Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7

The Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7 was a British biplane designed as a reconnaissance aircraft and light bomber for high altitudes.

 

Development and construction:

Some of the Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5 aircraft were modified for test purposes to reach a high altitude. On May 14, 1914, a new altitude record of just 5,761 meters was achieved with one of the test aircraft.

For the development the R.E.5 with the production number 22 was taken. Since it was already known that a larger upper wing led to a higher altitude, this was enlarged again in the prototype and semi-circular wing tips and streamlined struts were installed.

In addition, a suspension for an additional tank was attached, which should serve as a bomb. By the weight of 152 kilograms, only a machine gun for the observer could be attached, the pilot remained unarmed.

The aircraft was powered by a 120 hp Beardmore engine.

In October 1915, the first order was placed for 82 aircraft under license from Napier, Austin and Coventry Ordnance Works. Through further orders, the total number of aircraft increased to the end of production to 233 pieces.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7

 

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

On September 28, 1915, the first aircraft was brought to France and assigned to the 12th Squadron, by the end of the year, the number increased to seven aircraft.

Due to the 120 hp Beardmore engine, the aircraft were underpowered and could not provide the services hoped for. In March 1916, General Trenchard approached the UK Ministry of Defense asking when would replacement aircraft for the Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7 be built and delivered.

Although there was already an alternative with the 140 hp RAF 4a engine, tests in April 1916 in France showed that the additional 20 hp more hardly showed any increase in performance. In addition, the engines at the beginning of the delivery were not mature enough and very susceptible to interference.

On June 20, 1916, the leadership of the Royal Flying Corps issued the order that no more RAF 4a engines should be brought to France for exchange.

In the coming months, the remaining R.E.7 aircraft were replaced by the newer B.E.12 aircraft.

Plans for replacement of the 200 hp RAF 3a engines were rejected.

After being withdrawn from the front, the 12th Squadron used the aircraft as escorts for other reconnaissance aircraft or as a bomber. Since it was technically not yet possible to locate enemy aircraft at this time, the R.E.7 aircraft proved to be solid bombers behind the enemy line, as they were hardly attacked by German fighter jets and flew too high for air defense cannons. In addition, her 152 kg bomb had a very large impact force when it was dropped on enemy positions.

In mid-1916, some of the aircraft were equipped with three seats. In addition to the pilot and the observer should fly a shooter and operate an additional machine gun. Also, a Rolls-Royce Eagle III engine was installed for experimental purposes, which had a much higher performance than the installed Beardmore engines, but since these engines were available only in very limited quantities, the proposal for further modifications was rejected.

At the beginning of 1917, the last R.E.7 aircraft were withdrawn from the front and used for the most part for training purposes.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7

 

 

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7
Country: Great Britain
Typ: Reconnaissance plane, bomber
Length: 9,72 meters
Span: 17,37 meters
Height: 3,84 meters
Mass: 1.036 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: A water-cooled in-line engine Beardmore with 120 hp
Maximum speed: 135 km/h
Reach: Max. 6 hours
Armament: A 152 kilogram bomb

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7

Die Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7 war ein britischer Doppeldecker, der als Aufklärungsflugzeug und leichter Bomber für große Höhen konzipiert war.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Einige der Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5 Flugzeuge wurden für Testzwecke so modifiziert, dass mit diesen eine große Höhe erreicht werden konnte. Am 14. Mai 1914 konnte mit einem der Testflugzeuge ein neuer Höhenrekord von knapp 5.761 Metern erreicht werden.

Für die Entwicklung wurde die R.E.5 mit der Produktionsnummer 22 genommen. Da bereits bekannt war, dass eine größere obere Tragfläche zu einer größeren Höhe führte, wurde diese bei dem Prototyp erneut vergrößert und halbkreisförmige Flügelspitzen und stromlinienförmigere Streben verbaut wurden.

Zusätzlich wurde noch eine Aufhängung für einen zusätzlichen Tank angebracht, der als Bombe dienen sollte. Durch das Gewicht von 152 Kilogramm konnte lediglich ein Maschinengewehr für den Beobachter angebracht werden, der Pilot blieb unbewaffnet.

Angetrieben wurde das Flugzeug durch einen 120 PS starken Beardmore Motor.

Im Oktober 1915 wurde die erste Bestellung von 82 Flugzeugen erteilt, die von den Firmen Napier, Austin und Coventry Ordnance Works in Lizenz gebaut wurden. Durch weitere Bestellungen erhöhte sich die Gesamtzahl der Flugzeuge bis zum Produktionsende auf 233 Stück.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Am 28. September 1915 wurde das erste Flugzeug nach Frankreich gebracht und dem 12. Squadron zugeteilt, bis Ende des Jahres erhöhte sich die Anzahl auf sieben Flugzeuge.

Durch den 120 PS Beardmore Motor waren die Flugzeuge untermotorisiert und konnten die erhofften Leistungen nicht erbringen. Im März 1916 wendete sich General Trenchard an das britische Verteidigungsministerium mit der Frage, wann endlich Ersatzflugzeuge für die Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7 gebaut und ausgeliefert werden würden.

Zwar gab es bereits mit dem 140 PS starken RAF 4a Motor eine Alternative, Tests im April 1916 in Frankreich zeigten jedoch, dass die zusätzlichen 20 PS mehr kaum eine Leistungssteigerung zeigten. Zudem waren die Motoren zu Beginn der Auslieferung noch nicht ausgereift genug und sehr Anfällig für Störungen.

Am 20. Juni 1916 erließ die Führung des Royal Flying Corps den Befehl, dass keine weiteren RAF 4a Motoren mehr nach Frankreich zum Austausch gebracht werden sollen.

In den kommenden Monaten wurden die noch eingesetzten R.E.7 Flugzeuge durch die neueren B.E.12 Flugzeuge ersetzt.

Pläne für den Austausch gegen den 200 PS starken RAF 3a Motoren wurden abgelehnt.

Nach dem Abzug von der Front wurden die Flugzeuge vom 12. Squadron als Begleitschutz für andere Aufklärungsflugzeuge oder als Bomber eingesetzt. Da es zu dieser Zeit technisch noch nicht möglich war, feindliche Flugzeuge zu orten, erwiesen sich die R.E.7 Flugzeuge hinter den feindlichen Linie als solide Bomber, da sie kaum von deutschen Jagdfliegern angegriffen wurden und für Luftabwehrkanonen zu hoch flogen. Zudem hatte ihre 152 Kilogramm Bombe ein sehr große Schlagkraft wenn diese auf feindliche Stellungen abgeworfen wurde.

Mitte 1916 wurden einige der Flugzeuge mit drei Sitzen ausgerüstet. Neben dem Piloten und dem Beobachter sollte ein Schütze mitfliegen und ein zusätzliches Maschinengewehr bedienen. Auch wurde für Versuchszwecke ein Rolls-Royce-Eagle-III Motor eingebaut, der eine deutlich höhere Leistung als die verbauten Beardmore Motoren aufwies, da diese Motoren jedoch nur in sehr begrenzter Stückzahl verfügbar waren, wurde der Vorschlag für weitere Umbauten abgelehnt.

Anfang 1917 wurde begonnen auch die letzten R.E.7 Flugzeuge von der Front abzuziehen und diese zum größten Teil für die Ausbildung zu nutzen.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7

 

 

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.7
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugzeug, Bomber
Länge: 9,72 Meter
Spannweite: 17,37 Meter
Höhe: 3,84 Meter
Gewicht: 1.036 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein wassergekühlter Reihenmotor Beardmore mit 120 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 135 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 6 Stunden
Bewaffnung: Eine 152 Kilogramm Bombe

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!