Hansa-Brandenburg G.I

The Hansa-Brandenburg G.I was a German bomber built by the Hansa and Brandenburg Airplane Works built exclusively for the Luftwaffe of Austria-Hungary.

 

Development and construction:

The company Hansa and Brandenburgische Flugzeug Werke originated from the merger of the Brandenburgische Flugzeugwerke GmbH and the Hansa-Flugzeug Werke in 1914. Already from the beginning the aviation pioneers Igo Etrich and Ernst Heinkel, who already had both experiences in aircraft construction, were involved.

Under their leadership, at the beginning of the war, at first unarmed, later armed reconnaissance aircraft were built for the German and for the Austro-Hungarian army. At the end of 1914, when the German army command set the requirements for a bomber to replace the zeppelins, the two designers also began to develop a corresponding aircraft.

The first two prototypes were called ZM I and ZM II, but could not meet the requirements. Only the Hansa-Brandenburg GF, which was later renamed Hansa-Brandenburg G.I, was able to convince.

Two 160 hp Austro-Daimler engines were installed. The pilot and the stern shooter shared a pulpit while the bowman received a separate pulpit. Unlike other aircraft, the engines were not mounted on one of the wings but sat with steel braces fastened in between. This had the disadvantage that the vibrations made themselves felt strongly.

With the entry of Italy into the war on the part of the Allies and their bombardment at the front, the military leadership of Austria-Hungary decided to buy bombers. Initially, two Hansa-Brandenburg G.I aircraft were ordered. However, the damage during transport and the subsequent legal dispute over the compensation, delayed their use at the front considerably. After this was settled, some aircraft were rebuilt under license and ordered more aircraft in early 1917.

 

Hansa-Brandenburg G.I

 

Hansa-Brandenburg G.I

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

After some aviation companies of the Austro-Hungarian Air Force were equipped with the bombers, it was already clear that these aircraft were already outdated and the German Gotha G.IV bomber were much more modern.

Overall, the Hansa-Brandenburg G.I aircraft were deployed for only three months at the front, flying only one attack. Afterwards, these were only used for training.

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Hansa-Brandenburg G.I
Country: German Empire
Austria-Hungary
Typ: Bomber
Length: 9,8 meters
Span: 18 meters
Height: 4,2 meters
Mass: 1.776 kg empty
Crew: Max. 3
Engine: two water-cooled 6-cylinder inline engines Austro-Daimler with each 160 hp
Maximum speed: 143 km/h
Reach: 1.000 kilometers
Armament: 2 x machine guns 07/12 and up to 300 kg bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Hansa-Brandenburg G.I

Die Hansa-Brandenburg G.I war ein deutscher Bomber, der von den Hansa- und Brandenburgische Flugzeug Werken gebaut ausschließlich für die Luftwaffe von Österreich-Ungarn gebaut wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Die Firma Hansa- und Brandenburgische Flugzeug Werke entstand aus dem Zusammenschluss der Brandenburgische Flugzeugwerke GmbH und der Hansa-Flugzeug Werke im Jahre 1914. Beteiligt waren bereits von Beginn an die Flugpioniere Igo Etrich und Ernst Heinkel, die bereits beide Erfahrungen im Flugzeugbau hatten.

Unter ihrer Leitung wurden zu Beginn des Krieges zunächst unbewaffnete, später bewaffnete Aufklärer für das deutsche sowie für das österreich-ungarische Heer gebaut. Als Ende 1914 die deutsche Heeresleitung die Anforderungen für einen Bomber zur Ablösung der Zeppeline stellte, begannen auch die beiden Konstrukteure ein entsprechendes Flugzeug zu entwickeln.

Die ersten beiden Prototypen liefen unter der Bezeichnung ZM I und ZM II, konnten den Anforderungen jedoch nicht entsprechen. Erst die Hansa-Brandenburg GF, die später in Hansa-Brandenburg G.I umbenannt wurde, konnte überzeugen.

Verbaut wurden zwei 160 PS starke  Austro-Daimler Motoren. Der Pilot und der Heck Schütze teilten sich eine Kanzel während der Bug Schütze eine seperate Kanzel erhielt. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Flugzeugen wurden die Motoren nicht an einer der Tragflächen montiert sondern saßen mit Stahlstreben befestigt dazwischen. Das hatte den Nachteil, dass die Vibrationen sich stark bemerkbar machten.

Mit dem Kriegseintritt Italiens auf Seiten der Alliierten und deren Bombenangriffe an der Front, entschloss sich auch die militärische Führung Österreich-Ungarns für den Kauf von Bombern. Zunächst wurden zwei Flugzeuge des Typs Hansa-Brandenburg G.I bestellt. Doch die Schäden während des Transportes und dem folgenden Rechtsstreit um die Entschädigung, verzögerte sich deren Einsatz an der Front erheblich. Nachdem dieser beigelegt wurde, wurden einige Flugzeuge in Lizenz nachgebaut und Anfang 1917 weitere Flugzeuge bestellt.

 

Hansa-Brandenburg G.I

 

Hansa-Brandenburg G.I

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Nachdem einige Fliegerkompanien der österreich-ungarischen Luftwaffe mit den Bombern ausgerüstet wurden, zeigte sich bereits, dass diese Flugzeuge schon veraltet und die deutschen Gotha G.IV Bomber deutlich moderner waren.

Insgesamt wurden die Hansa-Brandenburg G.I Flugzeuge nur drei Monate an der Front eingesetzt und flogen lediglich einen einzigen Angriff. Im Anschluss wurden diese nur noch zur Ausbildung genutzt.

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Hansa-Brandenburg G.I
Land: Deutsches Reich
Österreich-Ungarn
Typ: Bomber
Länge: 9,8 Meter
Spannweite: 18 Meter
Höhe: 4,2 Meter
Gewicht: 1776 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 3
Motor: zwei wassergekühlte 6-Zylinder Reihenmotoren Austro-Daimler mit je 160 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 143 km/h
Reichweite: 1000 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: zwei schwarzlose Maschinengewehre 07/12  und bis zu 300 kg Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!