Spiked mace

The Spiked mace was a variation of the quarrel piston and there were 2 variations also with this weapon.

The first one Was built up like the quarrel piston while it a wooden or metallic stealing a ball or an ovally shaped head had at his end mostly sat which were taken with 1 to 5 cm long stings. These penetrated with the impact into the armament or the body of the enemy and could arrange with it heavy injuries.

Another variation which is also known as a lout was the morning star with a stealing whose heads were connected by an iron chain with this and from one or several heads existed. This entailed that the reach was raised and the force lay with the impact a little higher than with the normal morning star.

Also this weapon was used up to the end of the Middle Ages. There was a return of the weapon then, in a little bit changed form, in the First World War, as soldiers in the ditch fight depended on a silent elimination of the enemy.

 

 

Knight with 3-headed Spiked mace

 

Head of a Spiked mace

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)frFrançais (French)itItaliano (Italian)zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))ruРусский (Russian)esEspañol (Spanish)arالعربية (Arabic)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Morgenstern

Der Morgenstern war eine Abwandlung des Streitkolbens, wobei es auch bei dieser Waffe 2 Varianten gab.

Die erste war Aufgebaut wie der Streitkolben indem es einen hölzernen oder metallischen Stiehl hatte an dessen Ende meistens eine Kugel oder ein oval förmiger Kopf saß, die mit 1 bis 5 cm langen Stacheln besetzt waren. Diese drangen beim Aufprall in die Rüstung oder den Körper des Feindes ein und konnten damit schwere Verletzungen anrichten.

Eine andere Variante, die auch als Flegel bekannt ist, war der Morgenstern mit einem Stiehl, dessen Köpfe durch eine Eisenkette mit diesem verbunden waren und aus ein oder mehreren Köpfen bestand. Dies hatte zur Folge, dass die Reichweite erhöht wurde und die Wucht beim Aufprall etwas höher lag als beim normalen Morgenstern.

Auch diese Waffe wurde bis zum Ende des Mittelalter genutzt. Eine Rückkehr der Waffe gab es dann, in etwas abgeänderter Form, im ersten Weltkrieg, als Soldaten im Grabenkampf auf eine lautlose Ausschaltung des Feindes angewiesen waren.

 

 

 

Noch keine Kommentare bis jetzt.

Einen Kommentar schreiben