Junkers D.I

The Junkers D.I was one of the few all-metal aircraft that came to the end of the war from the Junkers-Fokker A.G. were built. Relocated to the front in October 1918, these aircraft came too late to intervene in the air war.

 

Development and construction:

Based on the experience of the Junkers J 7 in early 1918, the development of a successor model was worked on. Previously, under pressure from the German government, the two companies Fokker Aeroplanbau and Junkers & Co. merged into the Junkers-Fokker Werke AG, so that both Junker and Fokker themselves participated in the development.

The special thing about the D.I was the duralumin corrugated iron, which covered the plane almost completely. The experience with this material showed that these aircraft were much better protected against shelling and weathering and thus were superior to the usual wooden constructions. However, this development also led many pilots and high-ranking military leaders to be skeptical about these aircraft and consider them unsustainable.

In April 1918, the first flight of the prototype took place, in May this was registered for the flight competition in Berlin Adlershof. At this time still equipped with the 185 hp BMW IIIa engine, the aircraft could convince only a few present. Successful pilots such as Bruno Loerzer or Hermann Goering considered the aircraft more suitable for fighting balloons than as a fighter plane. One of the few advocates was the naval officer Gotthard Sachsenberg.

Despite the reservations, initially 20 aircraft were ordered, by October 1918, a total of 28 aircraft were brought to the front.

 

Junkers D.I

 

Junkers D.I

 

Junkers D.I

 

Junkers D.I

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

In October 1918, the 28 built Junkers D.I reached the western front near Flanders. Nothing is known about their missions.

A few weeks later, the German Reich had to agree to the terms of the truce. Some of the remaining aircraft were still used until 1919 in the Baltic States in the fight against the Communists.

The only surviving copy of a Junkers D.I is today in the Musée de l 'Air et de l'Espace. This plane fell into the hands of the French troops when the German army had to withdraw from Belgium and left the aircraft at the airfield.

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Junkers D.I
Country: German Empire
Typ: Fighter plane
Length: 7,25 meters
Span: 9,08 meters
Height: 2,25 meters
Mass: 654kg empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: Water-cooled 6-cylinder inline engine Benz Bz IIIaü 185 hp
Maximum speed: 220 km/h
Reach: 300 kilometers
Armament: 2 x synchronized machine guns 7,92 mm LMG 08/15

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Junkers D.I

Die Junkers D.I war eines der wenigen ganzmetall Flugzeuge, die zum Ende des Krieges von der Junkers-Fokker A.G. gebaut wurden. Erst im Oktober 1918 an die Front verlegt, kamen diese Flugzeuge zu spät um noch in den Luftkrieg eingreifen zu können.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Basierend auf den Erfahrungen der Junkers J 7 wurde Anfang 1918 mit der Entwicklung eines Nachfolge Modells gearbeitet. Zuvor wurden auf Druck der deutschen Regierung die beiden Firmen Fokker Aeroplanbau und Junkers & Co. zu der Junkers-Fokker Werke AG zusammengelegt, sodass sowohl Junker als auch Fokker selbst an der Entwicklung beteiligt waren.

Das besondere an der D.I war das Duraluminium Wellblech, womit das Flugzeug fast vollständig ummantelt war. Die Erfahrungen mit diesem Material zeigten, dass diese Flugzeuge deutlich besser gegen Beschuss und Witterungseinflüsse geschützt waren und somit den sonst üblichen Konstruktionen aus Holz überlegen waren. Allerdings führte diese Entwicklung auch dazu, dass sowohl viele Piloten als auch hochrangige Militärs skeptisch gegenüber diesen Flugzeugen auftraten und diese als nicht zukunftsträchtig hielten.

Im April 1918 erfolgte der Erstflug des Prototypen, im Mai wurde dieser zu dem Flug Wettbewerb in Berlin Adlershof angemeldet. Zu dieser Zeit noch mit dem 185 PS starken BMW IIIa Motor ausgerüstet, konnte das Flugzeug nur wenige Anwesende überzeugen. Erfolgreiche Flieger wie Bruno Loerzer oder Hermann Göring hielten das Flugzeug eher für die Bekämpfung von Ballons geeignet denn als Jagdflugzeug. Zu den wenigen Fürsprechern zählte der Marineoffizier Gotthard Sachsenberg.

Trotz der Vorbehalte wurden zunächst 20 Flugzeuge bestellt, bis zum Oktober 1918 wurden insgesamt 28 Maschinen an die Front gebracht.

 

 

Junkers D.I

 

Junkers D.I

 

Junkers D.I

 

 

Junkers D.I

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Im Oktober 1918 gelangten die 28 gebauten Junkers D.I die Westfront bei Flandern. Über ihre Einsätze ist nichts bekannt.

Wenige Wochen später musste das Deutsche Reich den Bestimmungen des Waffenstillstandes zustimmen. Einige der verbliebenen Flugzeuge wurden noch bis 1919 im Baltikum beim Kampf gegen die Kommunisten eingesetzt.

Das einzige noch erhaltende Exemplar einer Junkers D.I steht heute im Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace. Dieses Flugzeug fiel den französischen Truppen in die Hände als die deutsche Armee sich aus Belgien zurückziehen musste und das Flugzeug auf dem Flugplatz zurück lies.

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Junkers D.I
Land: Deutsches Reich
Typ: Jagdflugzeug
Länge: 7,25 Meter
Spannweite: 9,08 Meter
Höhe: 2,25 Meter
Gewicht: 654kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: wassergekühlter 6-Zylinder Reihenmotor Benz Bz IIIaü 185 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 220 km/h
Reichweite: 300 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: 2 synchronisierte Maschinengewehre 7,92 mm LMG 08/15

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!