FBA Type C

The FBA Type C was a further development of the FBA Type B and, as a flying boat, was intended to mainly fight German submarines.

 

Development and construction:

Due to the accumulated experience of the FBA Type B in military use in the first months of the First World War, work was carried out on a successor model shortly after its introduction in early 1915.

The basic principle was also retained with the Type C, this included both the occupants lying next to each other and the pusher propeller. The engine itself, on the other hand, was replaced by a 130 HP rotary engine from Clerget-Blin in order to increase the overall performance and thus also the speed. This should serve in particular to be able to escape the German fighter planes. For the defense this time, a mounted machine gun was used from the beginning, whereby the direction of fire could only be directed forwards and only slightly to the side due to the pressure propeller. A rear defense was still not possible because the engine was located there.

In addition to the reconnaissance, the fight against German submarines should also be added to the area of responsibility of these flying boats. In the first months of the war, the submarines were able to inflict heavy losses on ships for the Allies, which is why the developers wanted to identify combat from the air against surfaced submarines as a property of the flying boat.

The first prototypes flew in mid-1915 and could be presented to both the British and French navies. As with the previous model of the FBA Type B, the French Navy initially showed no interest in the Type C. So it came about that these were first used in Great Britain, Russia and Italy.

 

FBA Type C flying boat

 

An FBA Type C flying boat taking off from the water

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

It was not until the beginning of 1916 that the French Navy realized that flying boats like the FBA Type C were needed to replace older models. The growing danger posed by German submarines also meant that the Navy placed an order with Franco-British Aviation for 180 flying boats for use and another 150 for training.

After delivery, the flying boats were used in the English Channel, North Sea, Atlantic and the Mediterranean for reconnaissance and for use against enemy submarines. From 1917 they began to be withdrawn from the front and partly exchanged for more modern aircraft.

 

An FBA Type C flying boat after a ditching is picked up by a transport ship

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Description: FBA Type C
Country: France
Great Britain
Type: Reconnaissance flying boat
Flying boat for fighting submarines
Length: 9,14 meters
Span: 13,71 meters
Height: 2,92 meters
Weight: unknown
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: a rotary engine Clerget 9 B with 130 HP (96 kW)
Maximum speed: 110 kilometers per hour
Range: Max. 320 kilometers
Armament: 1 machine gun 7,7 mm
unknown kilograms of bomb load

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: Deutsch (German) Français (French) Italiano (Italian) Español (Spanish)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

FBA Type C

Die FBA Type C war eine Weiterentwicklung der FBA Type B und sollte als Flugboot überwiegend deutsche U-Boote bekämpfen.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Durch die gesammelten Erfahrungen der FBA Type B in der militärischen Verwendung in den ersten Monaten des ersten Weltkrieges, wurde bereits kurz nach dessen Einführung Anfang 1915 an einem Nachfolgemodell gearbeitet.

Das Grundprinzip wurde auch bei dem Type C beibehalten, dies umfasste sowohl die nebeneinander gelegenen Insassen als auch der Druckpropeller. Der Motor selbst hingegen wurde gegen einen 130 PS starken Umlaufmotor von Clerget-Blin ausgetauscht um die Gesamtleistung und damit auch die Geschwindigkeit zu erhöhen. Dies sollte besonders dazu dienen, den deutschen Jagdflugzeugen entkommen zu können. Für die Verteidigung wurde dieses mal von Beginn an auf ein montiertes Maschinengewehr gesetzt, wobei die Schussrichtung wegen des Druckpropellers lediglich nach vorne und nur etwas zur Seite ausgerichtet werden konnte. Eine Verteidigung nach hinten war weiterhin nicht möglich, da sich dort der Motor befand.

Neben der Aufklärung sollte zudem die Bekämpfung deutscher U-Boote zum Aufgabengebiet dieser Flugboote hinzu kommen. In den ersten Monaten des Krieges konnten die U-Boote den Alliierten schwere Verluste an Schiffen zufügen, weswegen die Entwickler eine Bekämpfung aus der Luft gegen aufgetauchte U-Boote als Eigenschaft des Flugbootes ausweisen wollten.

Mitte 1915 flogen die ersten Prototypen und konnten sowohl der britischen als auch der französischen Marine vorgestellt werden. Wie bereits bei dem Vorgängermodell der FBA Type B zeigte die französische Marine auch bei dem Type C zunächst kein Interesse. So kam es, dass diese zunächst in Großbritannien, Russland und Italien eingesetzt wurden.

 

FBA Type C Flugboot

 

Ein FBA Type C Flugboot während des Startens vom Wasser aus

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Erst Anfang 1916 gelangte die französische Marine zu der Erkenntnis, dass Flugboote wie die FBA Type C benötigt werden um ältere Modelle auszutauschen. Auch die wachsende Gefahr der deutschen U-Boote führte dazu, dass die Marine an die Firma Franco-British Aviation einen Auftrag über 180 Flugboote für den Einsatz sowie weiter 150 für die Ausbildung erteilte.

Nach der Auslieferung wurden die Flugboote sowohl im Ärmelkanal, Nordsee, Atlantik als auch im Mittelmeer zur Aufklärung und für den Einsatz gegen feindliche U-Boote eingesetzt. Ab 1917 wurde damit begonnen, diese wieder von der Front abzuziehen und teilweise gegen modernere Flugzeuge auszutauschen.

 

Ein FBA Type C Flugboot nach einer Notwasserung wird von einem Transportschiff aufgenommen

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: FBA Type C
Land: Frankreich
Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugboot
Flugboot zur U-Bootbekämpfung
Länge: 9,14 Meter
Spannweite: 13,71 Meter
Höhe: 2,92 Meter
Gewicht: unbekannt
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: ein Umlaufmotor Clerget 9 B mit 130 PS (96 kW)
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 110 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 320 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: 1 MG 7,7 mm
unbekannte Kilogramm an Bombenlast

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: English (Englisch) Français (Französisch) Italiano (Italienisch) Español (Spanisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!