Sopwith 1½ Strutter

The Sopwith 1½ Strutter was a British, two-seater multi-purpose aircraft which was mainly used as a bomber in the middle of the First World War.

 

Development and design:

In December 1914, Sopwith Aviation, under the direction of Fred Sigrist, developed a small, two-seater biplane powered by an 80 HP Gnome rotary engine. On June 5, 1915 the prototype flew for the first time and set a new altitude record at the beginning. Despite the record, however, only one prototype was built to serve as the basis for further development.

The company's own designer Herbert Smith shortly thereafter oriented himself to the basic model and developed the Sopwith LCT with a 110 HP Clerget engine by the end of 1915. The fuselage consisted of a usual wire, wood and fabric construction, only the tip and the fairing of the engine were made of aluminium sheet. The wings were attached to each other at the outer ends with longer struts. At the fuselage however only with half long struts, which looked forward similar to the letter W and gave the name Sopwith 1½ Strutter to the airplane because of the brevity. In autumn 1916 the production was supplemented by the 130 HP strong Clerget 9B engine, which replaced the predecessor model.

The pilot and the observer were accommodated in two tandem cockpits that were far apart. The pilot sat in front and the observer in the back. In the first aircraft produced, a temporary holder for the Lewis machine gun was mounted around the observer's cockpit. A Scarff ring could only be fitted uniformly in later aircraft. Also the synchronized machine gun for the pilot could only be introduced in the later production process. Although the first aircraft were retrofitted with appropriate gear wheels, these only functioned to a limited extent and had to be replaced later with the correct Scarff-Dibovski gearboxes. For the bomber version, brackets were attached to the lower wing with which the aircraft could carry 4 x 11 kilograms of bombs. For the submarine hunting version, the brackets could be exchanged for two with which the aircraft could carry 2 x 29 kilograms of bombs.

For experimental purposes the cockpit of the observer was also removed in order to be able to load more bombs and fuel. Except for some experimental airplanes this idea was not continued.

The first flight of the prototype took place on 16 December 1915. Until 24 January 1916 further flights and tests were carried out until the aircraft were put into service under the official designation Admirality Type 6400 and Admirality Type 6700 for the single seat version.

By the end of the war about 5.720 aircraft had been built.

 

Sopwith 1½ Strutter

 

Sopwith 1½ Strutter

 

Sopwith 1½ Strutter

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

The delivery of the first aircraft began in February 1916. The 5th wing of the Royal Naval Air Service was the first to receive the new aircraft. These should serve as escort for the already used Caudron G.4 and Breguet Bombers.

Due to the agreements between Royal Flying Corps and the Royal Naval Air Service about the preservation of the aircraft, the next aircraft were delivered to the 70th squadron in northern France, also due to the upcoming Somme offensive. At this time the German air superiority with the used Fokker airplanes had already been finished for the time being and the Sopwith 1½ Strutter could penetrate due to their range and armament deep behind the German lines and attack targets there. The aircraft showed a heavy but stable flight performance.

When in October 1916 the 45th squadron arrived in northern France with the airplanes, the German Luftwaffe already started to use the new Albatros fighters on the western front. With the 43rd squadron which arrived in January 1917, the aircraft was also reclassified from a bomber to a fighter. Despite the more powerful engine, the aircraft was already obsolete and clearly defeated the German Albatros aircraft.

From the middle of the year 1917 it was begun to withdraw the Sopwith 1½ Strutter from the western front and to use it for the homeland defense in Great Britain.

In addition to Great Britain, France in particular used the aircraft for its armed forces in large numbers. In order to replace the obsolete pushers Farman and Breguet Bomber, the French Air Force started the licensed construction of the Sopwith 1½ Strutter directly in France in mid-1916. The majority of the 5.720 aircraft built were not only built in France but also used by France itself until the beginning of 1918.

 

 

A French Sopwith 1½ Strutter Squadron

 

 

 

Technical data:

Designation: Sopwith 1½ Strutter
Country: Great Britain

France

Type: Bomber, Armed Reconnaissance Aircraft
Length: 7,7 meters
Span: 10,21 meters
Height: 3,12 meters
Weight: 570 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: One Clerget 9Z rotary engine with 110 PS

From autumn 1916 a Clerget 9B engine with 130 HP

Maximum speed: 164 km/h
Range: Max. 565 kilometres
Arming: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis machine gun

1 x 7,7 mm Vickers machine gun

4 x 11 kilogram bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Sopwith 1½ Strutter

Die Sopwith 1½ Strutter war ein britisches, zweisitziges Mehrzweckflugzeug, welches Mitte des ersten Weltkrieges überwiegend als Bomber eingesetzt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Im Dezember 1914 wurde in der Firma Sopwith Aviation unter der Leitung von Fred Sigrist ein kleiner, zweisitziger Doppeldecker entwickelt, der mit einem 80 PS starken Gnome Drehmotor angetrieben wurde. Am 5. Juni 1915 flog der Prototyp das erste Mal und konnte zu Beginn bereits einen neuen Höhenrekord aufstellen. Trotz des Rekordes wurde jedoch nur der eine Prototyp gebaut, der als Grundlage für weitere Entwicklungen dienen sollte.

Der firmeneigene Konstrukteur Herbert Smith orientierte sich kurz darauf an dem Grundmodell und entwickelte bis Ende 1915 die Sopwith LCT mit einem 110 PS starken Clerget Motor. Der Rumpf bestand aus einer üblichen Draht-, Holz- und Gewebekonstruktion, lediglich die Spitze und die Verkleidung des Motors waren aus Aluminiumblech. Die Flügel waren an den äußeren Enden mit längeren Streben aneinander befestigt. Am Rumpf jedoch nur mit halb langen Streben, was nach vorne gerichtet dem Buchstaben W ähnlich sah und wegen der Kürze dem Flugzeug den Namen Sopwith 1½ Strutter gab. Im Herbst 1916 wurde die Produktion um den 130 PS starken Clerget 9B Motor ergänzt, der das Vorgängermodell ablöste.

Der Pilot und der Beobachter waren in zwei, weit auseinander liegenden Tandem Cockpits untergebracht. Der Pilot saß dabei vorne und der Beobachter hinten. In den ersten produzierten Flugzeugen wurden um das Cockpit des Beobachters eine provisorische Halterung für das Lewis Maschinengewehr angebracht. Erst in späteren Flugzeugen konnte einheitlich ein Scarff-Ring montiert werden. Auch das synchronisierte Maschinengewehr für den Piloten konnte erst im späteren Produktionsverlauf eingebracht werden. Zwar wurden die ersten Flugzeuge mit entsprechenden Zahnrädern nachgerüstet, diese funktionierten jedoch nur bedingt und mussten später gegen die richtigen Scarff-Dibovski-Getriebe getauscht werden. Für die Bomber Version wurden an der unteren Tragfläche Halterungen angebracht, mit der das Flugzeug 4 x 11 Kilogramm Bomben tragen konnte. Für die Version der U-Boot Jagd konnten die Halterungen gegen zwei getauscht werden mit denen das Flugzeug dann 2 x 29 Kilogramm Bomben tragen konnte.

Für Versuchszwecke wurde auch das Cockpit des Beobachter entfernt um dafür mehr Bomben und Treibstoff laden zu können. Außer einigen Versuchs Flugzeugen wurden diese Idee jedoch nicht weitergeführt.

Der erste Flug des Prototypen erfolgte am 16. Dezember 1915. Bis zum 24. Januar 1916 wurden noch weitere Flüge und Erprobungen durchgeführt bis die Flugzeuge unter der offiziellen Kennung Admirality Typ 6400 und Admirality Typ 6700 für die einsitzige Version in den Dienst gestellt wurden.

Bis zum Kriegsende wurden ca. 5.720 Flugzeuge gebaut.

 

Sopwith 1½ Strutter

 

Sopwith 1½ Strutter

 

Sopwith 1½ Strutter

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Ab dem Februar 1916 begann die Auslieferung der ersten Flugzeuge. Der 5. Flügel des Royal Naval Air Service erhielt als erstes die neuen Flugzeuge. Diese sollten als Begleitschutz für die bereits eingesetzten Caudron G.4 und Breguet Bomber dienen.

Aufgrund der Absprachen über den Erhalt der Flugzeuge zwischen Royal Flying Corps und dem Royal Naval Air Service wurden, auch wegen der anstehenden Somme-Offensive, die nächsten Flugzeuge an das 70. Geschwader in Nordfrankreich ausgeliefert. Zu dieser Zeit war bereits die deutsche Luftüberlegenheit mit den eingesetzten Fokker Flugzeugen vorerst beendet gewesen und die Sopwith 1½ Strutter konnten aufgrund ihrer Reichweite und Bewaffnung tief hinter die deutschen Linien vordringen und dort Ziele angreifen. Das Flugzeug zeigte dabei eine zwar schwerfällige aber dafür stabile Flugleistung.

Als im Oktober 1916 das 45. Geschwader in Nordfrankreich mit den Flugzeugen eintraf, begann die deutsche Luftwaffe bereits die neuen Albatros Jagdflieger an der Westfront einzusetzen. Mit dem 43. Geschwader welches im Januar 1917 eintraf, wurde auch das Flugzeug von einem Bomber zu einem Jagdflugzeug um klassifiziert. Trotz des stärkeren Motors war das Flugzeug bereits veraltet und unterlag deutlich den deutschen Albatros Flugzeugen.

Ab Mitte des Jahres 1917 wurde begonnen, die Sopwith 1½ Strutter von der Westfront abzuziehen und für die Heimatverteidigung in Großbritannien einzusetzen.

Neben Großbritannien setzte besonders Frankreich die Flugzeuge für ihre Streitkräfte in großen Massen ein. Um die veralteten Drücker Farman und Breguet Bomber zu ersetzen, begann die französische Luftwaffe ab Mitte 1916 mit dem Lizenzbau der Sopwith 1½ Strutter direkt in Frankreich. So wurden von den insgesamt 5.720 gebauten Flugzeugen der größte Teil nicht nur in Frankreich gebaut sondern auch von Frankreich selbst bis Anfang 1918 eingesetzt.

 

 

Ein französisches Sopwith 1½ Strutter Geschwader

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Sopwith 1½ Strutter
Land: Großbritannien

Frankreich

Typ: Bomber, Bewaffnetes Aufklärungsflugzeug
Länge: 7,7 Meter
Spannweite: 10,21 Meter
Höhe: 3,12 Meter
Gewicht: 570 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein Clerget 9Z Umlaufmotor mit 110 PS

Ab Herbst 1916 ein Clerget 9B Motor mit 130 PS

Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 164 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 565 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis Maschinengewehr

1 x 7,7 mm Vickers Maschinengewehr

4 x 11 Kilogramm Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)


Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!