Thomas Jonathan Jackson

Thomas Jonathan Jackson served in the US Army, taught artillery and physics and participated as a General on the side of the Confederation in the American Civil War, through whose tactics he was early assigned the name "Stonewall" (stone wall).

 

 

Origin and teenage years:

Thomas was born on January 21, 1824 in Clarksburg, Virginia, the son of a lawyer. Two years after his birth, his father and older sister died of typhus. Due to the lack of income of his father, he and his mother quickly impoverished. Only when his mother remarried did the financial situation improve again.

From 1830, after the mother's wedding, Thomas was sent to his uncle to assist him in the farm work. During this time, Thomas took every free opportunity to attend school. Although he was characterized by good performance, but could not provide a higher school diploma.

In 1842, Thomas entered the West Point Military Academy in New York. Due to the fact that he did not have a high school diploma, Thomas often had difficulties in following the lesson at first. He also suffered from the bullying of his classmates. In 1846 he completed his training in West Point, was promoted to lieutenant and transferred to artillery.

 

Leutnant Jackson um 1847

Lieutenant Jackson around 1847

 

 

 

The beginning of the military career:

During the war between the United States and Mexico, Thomas took part in several units in General Scott's unit. During this time, he was described by his superiors as dedicated, eager, talented and brave soldiers. Due to his efforts, he was awarded two Brevet promotions during the war and promoted to Brevet Major.

 

 

 

The time at the Virginia Military Institute:

After the Mexican-American War in 1851 Thomas was assigned a position at the Virginia Military Institute where he taught artillery and physics. During this time, he resigned officially from the US Army, but retained his rank as a major in the militia.

The relationship between Thomas and his students was mostly tense. Due to the high rejection of the students, a request was submitted during the period to withdraw Thomas from the apprenticeship. The headmistress rejected the application on the grounds that Thomas was not necessarily needed as a teacher of physics, but was indispensable in war science.

In his apprenticeship, the political situation between the southern states and the northern states in the slave question also came to a head until it led to the first splits and the founding of the Confederation.

 

 

 

The American Civil War:

On April 17, 1861, the state of Virginia joined other southern states from the Union and joined the newly formed Confederation. In the course of this, all soldiers who did not join the Northern States were integrated into the Southern Army. The Virginia Military Institute students were summoned to Richmond just 4 days after leaving Virginia to train other soldiers there. Thomas was promoted to colonel and relocated to Harpers Ferry in late April to organize militia forces there.

With these soldiers Thomas also participated in the Battle of Harpers Ferry, where he was promoted to the Brigadier General after the victory on 17 June. On July 2, 1861 was the next use in the battles of Hoke Run. Subsequently, the troops were relocated to Manassas in Virginia.

On July 21, the first battle took place on the Bull Run. There, Thomas earned his nickname "Stonewall" as the troops of Brigadier General Barnard Elliott Bees dodged the Northern troops, but the soldiers of Thomas could hold the line and thus offered the soldiers of the Confederation the opportunity to regroup and win the battle.

 

Generalleutnant Jackson um 1862

Lieutenant general Jackson around 1862

 

After winning the Bull Run, Thomas and his soldiers were subordinated to the Potomac Army and sent to the Shenandoah Valley. On October 7, he was promoted to Major General and on October 22, he was appointed Commander of the Shenandoah Valley Military District. At the end of March 1862 Thomas began his campaign against the troops of the northern states. During this campaign, Thomas consistently insisted on a quick strike before the enemy could organize, by force marches and concealment of his intentions so that no information could reach the enemy. Through these tactics Thomas was able to record several victories despite numerical inferiority and his tactics should be pioneers for later, modern military operations.

 

General Jackson um 1862

General Jackson around 1862

 

In mid-June 1862, Thomas relocated his troops from the Shenandoah Valley to disperse the siege of the Confederate capital Richmond through the northern states along with the troops of General Lee. During the battles, however, there was a lack of education and communication, so that no decisive victory could be won.

After the siege of Richmond was turned away, Thomas was given to 3 divisions to secure the left side of the General Lee-led Northern Virginia Army. In July 1862, Thomas was ordered to take action against the Northern troops of Major General John Pope to prevent them in another advance to the south and to bind his troops. On August 9, the city of Orange, Virginia witnessed the Battle of Cedar Mountain, which ended in a victory for Thomas.

On August 25, Thomas and his soldiers were able to bypass the remaining Northern troops of John Pope and destroy their supply base. He then entrenched himself with his soldiers and held the attack of the northern states for 2 days until the relief attack by Major General James Longstreet destroyed the troops of the northern states.

In September 1862, he took part in the Maryland Campaign with his soldiers, his mission being to protect the Northern Virginia Army. After a victory at Harpers Ferry, he was able to reunite with the Northern Virginia Army at Sharpsburg and prevent the northern states in a victory at the Battle of Antietam.

In October 1862, Thomas withdrew with his soldiers from Maryland and was promoted to lieutenant general on 10 October. On December 13, he led his soldiers in the Battle of Fredericksburg and was able to prevent a breakthrough of the northern states.

In May 1863, Thomas was in charge of the right wing of the Northern Virginia Army when it was attacked under the Northern Major General Joseph Hooker. Thomas submitted a plan for a flank attack to Supreme Commander Lee, who agreed. Thomas then went out on the night of 2 to 3 May on a reconnaissance mission for his attack. When he returned from the Enlightenment, he was shot at by his own soldiers who knew nothing of the Enlightenment. Despite his injury, his soldiers began a large-scale evasion of the enemy forces in a forced march to then them in the side to fall. This maneuver led to high losses on the part of the northern states and to a panic, with which the enemy units partially dissolved and fled. On May 5, the battle was won for the Confederacy.

 

 

 

Thomas Jonathan Jackson End of Life:

Due to the gunshot wound that Thomas received after the return of his reconnaissance mission, his left arm had to be amputated. However, his body was unable to recover from the injury, and Thomas died of pneumonia on May 10, 1863.

 

Das Haus in Guinea Station, Virginia, in dem Jackson starb

The house in Guinea Station, Virginia, where Jackson died

 

His funeral took place on May 15, 1863 in Lexington.

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)frFrançais (French)itItaliano (Italian)zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified))ruРусский (Russian)esEspañol (Spanish)arالعربية (Arabic)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Thomas Jonathan Jackson

Thomas Jonathan Jackson diente im US Heer, unterrichtete Artilleriewesen und Physik und nahm als General auf Seiten der Konföderation am amerikanischen Bürgerkrieg teil, durch dessen Taktik ihm schon früh der Begleitname „Stonewall“ (Steinmauer) zugeteilt wurde.

 

Herkunft und Jugendjahre:

Geboren wurde Thomas am 21. Januar 1824 in Clarksburg, Virginia als Sohn eines Anwalts geboren. Bereits 2 Jahre nach dessen Geburt verstarben sein Vater und seine ältere Schwester an Typhus. Durch die fehlenden Einnahmen des Vaters verarmten er und seine seine Mutter schnell. Erst als seine Mutter erneut heiratete verbesserte sich auch wieder die finanzielle Situation.

Ab 1830, nach der Hochzeit der Mutter, wurde Thomas zu seinem Onkel geschickt, um diesem dort bei der Landarbeit zu unterstützen. In dieser Zeit nutzte Thomas jede freie Gelegenheit um die Schule zu besuchen. Dort zeichnete er sich zwar durch gute Leistungen aus, konnte jedoch keinen höheren Schulabschluss erbringen.

1842 trat Thomas in die Militärakademie West Point in New York ein. Durch den Umstand keinen höheren Schulabschluss zu besitzen, hatte Thomas in der ersten Zeit häufig Schwierigkeiten dem Unterricht zu folgen. Weiter litt er unter dem Mobbing seiner Mitschüler. 1846 schloss er seine Ausbildung in West Point ab, wurde zum Leutnant befördert und zur Artillerie versetzt.

 

Leutnant Jackson um 1847

Leutnant Jackson um 1847

 

Der Beginn der militärischen Laufbahn:

Während des Krieges zwischen der USA und Mexiko nahm Thomas in der Einheit von General Scott an mehreren Feldzügen teil. Während dieser wurde er von seinen Vorgesetzten als hingebungsvollen, eifrigen, talentierten und tapferen Soldaten beschrieben. Aufgrund seiner Bemühungen wurde er während des Krieges mit zwei Brevet-Beförderungen ausgezeichnet und zum Brevet Major befördert.

 

Die Zeit an dem Virginia Military Institute:

Nach dem mexikanisch-amerikanischen Krieg wurde Thomas 1851 eine Stelle an dem Virginia Military Institute zugeteilt wo er das Artilleriewesen und Physik unterrichtete. In dieser Zeit trat er offiziell aus dem US Heer aus, behielt jedoch seinen Rang als Major in der Miliz.

Das Verhältnis zwischen Thomas und seinen Schülern war überwiegend angespannt. Durch die hohe Ablehnung der Schüler wurde in dem Zeitraum auch ein Antrag eingereicht Thomas die Lehrstelle zu entziehen. Von der Schulleiter wurde der Antrag abgelehnt mit der Begründung, dass Thomas als Lehrer der Physik nicht unbedingt zu gebrauchen war, in der Kriegswissenschaft jedoch unersetzlich war.

In seiner Lehramtszeit spitzte sich auch die politische Situation zwischen den Südstaaten und den Nordstaaten in der Sklavenfrage immer weiter zu bis es zu den ersten Abspaltungen und der Gründung der Konföderation kam.

 

Der amerikanische Bürgerkrieg:

Am 17. April 1861 trat der Bundesstaat Virginia neben anderen südlichen Bundesstaaten aus der Union aus und der neu gegründeten Konföderation bei. Im Zuge dessen wurden alle Soldaten, die sich nicht den Nordstaaten anschlossen in die Südstaaten Armee integriert. Die Schüler des Virginia Military Institute wurden bereits 4 Tage nach dem Austritt Virginias nach Richmond beordert um dort andere Soldaten auszubilden. Thomas wurde zum Oberst befördert und Ende April nach Harpers Ferry versetzt um die dortige Miliztruppen zu organisieren.

Mit diesen Soldaten nahm Thomas auch an der Schlacht um Harpers Ferry teil, wobei er nach dem Sieg am 17. Juni zum Brigadegeneral befördert wurde. Am 2. Juli 1861 erfolgte der nächste Einsatz in den Schlachten von Hoke Run. Anschließend wurden die Truppen nach Manassas in Virginia verlegt.

Am 21. Juli fand die erste Schlacht am Bull Run statt. Dort erhielt Thomas seinen Beinamen „Stonewall“ als die Truppen von Brigadegeneral Barnard Elliott Bees den Nordstaaten Truppen auswich, die Soldaten von Thomas jedoch die Linie halten konnten und somit den Soldaten der Konföderation die Gelegenheit boten, sich neu zu formieren und die Schlacht zu gewinnen.

Generalleutnant Jackson um 1862

Generalleutnant Jackson um 1862

 

Nach dem Sieg am Bull Run wurde Thomas mit seinen Soldaten der Potomac-Armee unterstellt und ins Shenandoahtal beordert. Am 7. Oktober erfolgte die Beförderung zum Generalmajor und am 22. Oktober die Ernennung zum Kommandeur des Wehrbezirks Shenandoahtal. Ende März 1862 begann Thomas mit seinem Feldzug gegen die Truppen der Nordstaaten. Während dieses Feldzuges setzte Thomas konsequent auf ein schnelles Zuschlagen bevor der Feind sich organisieren kann, durch Gewaltmärsche und Verschleierung seiner Absichten damit keine Information an den Feind gelangen konnten. Durch diese Taktiken konnte Thomas trotz zahlenmäßiger Unterlegenheit mehrere Siege verbuchen und seine Taktiken sollten Vorreiter für spätere, moderne militärische Operationen sein.

General Jackson um 1862

General Jackson um 1862

 

Mitte Juni 1862 verlagerte Thomas seine Truppen aus dem Shenandoahtal um zusammen mit den Truppen von General Lee die Belagerung der konföderierten Hauptstadt Richmond durch die Nordstaaten aufzulösen. Während der Schlachten machten sich jedoch fehlende Aufklärung und mangelnde Kommunikation bemerkbar, sodass kein entscheidender Sieg errungen werden konnte.

Nachdem die Belagerung Richmond abgewendet wurde, wurden Thomas 3 Divisionen überlassen mit denen er die linke Seite der von General Lee geführten Nord-Virginia-Armee sichern sollte. Im Juli 1862 bekam Thomas den Befehl gegen die Nordstaaten Truppen von Generalmajor John Pope vorzugehen um diese an einem weiteren Vormarsch in den Süden zu hindern und dessen Truppen zu binden. Am 9. August kam es bei der Stadt Orange in Virginia zur Schlacht am Cedar Mountain die in einem Sieg für Thomas endete.

Am 25. August konnte Thomas mit seinen Soldaten die verbliebenen Nordstaaten Truppen von John Pope umgehen und deren Versorgungsbasis zerstören. Anschließend verschanzte er sich mit seinen Soldaten und hielt dem Angriff der Nordstaaten 2 Tage lang stand bis der Entlastungsangriff von Generalmajor James Longstreet die Truppen der Nordstaaten vernichtete.

Im September 1862 nahm er mit seinen Soldaten an dem Maryland Feldzug teil, wobei sein Auftrag lautete, der Nord-Virginia-Armee den Rücken frei zu halten. Nach einem Sieg bei Harpers Ferry konnte er sich bei Sharpsburg mit der Nord-Virginia-Armee wieder vereinigen und in der Schlacht am Antietam die Nordstaaten an einem Sieg hindern.

Im Oktober 1862 zog sich Thomas mit seinen Soldaten aus Maryland zurück und wurde am 10. Oktober zum Generalleutnant befördert. Am 13. Dezember führte er seine Soldaten in der Schlacht von Fredericksburg und konnte einen Durchbruch der Nordstaaten verhindern.

Im Mai 1863 hatte Thomas den Oberbefehl über die rechte Seite der Nord-Virginia-Armee, als diese unter dem Nordstaaten Generalmajor Joseph Hooker angegriffen wurde. Thomas unterbreitete dem Oberbefehlshaber Lee einen Plan für einen Flankenangriff, der diesem zustimmte. Thomas begab sich daraufhin in der Nacht vom 2. auf den 3. Mai auf eine Aufklärungsmission für seinen Angriff. Als er von der Aufklärung zurück kam, wurde er von seinen eigenen Soldaten beschossen, die nichts von der Aufklärung wussten. Trotz dessen Verletzung begannen seine Soldaten in einem Gewaltmarsch die feindlichen Truppen großflächig zu umgehen um ihnen anschließend in die Seite zu fallen. Dieses Manöver führte zu hohen Verlusten auf Seiten der Nordstaaten und zu einer Panik, womit sich die feindlichen Einheiten teilweise auflösten und flüchteten. Am 5. Mai war die Schlacht für die Konföderation gewonnen.

 

Thomas Jonathan Jackson Lebensende:

Durch die Schussverletzung die Thomas nach der Rückkehr seiner Aufklärungsmission erhielt, musste dessen linker Arm amputiert werden. Sein Körper war jedoch nicht in der Lage sich von der Verletzung zu erholen und durch eine Lungenentzündung verstarb Thomas am 10. Mai 1863.

Das Haus in Guinea Station, Virginia, in dem Jackson starb

Das Haus in Guinea Station, Virginia, in dem Jackson starb

 

Seine Beisetzung fand am 15. Mai 1863 in Lexington statt.

 

 

Noch keine Kommentare bis jetzt.

Einen Kommentar schreiben