Napoleon III.

Napoleon III. led France as French President for 4 years until in 1851 he introduced an authoritarian empire with a coup d'état and appointed himself Emperor of the 2nd French Empire. Only in the Franco-Prussian War and its capture ended his rule and thus the monarchy in France.

 

 

 

Origin and teenage years:

Napoleon was born on April 20, 1808 in Paris, the son of Louis Bonaparte, the brother of Napoleon I, and Hortense de Beauharnais under the name of Charles Louis Napoléon Bonaparte.

Napoleon grew up alternately in Constance on Lake Constance and in Augsburg. In 1816, his mother acquired a property in Constance, where Napoleon also perfectly learned the German language. In response to political pressure, however, the family had to leave their place of residence in 1818 and moved to Arenenberg Castle, on the Swiss side of Lake Constance. The first years of school Napoleon was taught by private tutors, only from 1821 to 1823 he attended high school at St. Anna. After school, he moved in 1829 to the artillery school of Thun and began his military career there. He then served in the Swiss Army as an artillery officer and thus acquired in 1832 the Swiss citizenship, but could also keep his French.

 

 

 

The first coup attempts:

After the outbreak of the Russo-Turkish war in 1829 Napoleon tried to participate in this. His request was banned by his father, but Napoleon now joined the Italian secret society of the Carbonari, which sought the unification of Italy. In this covenant, he was involved with his brother in the siege of the fortress Civita Castellana. However, the uprising was quickly suppressed, Napoleon's brother was killed and he himself had to flee with his mother to France under the protection of Louis Philip I.

His first coup attempt was planned together with the regimental commander Colonel Vaudrey of the 4th artillery regiment in Strasbourg on October 29, 1836. Napoleon wanted to bring France back to glory and honor with the achievement of power and establish it again as a great power in Europe. When he applied to the 46th Infantry Regiment, also based in Strasbourg, his request was denied and the soldiers arrested Napoleon, who was subsequently taken to Paris. Napoleon was offered a pardon under the demand to go to exile in America. He accepted this offer and traveled to New York on November 21, 1836.

When news reached him in 1837 that his mother was dying, Napoleon traveled back to Switzerland. France demanded then the expulsion, which was rejected by Switzerland due to the citizenship of Napoleon. So that no military conflict arose, Napoleon sat down to England.

In England, Napoleon planned a new attempted coup, which he tried to enforce on 6 August 1840 in Boulogne -sur -Mer. This attempt failed, Napoleon was arrested again and sentenced to life imprisonment in Ham. There he began an affair with Eleanor Vergeot sprang out of the 2 children, Napoleon should later rise to a count. On May 25, 1846, he managed to escape from the fort back to England. There he met Harriet Howard, with whom he entered into a relationship and who supported him financially in his presidential election.

 

Harriet Howard

Harriet Howard

 

 

 

Napoleon's political path in France:

After the February Revolution of 1848 Napoleon returned from exile and got ready for the presidential election. Thanks to the great financial support of Harriet Howard he succeeded in deciding the election in December 1848.

One of his first acts was to send soldiers to Italy to fight the Roman Republic and restore the Pope's reign in the Papal States, which his troops succeeded on 2 July 1849.

He also replaced the members of the government until almost exclusively loyal members were represented.

When the end of his reign approached, Napoleon proclaimed a coup d'etat on December 2, 1851. All over France, there were then rebellions, which he had knocked down. On December 21, Napoleon made a plebiscite, which should equip him with significantly more power. Intimidated by the previous violence, an overwhelming majority of the population voted for a new constitution. On 2 December 1852, Napoleon was now proclaimed Emperor of the 2nd French Empire.

The beginning of his reign as Emperor was characterized by oppression and absolutism. Only later did his policy become more liberal.

 

Napoleon III.

Napoleon III.

 

 

 

The war with Russia:

Russia has been in constant conflict with the Ottoman Empire for decades. Further, the country saw itself as a protective power of Orthodox Catholics in the country, which was undermined by the intervention of France. were as a French priest officially recognized by the Ottoman Sultan as protector and brought into the country, protested Russia and France declared the country to war, especially as France was concerned that Russia would pounce on the weakened Ottoman Empire to its territory to increase.

An alliance of French and British troops landed in Varna in May 1854 and in Crimea in September. The goal should be the conquest of the naval fort of Sevastopol in order to force the Russian navy out of the area. Due to the poor supply and the bitter resistance of the Russian troops, the fortress could be conquered only after a year in September 1855. Although Napoleon then pushed even after a campaign on the Russian mainland, this plan was rejected by his generals, since the losses would be too great and the popular support dwindled by war. Napoleon called in and peace negotiations were begun in Paris. In these, the political fate of Napoleon, who saw himself as a mediator in the negotiations and in the other European powers also could isolate Austria politically in addition to the recognition of the monarchy in France showed.

In 1858, with the consent of Napoleon, a French expedition to Vietnam was attempted to urge the local government to recognize French rule, effectively turning Vietnam into a French colony.

 

 

 

Napoleon's work at the Italian unification:

On January 14, 1858, the Italian revolutionary Felice Orsini made an assassination attempt on Napoleon. This failed and at the subsequent trial it turned out that Orsini was a member of the Carbonari, which aims at the unification of Italy and in which Napoleon was also a member. He was impressed by Orsini and then sought on 20 July 1858 a conversation with the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Sardinia-Piedmont Camillo Benso of Cavour to offer French support for the Italian settlement.

Cavour and Napoleon concluded after the conversation a secret pact, which provided for the military support of France in case of an attack of Austria.

Through provocative speeches by Napoleon and the later Italian King Victor Emanuel, Austria armed an army for a campaign, which in return gave France the opportunity to mobilize. When an Austrian ultimatum passed on 19 April 1859, the Italian unification war began from May to July 1859, which ended with the unification of northern Italy. For his support, France were subsequently awarded Savoy and the County of Nice.

 

Napoleon III. in der Schlacht von Solferino

Napoleon III. in the battle of Solferino

 

 

 

Foreign and domestic defeats:

From 1860 Napoleon changed his style of leadership in France. Initially dictatorial, it gave Parliament more rights, increased freedom of the press, and created unions.

 

Napoleon III., Gemälde von Alexandre Cabanel, um 1865

Napoleon III, painting by Alexandre Cabanel, c. 1865

 

His first foreign policy failure Napoleon learned with Mexico. In July 1861, the country decided not to settle its debts abroad, after which Spain, England and France sent troops to Mexico to collect the debts. However, as it became clear during the invasion that Napoleon not only wanted to collect his debts but wanted to occupy Mexico, England and Spain withdrew from the conflict. The French troops were subsequently defeated and the Emperor of Mexico Emperor of Mexico appointed by France from 1864 Maximilian I was executed in March 1867. This defeat led to further destabilization of the internal order in France.

Another defeat, albeit not militarily, Napoleon had to take in the Prussian-Austrian war. Napoleon negotiated a secret agreement with Austria, which was to establish areas of support in the Prussian Rhineland for independent, but under French control. Austria, however, lost the war against Prussia and thus France had to abandon these plans.

The plans for the annexation of Luxembourg for a French neutrality in case of war, which were presented before the Prussian-Austrian war Prussia, remained without result, as the public received the message and protest was loud. In 1867 France had to confirm the neutrality and independence of Luxembourg in the second London Treaty.

These political and military defeats in France led to a revival of the republican forces that wanted to depose Napoleon and reintroduce the republic.

 

 

 

The Franco-German War:

By a clever provocation by Otto von Bismarck, the so-called Ems Depesche, France declared war on Prussia in July 1870. Napoleon hoped for the neutrality of the southern German states and the support of the other major European powers. However, when the southern German states fulfilled their obligations with Prussia and moved against France on the Prussian side and the other European countries acted neutrally, Napoleon faced the Prussians alone.

The Prussian troops were from the beginning of great victories, so Napoleon joined in August 1870 without function of the newly formed army under the leadership of Marshal MacMahons, the direction of Metz marched to free the trapped French troops there. However, since the road was blocked by Prussian troops, the army had to swing. On September 1, 1870, the two armies clashed at Sedan, where Napoleon surrendered and capitulated his army.

 

Napoleon III. und Bismarck nach der Schlacht bei Sedan

Napoleon III. and Bismarck after the battle at Sedan

 

 

 

The end of life of Napoleon:

After his capitulation at Sedan Napoleon was sent as a prisoner of war to Kassel in the castle Wilhelmshöhe, where he stood until March 19, 1871 under arrest.

In France, he was deposed on 4 September by revolutionary forces, which then proclaimed the third French Republic.

After his release from captivity, Napoleon traveled to England in the present-day borough of London Borough of Bromley. There he planned in the spirit of his uncle Napoleon I, his return to France. But during the planning phase Napoleon had to be operated twice to remove bladder stones. On January 9, 1873, a third operation was to take place, but through the use of chloroform during the first operations, Napoleon suffered heart failure and he died on 9 January before his operation.

Napoleon was buried in the imperial crypt of St Michael's Abbey in Farnborough, Hampshire, England alongside his wife and son, Napoleon Eugène Louis Bonaparte.

 

Napoleon III. nach seinem Tod, Illustration aus der Illustrated London News vom 25. Januar 1873

Napoleon III. after his death, illustration from the Illustrated London News of January 25, 1873

 

Sankt-Michaels-Abtei

St. Michael's Abbey

 

 

 

 

 

You can find the right literature here:

 

The Shadow Emperor: A Biography of Napoleon III

The Shadow Emperor: A Biography of Napoleon III Hardcover – May 29, 2018

A breakout biography of Louis-Napoleon III, whose controversial achievements have polarized historians.

Considered one of the pre-eminent Napoleon Bonaparte experts, Pulitzer Prize-nominated historian Alan Strauss-Schom has turned his sights on another in that dynasty, Napoleon III (Louis-Napoleon) overshadowed for too long by his more romanticized forebear.

In the first full biography of Napoleon III by an American historian, Strauss-Schom uses his years of primary source research to explore the major cultural, sociological, economical, financial, international, and militaristic long-lasting effects of France's most polarizing emperor. Louis-Napoleon’s achievements have been mixed and confusing, even to historians. He completely revolutionized the infrastructure of the state and the economy, but at the price of financial scandals of imperial proportions. In an age when “colonialism” was expanding, Louis-Napoleon’s colonial designs were both praised by the emperor’s party and the French military and resisted by the socialists.

He expanded the nation’s railways to match those of England; created major new transoceanic steamship lines and a new modern navy; introduced a whole new banking sector supported by seemingly unlimited venture capital, while also empowering powerful new state and private banks; and completely rebuilt the heart of Paris, street by street.

Napoleon III wanted to surpass the legacy of his famous uncle, Napoleon I. In The Shadow Emperor, Alan Strauss-Schom sets the record straight on Napoleon III's legacy.

Click here!

 

 

A Duel of Giants: Bismarck, Napoleon III, and the Origins of the Franco-Prussian War

A Duel of Giants: Bismarck, Napoleon III, and the Origins of the Franco-Prussian War Paperback – September 15, 2003

Combining impeccable scholarship and literary elegance, David Wetzel depicts the drama of machinations and passions that exploded in a war that forever changed the face of European history.

Click here!

 

 

Napoleon III: A Life

Napoleon III: A Life Hardcover – December 1, 1999

A biography of the French president turned emperor discusses his empire-building, his role in creating the Italian nation, his many public works projects, and his eventual defeat by the Prussians

Click here!

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian) esEspañol (Spanish) arالعربية (Arabic)


Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Napoleon III.

Napoleon III. führte als französischer Staatspräsident Frankreich 4 Jahre lang bis er 1851 mit einem Staatsstreich ein autoritäres Kaiserreich einführte und sich selbst zum Kaiser des 2. französischen Kaiserreichs ernannte. Erst im deutsch-französischen Krieg und seiner Gefangennahme endete seine Herrschaft und damit auch die Monarchie in Frankreich.

Herkunft und Jugendjahre:

Napoleon wurde am 20. April 1808 in Paris als Sohn von Louis Bonaparte, dem Bruder von Napoleon I., und Hortense de Beauharnais unter dem Namen Charles Louis Napoléon Bonaparte geboren.

Aufgewachsen ist Napoleon abwechselnd in Konstanz am Bodensee und in Augsburg. 1816 wurde von seiner Mutter ein Anwesen in Konstanz erworben, hier lernte Napoleon auch perfekt die deutsche Sprache. Auf politischen Druck hin, musste die Familie allerdings 1818 ihren Wohnort verlassen und zog in das Schloss Arenenberg, auf der schweizerischen Seite des Bodensees. Die ersten Schuljahre wurde Napoleon von Privatlehrern unterrichtet, erst von 1821 bis 1823 besuchte er das Gymnasium bei St. Anna. Nach seiner Schulzeit wechselte er 1829 zur Artillerieschule von Thun und begann dort seine militärische Laufbahn. Anschließend diente er in der Schweizer Armee als Artillerieoffizier und erwarb somit 1832 die Schweizer Staatsbürgerschaft, konnte jedoch auch seine französische behalten.

 

Die ersten Putschversuche:

Nach dem Ausbruch des russisch-türkischen Krieges 1829 versuchte Napoleon an diesem teilzunehmen. Sein Ersuchen wurde jedoch von seinem Vater untersagt, stattdessen schloss sich Napoleon nun dem italienischen Geheimbund der Carbonari an, die die Einigung Italiens anstrebten. Bei diesem Bund war er zusammen mit seinem Bruder an der Belagerung der Festung Civita Castellana beteiligt. Der Aufstand wurde jedoch schnell niedergeschlagen, Napoleons Bruder getötet und er selbst musste mit seiner Mutter nach Frankreich unter den Schutz von Ludwig Philipp I. fliehen.

Seinen ersten Putschversuch plante er zusammen mit dem Regimentskommandeur Oberst Vaudrey des 4. Artillerieregimentes in Straßburg am 29. Oktober 1836. Napoleon wollte mit der Erringung der Macht Frankreich wieder zu Ruhm und Ehre führen und wieder als Großmacht in Europa etablieren. Als er bei dem ebenfalls in Straßburg stationierten 46. Infanterieregiment anfragte, wurde sein Ersuchen abgelehnt und die Soldaten verhafteten Napoleon, der anschließend nach Paris gebracht wurde. Napoleon wurde eine Begnadigung angeboten unter der Forderung nach Amerika ins Exil zu gehen. Dieses Angebot nahm er an und reiste am 21. November 1836 nach New York.

Als ihn 1837 die Nachricht erreichte, dass seine Mutter im Sterben lag, reiste Napoleon zurück in die Schweiz. Frankreich forderte daraufhin die Ausweisung, was von der Schweiz aufgrund der Staatsbürgerschaft Napoleons abgelehnt wurde. Damit daraus kein militärischer Konflikt entstand, setzte sich Napoleon nach England ab.

In England plante Napoleon einen erneuten Putschversuch, den er am 6. August 1840 in Boulogne-sur-Mer versuchte durchzusetzen. Auch dieser Versuch schlug fehl, Napoleon wurde erneut verhaftet und zu lebenslanger Festungshaft in Ham verurteilt. Dort begann er eine Affäre mit Eleonore Vergeot aus der 2 Kinder entsprangen, die Napoleon später zu Grafen erheben sollte. Am 25. Mai 1846 gelang ihm die Flucht aus der Festung zurück nach England. Dort lernte er Harriet Howard kennen, mit der er eine Beziehung einging und die ihn bei seiner Präsidentschaftswahl finanziell unterstütze.

Harriet Howard

Harriet Howard

 

 

Napoleons politischer Weg in Frankreich:

Nach der Februarrevolution 1848 kehrte Napoleon aus seinem Exil zurück und lies sich für die Präsidentschaftswahl aufstellen. Durch die große finanzielle Unterstützung von Harriet Howard gelang es ihm, im Dezember 1848 die Wahl für sich zu entscheiden.

Eine seiner ersten Amtshandlungen war die Entsendung von Soldaten nach Italien, um gegen die römische Republik vorzugehen und die Herrschaft des Papstes im Kirchenstaat wiederherzustellen, was seinen Truppen am 2. Juli 1849 gelang.

Weiter tauschte er die Regierungsmitglieder solange aus, bis fast ausschließlich ihm loyale Mitglieder vertreten waren.

Als das Ende seiner Regierungszeit nahte, rief Napoleon am 2. Dezember 1851 einen Staatsstreich aus. In ganz Frankreich kam es anschließend zu Aufständen, die er niederschlagen ließ. Am 21. Dezember lies Napoleon eine Volksabstimmung durchführen, die ihn mit deutlich mehr Macht ausstatten sollte. Eingeschüchtert durch die vorherige Gewalt, stimmte eine überwältigende Mehrheit der Bevölkerung für eine neue Verfassung. Am 2. Dezember 1852 konnte sich Napoleon nun zum Kaiser des 2. französischen Kaiserreichs ausrufen lassen.

Der Beginn seiner Herrschaft als Kaiser war durch Unterdrückung und Absolutismus geprägt. Erst im späteren Verlauf wurde seine Politik liberaler.

Napoleon III.

Napoleon III.

 

 

Der Krieg mit Russland:

Russland stand seit Jahrzehnten in ständigen Konflikten mit dem osmanischen Reich. Weiter sah sich das Land als Schutzmacht der orthodoxen Katholiken im Land an, was durch die Intervention Frankreichs untergraben wurde. Als französische Priester offiziell vom osmanischen Sultan als Schutzmacht anerkannt und ins Land geholt wurden, Protestierte Russland und Frankreich erklärte dem Land den Krieg, zumal Frankreich die Befürchtung hatte, dass sich Russland auf das geschwächte osmanische Reich stürzen würde um sein Gebiet zu vergrößern.

Eine Allianz aus französischen und britischen Truppen landete im Mai 1854 bei Warna und im September auf der Krim Halbinsel. Ziel sollte die Eroberung der Seefestung Sewastopol sein, um die russische Marine aus dem Gebiet zu drängen. Durch die schlechte Versorgung und den erbitterten Widerstand der russischen Truppen, konnte die Festung erst nach einem Jahr im September 1855 erobert werden. Zwar drängte Napoleon anschließend noch nach einem Feldzug weiter auf das russische Festland, dieser Plan wurde jedoch von seinen Generälen verworfen, da die Verluste zu groß wären und der Rückhalt in der Bevölkerung durch den Krieg schwand. Napoleon lenkte ein und es wurden in Paris Friedensverhandlungen begonnen. Bei diesen zeigte sich das politische Geschick Napoleons, der sich bei den Verhandlungen als Vermittler sah und neben der Anerkennung der Monarchie in Frankreich bei den anderen europäischen Großmächten auch Österreich politisch isolieren konnte.

1858 erfolgte mit der Einwilligung Napoleons eine französische Expedition nach Vietnam, die das Ziel hatte, die dortige Regierung dazu zu drängen, die französische Herrschaft anzuerkennen, womit faktisch Vietnam eine französische Kolonie wurde.

 

Napoleons Wirken bei der italienischen Einigung:

Am 14. Januar 1858 wurde durch den italienischen Revolutionär Felice Orsini ein Attentatsversuch auf Napoleon unternommen. Dieser scheiterte und bei der anschließenden Gerichtsverhandlung stellte sich heraus, das Orsini Mitglied der Carbonari war, die die Einigung Italiens zum Ziel haben und bei denen Napoleon ebenfalls Mitglied war. Er zeigte sich von Orsini beeindruckt und suchte daraufhin am 20. Juli 1858 ein Gespräch mit dem Ministerpräsidenten des Königreichs Sardinien-Piemont Camillo Benso von Cavour, um eine französische Unterstützung für die italienische Einigung anzubieten.

Cavour und Napoleon schlossen nach dem Gespräch einen Geheimpakt, der die militärische Unterstützung Frankreichs im Falle eines Angriffes von Österreich vorsah.

Durch provozierende Reden von Napoleon und dem späteren italienischen König Victor Emanuels rüstete Österreich ein Heer für einen Feldzug, was Frankreich im Gegenzug selbst die Möglichkeit für eine Mobilmachung gab. Als ein österreichisches Ultimatum am 19. April 1859 verstrich begann der italienische Einigungskrieg vom Mai bis Juli 1859, der mit der Vereinigung Norditaliens endete. Für seine Unterstützung wurden Frankreich anschließend Savoyen und die Grafschaft Nizza zugesprochen.

Napoleon III. in der Schlacht von Solferino

Napoleon III. in der Schlacht von Solferino

 

 

Außen- und Innenpolitische Niederlagen:

Ab 1860 änderte Napoleon seinen Führungsstil in Frankreich. War dies zunächst noch diktatorisch geführt, erließ er dem Parlament mehr Rechte, lies die Pressefreiheit erweitern und Gewerkschaften konnten gegründet werden.

Napoleon III., Gemälde von Alexandre Cabanel, um 1865

Napoleon III., Gemälde von Alexandre Cabanel, um 1865

 

Seinen ersten außenpolitischen Misserfolg erfuhr Napoleon mit Mexiko. Im Juli 1861 entschloss sich das Land seine Schulden im Ausland nicht mehr zu begleichen, woraufhin Spanien, England und Frankreich Truppen nach Mexiko schickten um die Schulden einzutreiben. Als sich während der Invasion jedoch abzeichnete, dass Napoleon nicht nur seine Schulden eintreiben sondern Mexiko besetzen wollte, zogen sich England und Spanien aus dem Konflikt zurück. Die französischen Truppen unterlagen anschließend und der von 1864 an von Frankreich eingesetzte Kaiser von Mexiko Maximilian I. wurde im März 1867 hingerichtet. Diese Niederlage führte auch in Frankreich zu einer weiteren Destabilisierung der inneren Ordnung.

Eine weitere Niederlage, wenn auch nicht militärisch, musste Napoleon im preußisch-österreichischen Krieg einstecken. Napoleon handelte mit Österreich ein Geheimabkommen ab, welches bei Unterstützung Gebiete im preußischen Rheinland für unabhängig, jedoch unter französischer Kontrolle etablieren sollte. Österreich jedoch verlor den Krieg gegen Preußen und somit musste Frankreich diese Pläne aufgeben.

Auch die Pläne zur Annexion von Luxemburg für eine französische Neutralität im Falle eines Krieges, welche vor dem preußisch-österreichischen Krieg Preußen vorgelegt wurden, blieben ohne Ergebnis, als die Öffentlichkeit die Nachricht erhielt und Protest laut wurde. 1867 musste Frankreich im zweiten Londoner Vertrag die Neutralität und Unabhängigkeit von Luxemburg bestätigen.

Diese politischen und militärischen Niederlagen sorgten in Frankreich für ein Aufstreben der republikanischen Kräfte, die Napoleon absetzen und die Republik wieder einführen wollten.

 

Der deutsch-französische Krieg:

Durch eine geschickte Provokation durch Otto von Bismarck, die sogenannte Emser Depesche, erklärte Frankreich Preußen im Juli 1870 den Krieg. Napoleon hoffte auf die Neutralität der Süddeutschen Länder und die Unterstützung der anderen europäischen Großmächte. Als jedoch die Süddeutschen Länder ihren Verpflichtungen mit Preußen nachkamen und an der preußischen Seite gegen Frankreich zogen und sich die anderen europäischen Länder neutral verhielten, sah sich Napoleon alleine den Preußen gegenüber gestellt.

Den preußischen Truppen gelangen von Beginn an große Siege, sodass Napoleon sich im August 1870 ohne Funktion der neu aufgestellten Armee unter der Führung von Marschall Mac-Mahons anschloss, die Richtung Metz marschierte um die dort eingeschlossenen französischen Truppen zu befreien. Da der Weg jedoch durch preußische Truppen versperrt war, musste die Armee umschwenken. Am 1. September 1870 erfolgte der Zusammenstoß der beiden Armeen bei Sedan, wo sich Napoleon ergab und seine Armee kapitulierte.

Napoleon III. und Bismarck nach der Schlacht bei Sedan

Napoleon III. und Bismarck nach der Schlacht bei Sedan

 

 

Das Lebensende von Napoleon:

Nach seiner Kapitulation bei Sedan wurde Napoleon als Kriegsgefangener nach Kassel in das Schloss Wilhelmshöhe geschickt, wo er bis zum 19. März 1871 unter Arrest stand.

In Frankreich wurde er bereits am 4. September von Revolutionskräften abgesetzt, die anschließend die dritte französische Republik ausriefen.

Nach seiner Entlassung aus der Gefangenschaft reiste Napoleon nach England in den heutigen Stadtbezirk von London Borough of Bromley. Dort plante er im Sinne seines Onkels Napoleon I., seine Rückkehr nach Frankreich. Doch während der Planungsphase musste Napoleon 2 mal operiert werden um ihm Blasensteine zu entfernen. Am 9. Januar 1873 sollte eine 3. Operation stattfinden, doch durch den Einsatz von Chloroform während der ersten Operationen, erleidete Napoleon ein Herzversagen und er verstarb am 9. Januar vor seiner Operation.

Napoleon wurde in der kaiserlichen Krypta der Sankt-Michaels-Abtei in Farnborough, Hampshire, England neben seiner Frau und seinem Sohn Napoléon Eugène Louis Bonaparte bestattet.

 

Napoleon III. nach seinem Tod, Illustration aus der Illustrated London News vom 25. Januar 1873

Napoleon III. nach seinem Tod, Illustration aus der Illustrated London News vom 25. Januar 1873

 

Sankt-Michaels-Abtei

Sankt-Michaels-Abtei

 

 

 


Passende Literatur zum Thema findet Ihr hier:

Napoleon III.: Frankreichs letzter Kaiser

Napoleon III.: Frankreichs letzter Kaiser Gebundene Ausgabe – 15. Februar 2008

Napoleon III.: Frankreichs letzter Kaiser Gebundene Ausgabe – 15. Februar 2008

Hier klicken!

 

Napoleon III.. Glanz und Elend des Zweiten Kaiserreichs

Napoleon III.. Glanz und Elend des Zweiten Kaiserreichs Gebundene Ausgabe – 1990

Napoleon III.. Glanz und Elend des Zweiten Kaiserreichs Gebundene Ausgabe – 1990

Hier klicken!

 

Napoleon III.: Frankreichs letzter Kaiser

Napoleon III.: Frankreichs letzter Kaiser Taschenbuch – 17. Juli 2015

Napoleon III.: Frankreichs letzter Kaiser Taschenbuch – 17. Juli 2015

Hier klicken!

 

Rebell und Kaiser: Das abenteuerliche Leben des dritten Napoleon

Rebell und Kaiser: Das abenteuerliche Leben des dritten Napoleon Gebundene Ausgabe – 13. Juli 2010

Rebell und Kaiser: Das abenteuerliche Leben des dritten Napoleon Gebundene Ausgabe – 13. Juli 2010

Hier klicken!

 

Noch keine Kommentare bis jetzt.

Einen Kommentar schreiben