Albert S. Johnston

Albert S. Johnston was one of the most able officers in the US Army until he joined the Southern States at the beginning of the American Civil War. There he put his tactics to the Northern States heavy losses, had it not fallen during the war, this could have ended differently.

Origin and teenage years:

Albert Sidney Johnston was born on February 2, 1803, to Washington, Mason County, Kentucky, but spent most of his time in Texas, which he described as his home.

He began his first training at Transylvania University in Lexington, where also the later President of the Confederation Jefferson Davis completed his education.

 

 

 

Beginning of military service:

Like many other officers of the US Army and the later Confederate Army, Johnston began his military training at the Military Academy in West Point, New York. In 1826 he completed his education there and was transferred as brevet lieutenant to the 2nd US Infantry Regiment.

During the Black Hawk War of 1832 with the Indians living east of the Mississippi River, he served as Chief of Staff of General Henry Atkinsons.

In 1834 Johnston ended his military service to take care of his 1829 married wife, who contracted tuberculosis. After her death, he farmed a farm in Texas.

 

 

 

Johnston's service during the Texas War of Independence:

During the War of Independence between Texas and Mexico from October 2, 1835 to April 21, 1836 Johnston joined in 1836 as a private in the Texan militia, but was soon promoted to Major. After the war, he was promoted to colonel in August and received the post of Adjutant General of the Army. Already on January 31, 1837 was the next promotion to brigadier general and the post as commander in chief of the Texas Army.

In 1838, Johnston was appointed Minister of War by the second President of the Republic of Texas, Mirabeau B. Lamar. However, he resigned from office in February 1840, remarried, and then worked with his new wife on a plantation in Brazoria County.

 

Albert S. Johnston

Albert S. Johnston

 

 

 

The Mexican-American War:

As on April 25, 1846, the Mexican-American War broke out, Johnston reported again to the military and got as a colonel in command of the 1st Texas Rifles Regiment. Johnston fought, among others, in the battles of Monterrey and Buena Vista.

After the war ended on 2 February 1848 Johnston returned to his plantation, but already in 1849 he was promoted by the US President Zachary Taylor to major and used as a paymaster in the US Army. In 1855 he was given command of the 2nd US Cavalry Regiment. In late 1860 he became commander of the Pacific Defense Division.

 

 

 

The American Civil War:

As some southern states dissolved from the Union of the United States of America and founded their own state with the Confederacy, Johnston left after the exit Texas to the north and went to the new Confederate capital Richmond in Virginia. After Jefferson Davis took office as Confederate President, this promoted his friend Johnston to the general and gave him the command of the troops that should secure the western areas.

Unlike the eastern theater of war, which concentrated on the Virginia area, Johnston had to secure a much larger area with fewer troops. This circumstance meant that he lost in early 1862 Tennessee in the northern states.

On April 6, 1862 Johnston tried by a daring attack on the Northern Army under the leadership of Major General Ulysses S. Grant to recapture the lost areas. Unlike other officers, Johnston has always been at the forefront of battle and personally led his soldiers into battle. During the Battle of Shiloh, this behavior was doomed to him, as Johnston was hit by a bullet and due to this slowly bleeding to death.

The loss of Johnston was a moral blow for the Confederate Army. Only with General Robert E. Lee could a suitable commander-in-chief for the Confederate armed forces be found again.

Albert Sidney Johnston was buried at the Texas State Cemetery in Austin.

 

Johnstons Grabmal auf dem Texas State Cemetery in Austin

Johnston's Tomb at the Texas State Cemetery in Austin

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)frFrançais (French)itItaliano (Italian)zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))ruРусский (Russian)esEspañol (Spanish)arالعربية (Arabic)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Albert S. Johnston

Albert S. Johnston war einer der fähigsten Offiziere der US-Army bis er sich zu Beginn des amerikanischen Bürgerkriegs den Südstaaten anschloss. Dort setzte er mit seinen Taktiken den Nordstaaten schwere Verluste zu, wäre er nicht während des Krieges gefallen, hätte dieser anders enden können.

Herkunft und Jugendjahre:

Albert Sidney Johnston wurde am 2. Februar 1803 Washington, Mason County in Kentucky geboren, lebte jedoch die meiste Zeit in Texas, was er eher als seine Heimat bezeichnete.

Seine erste Ausbildung begann er an der Transylvania University in Lexington, wo auch der spätere Präsident der Konföderation Jefferson Davis seine Ausbildung absolvierte.

 

Beginn des Militärdienstes:

Wie viele andere Offiziere der US-Army und der späteren konföderierten Armee begann auch Johnston seine militärische Ausbildung an der Militärakademie in West Point, New York. 1826 schloss er dort seine Ausbildung ab und wurde als Brevet-Leutnant zum 2. US-Infanterieregiment versetzt.

Während des Black-Hawk Krieges von 1832 mit den östlich des Mississippi River lebenden Indianern, diente er als Chef des Stabes von General Henry Atkinsons.

1834 beendete Johnston seinen Militärdienst um sich um seine 1829 geheiratete Frau zu kümmern, die an Tuberkulose erkrankte. Nach ihrem Tod bewirtschaftete er eine Farm in Texas.

 

Johnstons Dienst während des texanischen Unabhängigkeitskrieges:

Während des Unabhängigkeitskrieges zwischen Texas und Mexiko vom 2. Oktober 1835 bis zum 21. April 1836 trat Johnston 1836 zunächst als Gefreiter in die texanische Miliz ein, wurde jedoch schon kurz darauf zum Major befördert. Nach dem Krieg wurde er im August zum Oberst befördert und erhielt die Stelle als Generaladjutant des Heeres. Bereits am 31. Januar 1837 erfolgte die nächste Beförderung zum Brigadegeneral und die Stelle als Oberbefehlshaber der texanischen Armee.

1838 wurde Johnston vom zweiten Präsidenten der Republik Texas, Mirabeau B. Lamar, zum Kriegsminister ernannt. Das Amt legte er jedoch bereits im Februar 1840 nieder, heiratete erneut und bewirtschaftete anschließend mit seiner neuen Frau eine Plantage im Brazoria County.

 

Albert S. Johnston

 

Der mexikanisch-amerikanische Krieg:

Als am 25. April 1846 der mexikanisch-amerikanische Krieg ausbrach, meldete sich Johnston erneut zum Militär und bekam als Oberst das Kommando über das 1. Texas Rifles Regiments. Johnston kämpfte unter anderem in den Schlachten von Monterrey und Buena Vista.

Nach dem Kriegsende am 2. Februar 1848 kehrte Johnston auf seine Plantage zurück, doch bereits 1849 wurde er von dem US Präsidenten Zachary Taylor zum Major befördert und als Zahlmeister im US Heer eingesetzt. 1855 überließ man ihm das Kommando über das 2. US-Kavallerieregiments. Ende 1860 wurde er Befehlshaber des Wehrbereichs Pazifik.

 

Der amerikanische Bürgerkrieg:

Als sich einige südliche Bundesstaaten aus der Union der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika lösten und mit der Konföderation einen eigenen Staat gründeten, verließ Johnston nach dem Austritt Texas den Norden und begab sich in die neue konföderierte Hauptstadt Richmond in Virginia. Nachdem Jefferson Davis das Amt des konföderierten Präsidenten antrat, beförderte dieser seinen Freund Johnston zum General und überließ ihm den Oberbefehl über die Truppen, die das westliche Gebiete sichern sollten.

Im Gegensatz zu dem östlichen Kriegsschauplatz, der sich auf das Gebiet von Virginia konzentrierte, musste Johnston ein weitaus größeres Gebiet mit weniger Truppen absichern. Dieser Umstand führte dazu, dass er Anfang 1862 Tennessee an den Nordstaaten verlor.

Am 6. April 1862 versuchte Johnston durch einen gewagten Angriff auf die Nordstaaten Armee unter der Führung von Generalmajor Ulysses S. Grant die verlorenen Gebiete zurück zu erobern. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Offizieren war Johnston bei Gefechten immer an vorderster Front und führte seine Soldaten persönlich ins Gefecht. Während der Schlacht von Shiloh wurde ihm dieses Verhalten zum Verhängnis, als Johnston von einer Kugel getroffen wurde und aufgrund dessen langsam verblutete.

Der Verlust Johnston war für die konföderierte Armee ein moralischer Tiefschlag. Erst mit General Robert E. Lee konnte wieder ein geeigneter Oberbefehlshaber für die konföderierten Streitkräfte gefunden werden.

Albert Sidney Johnston wurde auf dem Texas State Cemetery in Austin bestattet.

 

Johnstons Grabmal auf dem Texas State Cemetery in Austin

Johnstons Grabmal auf dem Texas State Cemetery in Austin

 

 

Noch keine Kommentare bis jetzt.

Einen Kommentar schreiben