Schiltron formation

The Schiltron formation is one of the Greek phalanx-like arrangement of soldiers wearing skewers. This formation was used by the Scottish commanders during the Scottish War of Independence to compensate for the inferiority of their own infantry against the better trained and equipped English soldiers and cavalry.

 

The principle, like the phalanx, consists of a dense wall of spears, so that opposing soldiers can not reach their own soldiers within reach of their weapons, but are always kept at a distance and can be attacked by the spies themselves.

 

 

Schottischer Krieger

Scottish warrior

 

 

Unlike the phalanx, the Schiltron formation was not a line but a quadrangle. This should exclude enemy flank attacks and rear attacks.

The Schiltron formation could, however, never prevail militarily outside Scotland. The main aspects of his failure were, on the one hand, the high degree of discipline that was necessary to not break up such a formation in combat, on the other hand, the backs of the soldiers were not protected against attacks by archers, so that gave these easy goals.

 

 

Einfacher Vergleich griechische Phalanx zur Schiltron Formation

Simple comparison of Greek phalanx to Schiltron formation

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)frFrançais (French)itItaliano (Italian)zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))ruРусский (Russian)esEspañol (Spanish)arالعربية (Arabic)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Schiltron Formation

Die Schiltron Formation ist eine der griechischen Phalanx ähnliche Anordnung von Soldaten die Spieße tragen. Diese Formation wurde von den schottischen Heerführern während der schottischen Unabhängigkeitskriege eingesetzt um die Unterlegenheit der eigene Infanterie gegenüber den besser ausgebildeten und ausgerüsteten englischen Soldaten und Kavallerie auszugleichen.

Das Prinzip besteht wie bei der Phalanx aus einem dichten Wall aus Spießen, sodass gegnerische Soldaten nicht auf Reichweite ihrer Waffen an die eigenen Soldaten herankommen sondern stets auf Abstand gehalten werden und mit den spießen selbst attackiert werden können.

 

Schottischer Krieger

Schottischer Krieger

 

Anders als bei der Phalanx bestand die Schiltron Formation nicht aus einer Linie sondern aus einem Viereck. Dies sollte gegnerische Flankenangriffe und Angriffe von Hinten ausschließen.

Die Schiltron Formation konnte sich außerhalb Schottlands militärisch jedoch nie durchsetzen. Die Hauptaspekte für dessen Scheitern waren zum einen der hohe Grad an Disziplin die nötig war um eine derartige Formation nicht im Gefecht auseinanderbrechen zu lassen, zum anderen waren die Rücken der Soldaten nicht gegen Angriffe von Bogenschützen gedeckt, so das diese leichte Ziele abgaben.

 

Einfacher Vergleich griechische Phalanx zur Schiltron Formation

Einfacher Vergleich griechische Phalanx zur Schiltron Formation

 

 

Noch keine Kommentare bis jetzt.

Einen Kommentar schreiben