Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1

The Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1 was an experimental two-seat single-engine biplane built before World War I to serve as a reconnaissance aircraft.

 

Development and construction:

The Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1, headed by Geoffrey de Havilland, Henry Folland and Edward Busk, was originally planned as a development of the Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2. During the planning, however, the aircraft evolved into an experimental aircraft with which sufficient armor should be tested without loss of power.

In order to carry this intended armor with the same engine, the weight of the aircraft had to be reduced. This could be made possible by staggered wings, as this reduced the interference between the wings. Thus, the wings were not only offset but could also be built smaller.

The saved weight was now used for the use of 1 mm thick armor, which was to surround both the engine and the cockpit. This armor was indeed built, finally used in the two prototypes.

In May 1913, the first prototype was completed, in September, followed by the second aircraft. Both were used by Edward Busk for testing purposes to test stability during the flight. Thus, the pilot should be allowed to fly the aircraft on a straight line with as few hand movements as necessary. Meanwhile, the pilot should investigate his surroundings, take pictures and detect any enemy troop movements to later pass them on to the leadership of the ground forces.

Several modifications were made during the tests, especially on the wings. These findings were later used in the development of the Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2c, one of the most important reconnaissance aircraft at the beginning of the First World War.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1

 

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

In May 1914, one of the two Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1 aircraft was handed over to the Royal Flying Corps and assigned to the 6th Squadron. This was dissolved at the beginning of the war and the aircraft handed over to the 2nd Squadron.

On August 23, 1914, the squadron was shipped to France and deployed at the front. When used on September 1, it came to the aircraft to an engine failure and it crashed.

Meanwhile, the second Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1 remained in the UK and was used for testing purposes in Farnborough until February 1915.

 

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1
Country: Great Britain
Typ: Reconnaissance plane
Length: unknown
Span: 10,4 meters
Height: unknown
Mass: 454 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: An air-cooled Renault V-8 engine with 70 hp
Maximum speed: 134 km/h
Reach: unknown
Armament: none

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1

Die Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1 war ein experimenteller zweisitziger einmotoriger Doppeldecker, der vor dem ersten Weltkrieg gebaut wurde und als Aufklärungsflugzeug dienen sollte.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Die Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1 wurde unter der Leitung von Geoffrey de Havilland, Henry Folland und Edward Busk ursprünglich als Weiterentwicklung der Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2 geplant. Während der Planung entwickelte sich das Flugzeug jedoch zu einem Experimentier-Flugzeug mit dem eine ausreichende Panzerung ohne Leistungsverlust getestet werden sollte.

Um diese angedachte Panzerung bei einem gleichen Motor tragen zu können, musste das Gewicht des Flugzeuges verringert werden. Das konnte durch versetzte Tragflächen ermöglicht werden, da dadurch die Interferenz zwischen den Tragflächen verringert wurde. Somit waren die Tragflächen nicht nur versetzt sondern konnten auch kleiner gebaut werden.

Das eingesparte Gewicht diente nun für die Verwendung einer 1 Millimeter dicken Panzerung, die sowohl den Motor als auch das Cockpit umschließend sollte. Diese Panzerung wurde zwar gebaut, bei den beiden Prototypen schließlich nie eingesetzt.

Im Mai 1913 wurde der erste Prototyp fertiggestellt, im September folgte das zweite Flugzeug. Beide wurden von Edward Busk für Testzwecke genutzt um die Stabilität während des Fluges zu testen. Es sollte somit dem Piloten ermöglicht werden, mit so wenig Handgriffen wie nötig das Flugzeug auf einer geraden Linie fliegen zu lassen. Währenddessen sollte der Pilot seine Umgebung untersuchen, Fotos machen und eventuelle feindliche Truppenbewegungen erfassen um diese später an die Leitung der Bodentruppen weiter zu geben.

Während der Tests wurden mehrere Modifikationen durchgeführt, besonders an den Tragflächen. Diese Erkenntnisse dienten später bei der Entwicklung der Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2c, einem der wichtigsten Aufklärungsflugzeuge zu Beginn des ersten Weltkrieges.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Im Mai 1914 wurde eine der beiden Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1 Flugzeuge an das Royal Flying Corps übergeben und dem 6. Squadron zugeteilt. Dieses wurde bei Kriegsbeginn aufgelöst und das Flugzeug an das 2. Squadron übergeben.

Am 23. August 1914 wurde das Squadron nach Frankreich verschifft und an der Front eingesetzt. Bei einem Einsatz am 1. September kam es bei dem Flugzeug zu einem Motorschaden und es stürzte ab.

Die zweite Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1 verblieb währenddessen in Großbritannien und wurde bis zum Februar 1915 in Farnborough für Testzwecke eingesetzt.

 

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.1
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugzeug
Länge: unbekannt
Spannweite: 10,4 Meter
Höhe: unbekannt
Gewicht: 454 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein luftgekühlter Renault V-8 Motor mit 70 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 134 km/h
Reichweite: unbekannt
Bewaffnung: keine

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!