Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

The Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ was originally the main armament of French battleships, but some were converted into railway guns during the First World War and were to be used on the western front.

In 1893, the Canon de 305 mm Modèle 1893/96 was developed to serve as the main armament for the upcoming French battleships of the Charlemagne, République and Liberté classes. The guns were equipped, as usual, with a grooved barrel and several layers of steel. The interrupted Welin breech was able to fire separate charges and projectiles.

 

 

The French battleship Charlemagne

 

The French battleship Patrie which belonged to the République class

 

The French battleship Liberté

 

 

After the outbreak of the First World War and the outbreak of the Positional War on the western front in 1915, it became clear that the French light field guns were no longer sufficient to damage or destroy the increasingly fortified German positions. The High Command therefore ordered the heavy artillery to be withdrawn from the French fortresses and brought to the Western Front. Since the number of heavy artillery pieces was rather small and the economy could not cover the demand with the production, warships which had been decommissioned were demilitarised in addition to the coastal artillery and their guns were converted either into field guns or railway guns.

This arrangement also affected a total of 8 Canon de 305 mm Modèle 1893/96 guns which had been taken out of service. These were taken by the company St. Chamond to build railway guns.

In order to carry the high weight of the guns, two 6-axle railway wagons were taken and connected with a steel frame. A turntable was mounted on the wagons so that the gun could also travel through tighter curves.

In order to make the guns ready for use, wooden beams had to be laid next to and under the tracks before firing, on which supports could stand when the body was lowered. In order to absorb the recoil, ground anchors were attached to hold the gun in position.

 

 

Drawing of the Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

 

 

Originally, the gun was supposed to rotate 360 degrees. After the first tests, however, it quickly became apparent that the gun was simply too heavy and could only rotate a little so that there were no problems with the balance. Also the alignment for shooting was very limited and the angle of fire had to be kept low so that the whole car didn't tip over after one shot.

From 1916 the delivery of the 8 converted railway guns began. Due to the serious defects these were quickly replaced by the much better Canon de 240 modèle 93/96 TAZ.

 

 

Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

 

Canadian officers examine a French Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

 

 

 

Data sheet:

Designation: Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ
Manufacturing country: France
Introductory year: 1893
1916 Conversion to a railway gun
Number of pieces: 8 pieces
Calibers: 305 mm
Tube length: 12,2 meters
Range: Max. 27.500 metres as ship gun
Weight: 175 tons

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

Die Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ war ursprünglich die Hauptbewaffnung französischer Schlachtschiffe, einige wurden während des ersten Weltkrieges jedoch zu Eisenbahngeschützen umgebaut und sollten an der Westfront eingesetzt werden.

1893 wurde die Canon de 305 mm Modèle 1893/96 entwickelt um als Hauptbewaffnung für die kommenden französischen Schlachtschiffe der Charlemagne, République und Liberté Klasse zu dienen. Die Geschütze waren wie üblich zu der Zeit mit einem gerilltem Lauf ausgerüstet und mit mehreren Lagen Stahl ummantelt. Der unterbrochene Welin Verschluss konnte getrennte Ladungen und Geschosse abfeuern.

 

 

Das französische Schlachtschiff Charlemagne

 

Das französische Schlachtschiff Patrie welches der République Klasse angehörte

 

Das französische Schlachtschiff Liberté

 

 

Nachdem der erste Weltkrieg ausgebrochen war und ab 1915 an der Westfront der Stellungskrieg begann, zeigte sich, dass die eingesetzten französischen leichten Feldgeschütze nicht mehr ausreichten um die immer stärker befestigten deutschen Stellungen zu beschädigen oder zu zerstören. Das Oberkommando ordnete daher an, die schweren Artilleriegeschütze aus den französischen Festungen abzuziehen und an die Westfront zu bringen. Da die Stückzahl der schweren Geschütze eher gering war und die Wirtschaft mit der Produktion den Bedarf nicht decken konnte, wurden neben der Küstenartillerie auch ausgemusterte Kriegsschiffe demilitarisiert und deren Geschütze entweder zu Feldgeschützen oder zu Eisenbahngeschütze umfunktioniert.

Diese Anordnung betraf auch insgesamt 8 ausgemusterte Canon de 305 mm Modèle 1893/96 Geschütze. Diese wurden von der Firma St. Chamond genommen um daraus Eisenbahngeschütze zu bauen.

Um das hohe Gewicht der Geschütze tragen zu können, wurden zwei 6 achsige Eisenbahnwaggons genommen und mit einem Stahlrahmen verbunden. Auf den Waggons wurde eine Drehscheibe montiert, damit das Geschütz auch durch engere Kurven fahren konnte.

Um die Geschütze Einsatzbereit machen zu können, mussten vor dem Abfeuern neben und unter den Gleisen Holzbalken verlegt werden, auf denen Stützen stehen konnten wenn sich der Aufbau absenkte. Um den Rückstoß zu absorbieren wurden zudem Bodenanker angebracht, die das Geschütz in dessen Position halten sollten.

 

 

Zeichnung der Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

 

 

Ursprünglich war vorgesehen, dass sich das Geschütz um 360 Grad drehen konnte. Nach den ersten Tests zeigte sich jedoch schnell, dass das Geschütz einfach zu schwer war und es sich nur wenig Drehen konnte damit es keine Probleme mit dem Gleichgewicht gab. Auch war die Ausrichtung zum Schießen stark eingeschränkt und der Schusswinkel musste niedrig gehalten werden, damit der gesamte Waggon nach einem Schuss nicht umkippte.

Ab 1916 begann die Auslieferung der 8 umgebauten Eisenbahngeschütze. Aufgrund der schweren Mängel wurden diese jedoch schnell von der deutlich besseren Canon de 240 modèle 93/96 TAZ ersetzt.

 

 

Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

 

Kanadische Offiziere begutachten eine französische Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ

 

 

 

Datenblatt:

Bezeichnung: Canon de 305 modèle 93/96 TAZ
Herstellerland: Frankreich
Einführungsjahr: 1893
1916 Umbau zum Eisenbahngeschütz
Stückzahl: 8 Stück
Kaliber: 305 mm
Rohrlänge: 12,2 Meter
Reichweite: Max. 27.500 Meter als Schiffsgeschütz
Gewicht: 175 Tonnen

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!