Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12

The Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12 was a British single-seat biplane, with the aircraft essentially just a Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2 removing the observer's seat.

 

Development and construction:

The Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12 was originally intended as a reconnaissance plane and bomber. For the basic principle of the B.E.2 was taken over, but instead of the used 90 HP strong 90 RAF 1 engine a 150 HP RAF 4 engine was planned. In June 1915, the first prototype was completed, but the tests were delayed again and again, because the new engine was not reliable enough. For a long time, no agreement could be reached on the armament, especially since there were no synchronized machine guns in the middle of 1915, these were only introduced in early 1916 in the British aircraft. In addition, the observer fell away, who could have operated the weapons, but a larger fuel tank was installed in its place. It was not until the end of 1915 that the aircraft was presented to the Royal Flying Corps.

In February 1916 followed a slightly improved B.E.12a version, which was equipped with the modified wings of the B.E.2e. Although the aircraft was a bit more agile, but still could not fully meet the expectations. From May 1916, the first aircraft could be equipped with the synchronized Vickers machine gun.

A little later, the B.E.12b version finally followed. This was equipped with a 200 hp Hispano-Suiza engine and was intended as a night bomber. The Vickers machine gun was also swapped for two Lewis machine guns attached to the wings. Although the performance of this type had been significantly improved, due to the lack of suitable engines only a few pieces could be built.

A total of 601 pieces of all three variants were built until the end of the war.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12

 

Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12

 

 

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

From August 1, 1916, the 19th Squadron began to be equipped with Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12 aircraft. On August 25, the 21st Squadron followed.

Although the aircraft were quite stable, proved due to the low maneuverability and the lack of weapons as fighter planes completely useless. In addition, the Germans began to use the new Halberstadt and Albatros fighter planes on the Western Front.

In March 1917, therefore, the planes were withdrawn from the Western Front and taken to Britain or the Middle East. There, the aircraft proved to be much more appropriate, if only as a reconnaissance aircraft and not as a fighter pilot. The only exception was there Captain Gilbert Ware Murlis Green of the 17th Squadron, which managed to shoot down several enemy aircraft.

In Britain, the aircraft served the Homeland Security Squadron and were used almost exclusively at night because of their range and stability. However, these aircraft could not oppose the new German zeppelins much. The only success could be achieved in this regard on 17 June 1917, when the German airship L48 could be shot down.

 

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12
Country: Great Britain
Typ: Reconnaissance aircraft, bombers, fighter
Length: 8,31 meters
Span: 11,28 meters
Height: 3,39 meters
Mass: 743 kg empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: One air-cooled RAF-4a V12 engine with 150 hp
Maximum speed: 164 km/h
Reach: Max. 3 hours
Armament: One rigid 7.7mm Vickers machine gun

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12

Die Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12 war ein britischer, einsitziger Doppeldecker, wobei das Flugzeug im Wesentlichen nur eine Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2 war, bei dem der Platz des Beobachters entfernt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Die Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12 sollte ursprünglich als Aufklärungsflugzeug und Bomber dienen. Dafür wurde das Grundprinzip der B.E.2 übernommen, jedoch statt des verwendeten 90 PS starken 90 RAF 1 Motors wurde ein 150 PS RAF 4 Motor eingeplant. Im Juni 1915 war der erste Prototyp fertiggestellt, allerdings verzögerten sich die Tests immer wieder, da der neue Motor noch nicht zuverlässig genug arbeitete. Auch bei der Bewaffnung konnte lange Zeit keine Einigung erzielt werden, zumal es Mitte 1915 noch keine synchronisierten Maschinengewehre gab, diese wurden erst Anfang 1916 bei den britischen Flugzeugen eingeführt. Zudem fiel auch der Beobachter weg, der die Waffen hätte bedienen können, dafür wurde an seinem Platz ein größerer Treibstofftank eingebaut. Erst Ende 1915 konnte das Flugzeug dem Royal Flying Corps vorgestellt werden.

Im Februar 1916 folgte eine wenig verbesserte B.E.12a Version, die dabei mit den modifizierten Flügel der B.E.2e ausgestattet war. Zwar wurde das Flugzeug dadurch etwas wendiger, konnte aber dennoch nicht die Erwartungen ganz erfüllen. Ab dem Mai 1916 konnten auch die ersten Flugzeuge mit dem synchronisiertem Vickers Maschinengewehr ausgerüstet werden.

Etwas später folgte schließlich noch die B.E.12b Version. Diese war mit einem 200 PS starken Hispano-Suiza Motor ausgestattet und war als Nachtbomber gedacht. Das Vickers Maschinengewehr wurde zudem gegen zwei Lewis Maschinengewehre getauscht die an den Flügeln befestigt waren. Zwar waren die Leistungen dieses Typs deutlich verbessert worden, aufgrund des Mangels an passenden Motoren konnten nur wenige Stück gebaut werden.

Insgesamt wurden von allen drei Varianten rund 601 Stück bis zum Kriegsende gebaut.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12

 

Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12

 

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Ab dem 1. August 1916 wurde begonnen, das 19. Squadron mit Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12 Flugzeugen auszurüsten. Am 25. August folgte das 21. Squadron.

Zwar waren die Flugzeuge recht stabil, erwiesen sich wegen der schwachen Wendigkeit und der fehlenden Bewaffnung als Jagdflugzeuge als völlig nutzlos. Zudem begannen die Deutschen an der Westfront die neuen Halberstadt und Albatros Jagdflieger einzusetzen.

Im März 1917 wurden deßwegen die Flugzeuge wieder von der Westfront abgezogen und nach Großbritannien oder in den Nahen Osten gebracht. Dort erwiesen sich die Flugzeuge als deutlich passender, wenn auch nur als Aufklärer und nicht als Jagdflieger. Die einzige Ausnahme bildete dort Kapitän Gilbert Ware Murlis Green vom 17. Squadron, dem es gelang, mehrere feindliche Flugzeuge abzuschießen.

In Großbritannien dienten die Flugzeuge dem Heimatschutzgeschwader und wurden wegen ihrer Reichweite und Stabilität fast ausschließlich Nachts eingesetzt. Gegen die neuen deutschen Zeppeline konnten diese Flugzeuge jedoch auch nicht viel entgegensetzen. Der einzige Erfolg konnte in dieser Hinsicht am 17. Juni 1917 erzielt werden, als das deutsche Luftschiff L48 abgeschossen werden konnte.

 

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.12
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugzeug, Bomber, Jagdflieger
Länge: 8,31 Meter
Spannweite: 11,28 Meter
Höhe: 3,39 Meter
Gewicht: 743 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: Ein luftgekühlter RAF-4a  V12 Motor mit 150 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 164 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 3 Stunden
Bewaffnung: Ein starres 7,7-mm Vickers-Maschinengewehr

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!