Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8

The Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 was built as a successor to the Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2 as reconnaissance aircraft and bombers. Despite the aircraft's poor performance, around 4,000 pieces were produced until the end of the war.

 

Development and construction:

In the first two years of the First World War, the Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2 was the standard reconnaissance aircraft of the Royal Flying Corps. At the beginning of 1916, however, it was decided to introduce a successor model, since the B.E.2 had been in use since 1912, poorly armored and barely able to oppose the German fighter pilots. Although the aircraft was modernized several times over the course of time, but these were no longer enough in 1916.

Thus the company Royal Aircraft Factory began with the development of the R.E.8, whereby again the concept of a biplane was used in which the upper wing was much longer than the lower one. Thus, again high heights could be reached and the aircraft should be stable in the air.

The seating positions of the pilot and the observer were taken from the later version of the B.E.2. So the pilot sat in the front and the observer in the back.

The fuselage of the aircraft was again a conventional, wire-braced fabric-covered wood structure. The suspension of the engine was adopted by the B.E.12, as well as the large air scoop and similar vertically mounted exhaust pipes, which protrude above the upper fender to keep the exhaust gases from the crew. The drive was a 140-hp air-cooled V-12 engine of the Royal Aircraft Factory. A prototype was equipped for comparison purposes with a Hispano-Suiza engine, as these, as well as the Rolls-Royce engines were available only in limited quantities, was from a further planning with these apart.

The first prototype flew on 17 June 1916. In July, a second prototype was brought to France to be tested there under real conditions at the front. After these were completed and some improvements were stimulated, the first order over 50 aircraft was abandoned in early August 1916. On August 25, another order was placed for over 100 aircraft to be built under license by Austin Motors. The company Siddeley-Deasy received on August 30 also under license the contract for 100 aircraft.

A total of 4,077 R.E.8 aircraft were built until the end of the war, because of the ceasefire and the end of the war, the order of another 353 pieces was canceled.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8

 

 

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

In November 1916, the 52nd Squadron received the first R.E.8 aircraft. Since this squadron was staffed with inexperienced pilots, it came in the first time to many fatal accidents during the landing, so that in January 1917 the aircraft had to be replaced again against the B.E.2.

Since experienced pilots had fewer problems with the flying of the aircraft, the delivery was continued. Due to the low speed and poor maneuverability, the aircraft were indeed well suited as reconnaissance aircraft, but in a battle with the German fighter pilots, they had to accept heavy losses. Especially in April 1917, the Germans had taken over the air sovereignty over the Western Front, it came, for example. on April 13, 1917 to a battle between British R.E.8 and German fighter pilots of the Jagdstaffel 11. Within a few minutes six British aircraft were lost.

Only when the Allies themselves brought new fighters to the front, the balance of power could balance again.

Although the aircraft did not provide the desired services, it still remained until the end of the war as a standard reconnaissance aircraft on the fronts of France, Italy, Russia, Palestine and Mesopotamia. At the end of the war a total of 19 squadrons were equipped with the aircraft.

After the truce, however, these were very quickly withdrawn from the fronts and sold in part to private individuals, since the aircraft at the end of 1918 was considered completely outdated.

 

 

A Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 is bombed

 

The crew of a Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 receives the last instructions before the start

 

A Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 on its way to the front

 

 

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8
Country: Great Britain
Typ: Reconnaissance plane, bomber
Length: 8,48 meters
Span: 12,98 meters
Height: 3,45 meters
Mass: 818 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: An air-cooled 12-cylinder inline engine Royal Aircraft Factory 4a with 150 hp
Maximum speed: 164 km/h
Reach: Max. 4 hours and 15 minutes
Armament: Up to 3 7.7 mm Lewis or Vickers machine guns
Up to 102 kilograms of bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8

Die Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 wurde als Nachfolger der Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2 als Aufklärungsflugzeug und Bomber gebaut. Trotz der schlechten Leistung des Flugzeuges wurden rund 4.000 Stück bis zum Kriegsende produziert.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

In den ersten beiden Jahren des ersten Weltkrieges war die Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2 der Standard Aufklärer des Royal Flying Corps. Anfang 1916 wurde dennoch beschlossen ein Nachfolgemodell einzuführen, da die B.E.2 bereits seit 1912 im Einsatz war, schlecht gepanzert und den deutschen Jagdfliegern kaum noch etwas entgegen zu setzen hatte. Zwar wurde das Flugzeug im Laufe der Zeit mehrfach modernisiert, diese reichten jedoch 1916 nicht mehr aus.

So begann die Firma Royal Aircraft Factory mit der Entwicklung der R.E.8, wobei erneut wieder das Konzept eines Doppeldeckers genutzt wurde bei dem die obere Tragfläche deutlich länger war als die Untere. Somit konnten erneut wieder große Höhen erreicht werden und das Flugzeug sollte stabil in der Luft liegen.

Die Sitzpositionen des Piloten und des Beobachters wurden von der späteren Version der B.E.2 übernommen. Somit saß der Pilot vorne und der Beobachter hinten.

Der Rumpf des Flugzeuges war wieder eine konventionelle, drahtverstrebte, mit Stoff überzogene Holzstruktur. Die Aufhängung des Motors wurde von der B.E.12 übernommen, ebenso die große Lufthutze und ähnliche vertikal montierten Auspuffrohre, die über den oberen Kotflügel hinausragten um die Abgase von der Besatzung fern zu halten. Als Antrieb diente ein 140 PS starker luftgekühlter V-12 Motor der Royal Aircraft Factory. Ein Prototyp wurde für Vergleichszwecke auch mit einem Hispano-Suiza Motor ausgerüstet, da diese, ebenso wie die Rolls-Royce Motoren jedoch nur in begrenzter Stückzahl zur Verfügung standen, wurde von einer weiteren Planung mit diesen abgesehen.

Der erste Prototyp flog am 17. Juni 1916. Im Juli wurde ein zweiter Prototyp nach Frankreich gebracht um dort unter realen Bedingungen an der Front getestet zu werden. Nachdem diese abgeschlossen waren und einige Verbesserungen angeregt wurden, wurde Anfang August 1916 die erste Bestellung über 50 Flugzeuge aufgegeben. Am 25. August folgte eine weitere Bestellung über 100 Flugzeuge, die in Lizenz von der Firma Austin Motors gebaut werden sollten. Die Firma Siddeley-Deasy erhielt am 30. August ebenfalls unter Lizenz den Auftrag für 100 Flugzeuge.

Insgesamt wurden bis zum Kriegsende 4.077 R.E.8 Flugzeuge gebaut, wegen des Waffenstillstandes und dem Ende des Krieges wurde die Bestellung von weiteren 353 Stück storniert.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8

 

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Im November 1916 erhielt das 52. Squadron die ersten R.E.8 Flugzeuge. Da dieses Squadron mit unerfahrenden Piloten besetzt war, kam es in der ersten Zeit zu vielen tödlichen Unfällen während der Landung, sodass im Januar 1917 die Flugzeuge wieder gegen die B.E.2 ausgetauscht werden mussten.

Da erfahrende Piloten weniger Probleme mit dem Fliegen der Flugzeuge hatten, wurde die Auslieferung weiter durchgeführt. Durch die geringe Geschwindigkeit und die schlechte Manövrierfähigkeit waren die Flugzeuge zwar als Aufklärer gut geeignet, in einem Gefecht mit den deutschen Jagdfliegern mussten diese jedoch schwere Verluste hinnehmen. Besonders im April 1917 hatten die Deutschen die Lufthoheit über der Westfront übernommen, so kam es z.B. am 13. April 1917 zu einem Gefecht zwischen britischen R.E.8 und deutschen Jagdfliegern der Jagdstaffel 11. Dabei gingen innerhalb weniger Minuten sechs britische Flugzeuge verloren.

Erst als die Alliierten selbst neue Jagdflugzeuge an die Front brachten, konnte sich das Kräfteverhältnis wieder ausgleichen.

Obwohl das Flugzeug nicht die gewünschten Leistungen erbrachte, verblieb es dennoch bis zum Kriegsende als Standard Aufklärungsflugzeug an den Fronten von Frankreich, Italien, Russland, Palästina und Mesopotamien. Am Kriegsende waren insgesamt 19 Squadrons mit dem Flugzeug ausgerüstet.

Nach dem Waffenstillstand wurden diese jedoch sehr schnell von den Fronten abgezogen und teilweise an Privatleute verkauft, da das Flugzeug Ende 1918 als bereits völlig veraltet galt.

 

 

Eine Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 wird mit Bomben bestückt

 

Die Besatzung einer Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 erhält vor dem Start die letzten Anweisungen

 

Eine Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8 auf dem Weg zur Front

 

 

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.8
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugzeug, Bomber
Länge: 8,48 Meter
Spannweite: 12,98 Meter
Höhe: 3,45 Meter
Gewicht: 818 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein luftgekühlter 12-Zylinder Reihenmotor Royal Aircraft Factory 4a mit 150 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 164 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 4 Stunden und 15 Minuten
Bewaffnung: Bis zu 3 7,7 mm Lewis oder Vickers Maschinengewehre
Bis zu 102 Kilogramm Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!