Sopwith Pup

The Sopwith Pup was a British, single-seater fighter pilot who was introduced in the middle of the First World War and became one of the most successful British fighter pilots.

 

Development and design:

In the course of the year 1915 an airplane was built in the company Sopwith Aviation Company, which should serve at first only as a private airplane for the test pilot Harry Hawker. It was equipped with a 50 HP Gnome rotation engine.

Four similar planes were built shortly afterwards and were called Sopwith Sparrows.

On the basis of the 5 airplanes the constructors began to develop a fighter plane, which was based on the already built airplanes, but was more armoured and bigger. The resulting prototype had a cloth-covered wooden frame and staggered wings of equal span. The landing gear was attached to the fuselage with V-braces, thus ensuring a stable landing.

An 80 HP Le Rhône 9C engine was selected for the engine, and the aircraft was equipped with a synchronized Vickers machine gun. Instead of the Vickers machine gun, a Lewis machine gun firing diagonally upwards was attached to the upper wing of the aircraft for the Royal Flying Corps.

The first prototype was completed in February 1916 and the first test flights took place in March. The Royal Naval Air Service then ordered two more aircraft for testing. After the completion of the tests, the Royal Naval Air Service and the Royal Flying Corps ordered larger quantities. As the Sopwith Aviation Company was already working at full capacity with the production of the Sopwith 1½ Strutter at that time, the orders for production were placed with subcontractors. A total of 1,770 aircraft of this type were built.

 

Sopwith Pup

 

Drawing of a Sopwith Pup

 

Sopwith Pup

 

Sopwith Pup

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

Delivery of the first aircraft began in October 1916. The 8th squadron of the Royal Naval Air Service and the 54th squadron of the Royal Flying Corps were among the first to deploy them on the western front.

At this time the Sopwith Pup proved to be superior to the German Fokker, Halberstadt and Albatros aircraft. Especially the manoeuvrability ensured that the lower armament and performance could be compensated.

After a fight with the British Sopwith Pup even the German pilot Manfred von Richthofen praised these airplanes, but at the same time he criticized their dive capability.

By the end of 1916, 7 squadrons were fully equipped with the new aircraft. However, after the Germans also used their new fighters, it turned out that the Sopwith Pup were no longer equal. At the beginning of 1917 the Sopwith Pup was replaced by the newer Sopwith Camel. Despite the increasing losses of these aircraft, the Royal Flying Corps kept them on the Western Front until the end of 1917.

After the first planes were withdrawn from the Western Front, the British Ministry of Defence began to set up some squadrons on the island to protect the cities against attacks by German bombers. For this the Royal Flying Corps used the withdrawn Sopwith Pup aircraft and pulled them together in the newly founded 112th and 61st squadrons. To increase the climb speed, the 80 hp Le Rhône engines were replaced by the 100 hp Gnome engines.

Some of the aircraft withdrawn from the western front were used by the Royal Naval Air Service for tests with aircraft carriers. On August 2, 1917, the first landing of an aircraft on a moving ship could be carried out on the HMS Furious. In addition to the aircraft carriers HMS Campania, HMS Furious and HMS Manxman, some Sopwith Pup also served on cruisers and battleships from where they could take off via platforms.

 

A Sopwith Pup lands on the HMS Furious

 

 

 

Technical data:

Designation: Sopwith Pup
Country: Great Britain
Type: Fighter
Length: 5,9 meters
Span: 8,1 meters
Height: 2,9 meters
Weight: 338 kg empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: One Le-Rhone engine with 80 HP (59 kW)
Maximum speed: 171 km/h
Range: Max. 540 kilometres
Arming: 1 x 7,7 mm Vickers machine gun
(Royal Naval Air Service)

1 x 7,7 mm Lewis Machine Gun
(Royal Flying Corps)

4 x 11.3 kg Bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Sopwith Pup

Die Sopwith Pup war ein britischer, einsitziger Jagdflieger, der zur Mitte des ersten Weltkrieges eingeführt wurde und einer der erfolgreichsten britischen Jagdflieger wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Im Laufe des Jahres 1915 wurde in der Firma Sopwith Aviation Company ein Flugzeug gebaut, welches zunächst nur als Privatflugzeug für den Testpiloten Harry Hawker dienen sollte. Ausgerüstet war dieses mit einem 50 PS starken Gnome Rotationsmotor.

Vier ähnliche Flugzeuge wurden kurz darauf gebaut und als Sopwith Sparrows Bezeichnet.

Auf Grundlage der 5 Flugzeuge begannen die Konstrukteure daraufhin mit der Entwicklung eines Jagdflugzeuges, welches sich von dem Design her an den bereits gebauten Flugzeugen orientierte, jedoch stärker gepanzert und größer war. Der daraus entstandene Prototyp hatte einen mit Stoff bezogenen Holzrahmen und gestaffelte, gleichspannige Flügeln. Das Fahrwerk wurde über V-Streben mit dem Rumpf befestigt und sorgte so, für eine stabile Landung.

Für den Antrieb wurde ein 80 PS starker Le Rhône 9C Motor ausgewählt, zudem erhielt das Flugzeug ein synchronisiertes Vickers Maschinengewehr. Bei den Flugzeugen für das Royal Flying Corps wurde anstatt dem Vickers Maschinengewehr, ein nach schräg aufwärts feuerndes Lewis Maschinengewehr auf der oberen Tragfläche befestigt.

Im Februar 1916 war der erste Prototyp fertiggestellt, im März erfolgten die ersten Testflüge. Der Royal Naval Air Service bestellte daraufhin zwei weitere Flugzeuge zum Testen. Nach dem Abschluss wurden von dem Royal Naval Air Service als auch von dem Royal Flying Corps größere Mengen bestellt. Da die Firma Sopwith Aviation Company zu dieser Zeit bereits mit der Produktion der Sopwith 1½ Strutter vollständig ausgelastet war, ergingen die Aufträge zur Produktion an Subunternehmer. Insgesamt wurden 1.770 Flugzeuge dieses Typs gebaut.

 

Sopwith Pup

 

Zeichnung einer Sopwith Pup

 

Sopwith Pup

 

Sopwith Pup

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Ab Oktober 1916 wurde die Auslieferung der ersten Flugzeuge begonnen. Das 8. Geschwader des Royal Naval Air Service und das 54. Geschwader des Royal Flying Corps gehörten zu den ersten, die diese an der Westfront einsetzten.

Zu dieser Zeit zeigte sich die Sopwith Pup gegenüber den deutschen Fokker, Halberstadt und Albatros Flugzeugen als Überlegen. Besonders die Wendigkeit sorgte dafür, dass die geringere Bewaffnung und Leistung ausgeglichen werden konnte.

Nach einem Gefecht mit den britischen Sopwith Pup lobte selbst der deutsche Pilot Manfred von Richthofen diese Flugzeuge, zugleich bemängelte er jedoch dessen Sturzflugvermögen.

Bis Ende 1916 waren 7 Geschwader vollständig mit den neuen Flugzeugen ausgestattet. Nachdem jedoch die Deutschen ebenfalls ihre neuen Jagdflieger einsetzten, zeigte sich, dass die Sopwith Pup nicht mehr ebenbürtig waren. Anfang 1917 wurde begonnen, die Sopwith Pup durch die neueren Sopwith Camel auszutauschen. Trotz der steigenden Verluste dieser Flugzeuge behielt das Royal Flying Corps diese noch bis Ende 1917 an der Westfront.

Nachdem die ersten Flugzeuge von der Westfront abgezogen wurde, begann das britische Verteidigungsministerium mit der Aufstellung einiger Geschwader auf der Insel um die Städte gegen Angriffe der deutschen Bomber zu schützen. Hierfür verwendete das Royal Flying Corps die abgezogenen Sopwith Pup Flugzeuge und zog diese im neu gegründeten 112. und 61. Geschwader zusammen. Um die Steiggeschwindigkeit zu erhöhen, wurden zudem die verwendeten 80 PS Le Rhône Motoren gegen die 100 PS starken Gnome Motoren ausgetauscht.

Einige der von der Westfront abgezogenen Flugzeuge dienten dem Royal Naval Air Service für Versuche mit Flugzeugträgern. So konnte am 2. August 1917 auf der HMS Furious die erste Landung eines Flugzeuges auf einem fahrenden Schiff durchgeführt werden. Neben den Flugzeugträgern HMS Campania, HMS Furious und HMS Manxman dienten einige Sopwith Pup auch auf Kreuzern und Schlachtschiffen, von wo aus die über Plattformen starten konnten.

 

Eine Sopwith Pup landet auf der HMS Furious

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Sopwith Pup
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Jagdflugzeug
Länge: 5,9 Meter
Spannweite: 8,1 Meter
Höhe: 2,9 Meter
Gewicht: 338 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: Ein Le-Rhone Motor mit 80 PS (59 kW)
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 171 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 540 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: 1 x 7,7 mm Vickers Maschinengewehr
(Royal Naval Air Service)

1 x 7,7 mm Lewis Maschinengewehr
(Royal Flying Corps)

4 x 11,3 Kilogramm Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!