteidigung gegen mögliche Angriffe der Franzosen aufbauen. Im Mai 1754 kam es im Gefecht von Jumonville Glen zu der ersten Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den Franzosen und dem Soldatentrupp von Washington, wobei die Franzosen eine Niederlage einstecken mussten. Einen Monat später wurde er selbst im Fort Necessity mit seinen Truppen eingeschlossen und musste kapitulieren. Ihm wurde nur der freie Geleit zugesichert, wenn er in dem Vertrag die Ermordung des französischen Kommandanten Joseph de Jumonville während des Gefecht von Jumonville Glen zugab. George unterschrieb den Vertrag, konnte mit seinen Truppen abziehen widersprach später jedoch einer Ermordung und machte die schlechte Übersetzung des Vertrages dafür Verantwortlich.

Als der siebenjährige Krieg voll ausgebrochen war, wurde George Washington als Hauptmann der britischen Braddock-Expedition im Mai 1755 eingeteilt. Der Auftrag der Armee war die Belagerung des französischen Fort Duquesne. Doch durch die militärische Aufstellung bezogen auf europäische Verhältnisse und nicht auf dichte amerikanische Wildnis, was es den Franzosen ein Leichtes die Vorhut des 10 Kilometer langen Trosses am 9. Juli  einzukesseln. In dieser Schlacht am Monongahela gerieten die Truppen von George zwischen die Briten und den Franzosen und mussten schwere Verluste einstecken. Von insgesamt 1.300 Mann fielen in dieser Schlacht rund 900 Soldaten. Washington erkannte, dass die Anforderungen an europäische Verhältnisse nicht auf den Krieg auf amerikanischem Boden umzusetzen sind.

Nach der Niederlage der  Braddock-Expedition erhielt Washington das Oberkommando das erste reguläre Regiment Virginias mit zeitweise über 1.000 Mann. Durch seinen Einsatz konnten die Grenzen Virginias gegen die Franzosen verteidigt werden, wobei die Hauptkämpfe in den anderen Staaten stattfanden.

1758 sollte eine weitere britische Expedition zum französischen Fort Duquesne folgen. Obwohl Washington seine Bedenken gegenüber dieser Operation kund tat, schloss er sich dieser an. Im Gegensatz zu der Braddock-Expedition war die jetzige Truppenstärke rund doppelt so hoch. Zudem wurden diesmal indianische Späher als Vorhut vorausgeschickt, die britischen Soldaten wurden im Waldkampf unterrichtet und tauschten ihre typischen roten Uniformen gegen die der Ranger, die durch ihre grüne Farbe deutlich besser in wäldlichen Gebieten zu Tarnung dienten. Am 12. November 1758 stieß Washington mit seinem Regiment auf eine französische Erkundungspatrouille aus dem Fort Duquesne. Nach einer heftigen, aber siegreichen Schlacht erreichten sie das Fort, was sie brennend vorfanden. Die französischen Truppen hatten es aufgrund der Übermacht der Briten angezündet und sich zurückgezogen.

Im Dezember schied Washington mit dem Dienstgrad eines Oberst aus dem Regiment aus um einen Sitz im Abgeordnetenhaus Virginias anzunehmen. Zudem heiratete er am 6. Januar 1759 Martha Dandrige Custis.

Martha Dandrige Custis

Martha Dandrige Custis

 

Die Zeit nach dem siebenjährigen Krieg:

Die Heirat zwischen George Washington und Martha Dandrige Custis war aus der Sicht Washingtons eine reine Vernunft und keine Gefühlsheirat. Martha war mit 26 Jahren bereits verwitwet und eine der reichsten Frauen aus Virginia. Er adoptierte die beiden Kinder Marthas und verwaltete seine Plantagen.

Mit dem Aufkommen der Rebellion der Einheimischen gegen die Briten bahnte sich zwangsläufig der nächste Konflikt an. Da Washington bereits einen Sitz im Abgeordnetenhaus Virginias hatte wurde er 1774 auch zu dem ersten Kontinentalkongress der 13 Kolonien einberufen, die den Weg zur amerikanischen Unabhängigkeit bereiten wollte.

 

Der amerikanische Unabhängigkeitskrieg:

1775 erreichten die amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitsbeschrebungen ihren Höhepunkt. Auf dem ersten Kontinentalkongress wurde Washington am 15. Juni 1775 von Thomas Johnson, Gouverneur von Maryland, als Kommandeur der Kontinentalarmee nominiert um gegen die Briten in den Krieg zu ziehen. Washington nahm die Nominierung an und begann umgehend mit der Aufstellung einer Streitmacht.

Seine erste Mission als Kommandeur führte ihn nach Boston, wo rund 16.000 Miliz Soldaten die zurückgedrängten britischen Streitkräfte eingekesselt haben. Nach 9 Monaten am 17. März 1776 zogen sich die Briten auch von dort zurück und Boston konnte von Washington eingenommen werden. Weiter zog es ihn mit dem größten Teil seiner Armee nach New York City, das er befestigen lies. Am 27. August 1776 musste er eine Niederlage bei der Schlacht von Long Island einstecken, konnte aber bei der Schlacht von Harlem Heights am 16. September 1776 einen Sieg erringen. Die Zurückschlagung der Briten war jedoch nur von kurzer Dauer. Mit den Siegen der Schlacht von White Plains und der Schlacht von Fort Washington konnten die Briten im Oktober Manhattan besetzen. Washington zog sich mit seinen Soldaten nach Valley Forge in Pennsylvania zurück um nicht eingeschlossen zu werden.

Am 26. Dezember 1776 überraschte Washington die hessischen Söldnertruppen der Briten indem er den Delaware River überquerte und die feindlichen Truppen bei Trenton, New Jersey angriff. Er lies seine Stellungen befestigen, konnte diese gegen einen britischen Angriff im Januar 1777 behaupten und durch einen Überraschungsangriff bei Princeton diese auch gleich aus New Jersey vertreiben. Mit der verlorenen Schlacht von Brandywine vom 11. September 1777 fiel die zu dieser Zeit als Hauptstadt genutzte Stadt Philadelphia in britische Hände und der Kontinentalkongress musste sich nach York (Pennsylvania) zurückziehen. Eine weitere Niederlage erlitt Washington bei Germantown am 4. Oktober 1777 bei dem Versuch, Philadelphia zurückzuerobern. In dem kommenden Winter erlitt seine Armee zudem unter den Krankheiten Typhus, Dysenterie und Lungenentzündung hohe Verluste und schrumpfte auf rund 5.000 Mann zusammen. Im Februar 1778 verstärkte ihn in der Führung der von Preußen gesandte Friedrich Wilhelm von Steuben, dessen Auftrag die Unterstützung in dem Aufbau und Ausbildung der Kontinentalarmee war.

Die Überquerung des Delaware, von Emanuel Leutze, 1851

Die Überquerung des Delaware, von Emanuel Leutze, 1851

 

Bereits am 28. Juni 1778 konnte die nun besser disziplinierte und ausgebildete Armee ihre Fähigkeiten unter Beweis stellen, als sie die britische Nachhut der aus Philadelphia nach New York beorderten Armee angriff. Im Sommer 1779 lag der Schwerpunkt Washingtons in der Bekämpfung der britischen Loyalisten und einigen Stämmen der Irokesen.

Das ab 1778 mit den Vereinigten Staaten verbündete Frankreich schickte 1780 ein Expeditionskorps von 6.000 Mann unter der Führung von Generalleutnant Jean-Baptiste-Donatien de Vimeur, comte de Rochambeau zur Unterstützung nach Rhode Island. Im August 1781 vereinigten sich die französische und die Kontinentalarmee und marschierten gemeinsam Richtung Yorktown, wo sich britische Truppen festgesetzt hatten. Kurz darauf kapitulierten die britischen Streitkräfte und mit dem Frieden von Paris im September 1783 endete der amerikanische Unabhängigkeitskrieg.

 

Amtsantritt als erster Präsident:

Am 4. Februar 1789 wurde George Washington von den Vertretern der 13 Gründungsstaaten einstimmig zum ersten Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika gewählt. Am 30. April 1789 erfolgte seine Vereidigung auf dem Balkon der Federal Hall von New York.

George Washington, Lansdowne Portrait von Gilbert Stuart, 1796

George Washington, Lansdowne Portrait von Gilbert Stuart, 1796

 

Ausscheiden als Präsident und sein Tod:

1797 zog sich Washington aufgrund zunehmender gesundheitlicher Verschlechterung aus dem Präsidentenamt zurück. Bereits seit seinem 17. Lebensjahr litt er an Malaria. Weiter kamen noch seine, aufgrund des hohen Zuckergenusses, ausgefallenen Zähne, später Diphtherie, Tuberkulose und Pocken hinzu.

Ende 1799 erkrankte er an einer Kehlkopfentzündung und verstarb am 14. Dezember 1799 auf seinem Gut Mount Vernon in Virginia. 4 Tage später erfolgte die Beisetzung in der Familiengruft. 1831 erfolgte die Umsetzung in die zu dieser Zeit fertiggestellte neue Familiengruft.

 

 

Passende Literatur zum Thema findet Ihr hier:

Seine Exzellenz George Washington: Eine Biographie

 Seine Exzellenz George Washington: Eine Biographie Gebundene Ausgabe – 22. August 2005


Seine Exzellenz George Washington: Eine Biographie Gebundene Ausgabe – 22. August 2005

Sein Konterfei ziert bis heute jeden Dollarschein, er steht mit seinem Namen Pate für einen Staat und für die Hauptstadt der USA, wo unzählige Büsten und Gemälde an ihn erinnern: George Washington, erster Präsident der Vereinigten Staaten und Inbegriff der Einheit der amerikanischen Nation. Ihm hat Joseph J. Ellis, der für seine Sammelbiografie über die amerikanischen Gründerväter Sie schufen Amerika mit dem Pulitzer-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde, nun eine eigene biografische Arbeit gewidmet. Nach deren Lektüre muss man Washington zwar nicht mögen, aber seine strikt an der historischen und sozialen Realität seiner Zeit und den Gesetzen der Macht orientierte Politik lehrt sie uns ebenso besser verstehen, wie die Bewunderung, die die Amerikaner ihm bis heute entgegenbringen.
Die Zwiespältigkeiten im Charakter des Mannes, der in seinen beiden Amtszeiten den amerikanischen Präsidentialismus so maßgebend und nachhaltig prägte, lassen sich freilich nicht ohne weiteres auflösen! So tut man sich schwer zu verstehen, dass ausgerechnet er, der die Sklaverei als moralisch verwerflich erkannte, seine Sklaven wieder an die Arbeit in den Plantagen schickte, nachdem sie auf den Schlachtfeldern die amerikanische Unabhängigkeit mit erstritten hatten. Sein offen zur Schau gestellter Standesdünkel und seine schier unstillbare Gier auf Grundbesitz machen ihn auch nicht unbedingt sympathischer. Und seine legendäre stoische Ruhe und „statuengleiche Unerschütterlichkeit“ stehen bei näherem Hinsehen in einem bemerkenswerten Kontrast zu den in ihm in Wirklichkeit brodelnden Leidenschaften, die, wie Robert Morris einmal bemerkte, „fast zu gewaltig waren für einen Menschen“, die er aber um der Macht willen doch zu zügeln verstand.

Hier klicken!

 

Sie schufen Amerika: Die Gründergeneration von John Adams bis George Washington (Beck’sche Reihe)

 Sie schufen Amerika: Die Gründergeneration von John Adams bis George Washington (Beck'sche Reihe) Taschenbuch – 23. September 2005


Sie schufen Amerika: Die Gründergeneration von John Adams bis George Washington (Beck’sche Reihe) Taschenbuch – 23. September 2005

Patriotische Ekstase und nationalistischer Stolz gehören zu den Kennzeichen fast aller postrevolutionärer Staaten. Und in kaum einem anderen werden sie mit Fähnchen und Hymnen so voller Inbrunst kultiviert wie in den USA. Nicht zu vergessen der Personenkult, einmal mehr augenfällig geworden in dem ungeheuren Anklang, den Joseph J. Ellis mit seinem Bestseller Founding Brothers. The Revolutionary Generation fand, der zwei Jahre nach Erscheinen unter dem Titel Sie schufen Amerika. Die Gründergeneration von John Adams bis George Washington nun auch auf Deutsch vorliegt.
Nichts weniger als den begehrten Pulitzer-Preis konnte der am Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts lehrende Professor, der in seinem Heimatland mit biografischen Werken über den einen oder anderen US-Gründervater bereits zu einem der angeblich einflussreichsten Historiker avancierte, für sein Werk einheimsen. Doch während die Lektüre des Buches für manchen seiner Landsleute offenbar einem Erweckungserlebnis gleichkam — „Mit Ausnahme der Bibel war dies das interessanteste Buch, das ich jemals gelesen habe“, heißt es etwa in einer amerikanischen Leserrezension –, könnte sich bei uneingeweihteren Ausländern leicht Langeweile einstellen.
Zu Recht wird zwar die unkonventionelle literarische Art der Geschichtsschreibung gelobt, die von angloamerikanischen Historikern gepflegt wird. Doch das episodenhafte Herumhüpfen in der amerikanischen Frühgeschichte, wie es Ellis hier betreibt, erscheint über weite Strecken reichlich bemüht. Zumal sich bei einigen Ereignissen, die der Autor in seinen Essays in den Blick nimmt, die Frage nach der historischen Relevanz oder zumindest nach der Originalität stellt.

Hier klicken!

 

Die amerikanischen Präsidenten: Von George Washington bis Barack Obama (marixwissen)

 Die amerikanischen Präsidenten: Von George Washington bis Barack Obama (marixwissen) Gebundene Ausgabe – 20. März 2014


Die amerikanischen Präsidenten: Von George Washington bis Barack Obama (marixwissen) Gebundene Ausgabe – 20. März 2014

Der jeweilige Präsident der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika gilt in der heutigen Zeit als einer der bekanntesten, aber auch mächtigsten Menschen der Welt. Er hat dabei sowohl die Funktion des Staatsoberhauptes als auch des Regierungschefs des Landes inne und ist Oberbefehlshaber der amerikanischen Streitkräfte. Zwar übten nicht alle Präsidenten ihre Funktion mit gleichem Erfolg aus, doch sie alle prägten die Geschicke der eigenen Nation und spätestens ab dem Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts auch jene der ganzen Welt maßgeblich mit. Bis heute wurden die USA von 43 Präsidenten regiert. Doch wer saß schon alles im Weißen Haus? In diesem Buch werden alle Präsidenten der Vereinigten Staaten von George Washington bis Barack Obama in kurzen Porträts vorgestellt, ihre Amtszeiten und ihre Person beleuchtet.

Hier klicken!

 

Noch keine Kommentare bis jetzt.

Einen Kommentar schreiben