Hanriot HD.1

Despite its poor performance, the Hanriot HD.1 was one of the most built French fighter pilots of the First World War.

 

Development and construction:

René Hanriot was already insolvent in aircraft construction before the First World War, but his company Société des monoplans Hanriot went bankrupt in 1913. It was not until the beginning of 1916 that he joined forces with the designer Emile Dupont, who had previously developed aircraft for the Deperdussin, Ponnier, Morane and Nieuport companies to form his own company.

The first orders were for the British Sopwith 1½ Strutter aircraft to be built under license, but Dupont also began developing his own aircraft. In doing so, he was based on the British Bristol Scout and Sopwith Pup aircraft, with the majority of them adopting their basic characteristics in his own aircraft.

The result was a single-seat fighter, which was equipped with two wings of different lengths, which, however, gave the pilot a very good view. The fuselage and the wings consisted of a fabric-covered wooden structure with duralumin sheets in the front fuselage area for stability. The tail units were also reinforced with a tubular steel frame.

The 110 HP Le Rhône 9J rotary engine was selected as the engine, as it could be produced in sufficient quantities and was available at the time. Due to the rather lower performance compared to other fighters, the engine was repeatedly exchanged for more powerful variants during the war.

 

Drawing of the Hanriot HD.1

 

The first flights with the prototypes took place in June 1916, after which the aircraft was presented to the French Air Force. However, since they opted for the more powerful SPAD S.VII aircraft, orders for the Hanriot HD.1 were only received from the Italian and Belgian air forces, with a volume of 1.125 units. Thus the Hanriot HD.1 was one of the most built fighter aircraft of the First World War.

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

From November 1916, the first Hanriot HD.1 aircraft were used at the front in Italy to replace the outdated Nieuport aircraft. Compared to the aircraft of the Austro-Hungarian Air Force, the Oeffag D.III, the aircraft turned out to be slower than more manoeuvrable.

In the course of 1917 the Belgian Air Force was also equipped with Hanriot HD.1 aircraft which were used on the northern western front.

 

One of the few French Hanriot HD.1 aircraft

 

A crashed Hanriot HD.1 on the Isonzo Front in 1917

 

A Hanriot HD.1 at the Saloniki air camp in Greece in early 1918

 

 

 

Use after the First World War:

After the First World War, some of the Hanriot HD.1 aircraft remained in the French Air Force. The USA, Switzerland, Ecuador and Venezuela also bought some.

In France and the USA in particular, these were used for experiments with ships. In the USA, a launch pad was installed on the battleship USS Mississippi from which Hanriot HD.1 aircraft could launch.

In France, however, the tests were concentrated on the ship Béarn, which had been converted into an aircraft carrier. A 45 meter long wooden platform was placed there on which the first successful landing of an aircraft on such a deck could take place on October 20, 1920.

 

A US Navy Hanriot HD.1 from 1919

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Description: Hanriot HD.1
Country: France
Italy under license
Type: Fighter plane
Length: 5,85 meters
Span: 8,70 meters
Height: 2,55 meters
Weight: 400 kilograms empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: a Le Rhône 9J radial engine with 110 HP (81 kW)
Maximum speed: 184 kilometers per hour
Range: Max. 550 kilometers
Armament: 1 - 2 machine guns 7,7 mm

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: Deutsch (German) Français (French) Italiano (Italian) Español (Spanish)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Hanriot HD.1

Die Hanriot HD.1 war trotz der schwachen Leistung einer der am meisten gebauten, französischen Jagdflieger des ersten Weltkrieges.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

René Hanriot war bereits vor dem ersten Weltkrieg im Flugzeugbau insolviert, jedoch ging seine Firma Société des monoplans Hanriot 1913 in die Insolvenz. Erst Anfang 1916 schloss er sich mit dem Konstrukteur Emile Dupont zusammen, der bereits zuvor Flugzeuge für die Firmen Deperdussin, Ponnier, Morane und Nieuport entwickelt hatte zu einer eigenen Firma zusammen.

Die ersten Aufträge waren Lizenzbauten der britischen Sopwith 1½ Strutter Flugzeuge, jedoch begann Dupont nebenbei bereits an der Entwicklung eines eigenen Flugzeuges. Dabei orientierte er sich an den britischen Bristol Scout und Sopwith Pup Flugzeugen, wobei er deren Grundeigenschaften überwiegend in sein eigenes Flugzeug übernahm.

Das Ergebnis war ein einsitziges Jagdflugzeug, welches mit zwei unterschiedlich langen Tragflächen ausgestattet war was dem Piloten jedoch eine sehr gute Aussicht bot. Der Rumpf und die Tragflächen bestanden aus einer stoffbespannten Holzkonstruktionen mit Duraluminiumblechen im Vorderrumpfbereich zur Stabilität. Die Leitwerke waren zudem mit einem Stahlrohrrahmen verstärkt worden.

Als Motor wurde der 110PS starke Le Rhône 9J Umlaufmotor ausgewählt, da dieser zu der Zeit in ausreichender Menge produziert werden konnte und zur Verfügung stand. Aufgrund der doch eher geringeren Leistung im Vergleich zu anderen Jagdflugzeugen wurde der Motor im Laufe des Krieges immer wieder gegen stärkere Varianten ausgetauscht.

 

Zeichnung der Hanriot HD.1

 

Im Juni 1916 erfolgten die ersten Flüge mit den Prototypen, anschließend wurde das Flugzeug der französischen Luftwaffe vorgestellt. Da sich diese jedoch für die leistungsstärkeren SPAD S.VII Flugzeuge entschieden hatten, gingen lediglich von der italienischen sowie der belgischen Luftwaffe Bestellungen für die Hanriot HD.1 ein, dafür mit einem Volumen von 1.125 Stück. Somit gehörte die Hanriot HD.1 zu den mit am meisten gebauten Jagdflugzeugen des ersten Weltkrieges.

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Ab dem November 1916 wurden in Italien die ersten Flugzeuge des Typs Hanriot HD.1 an der Front eingesetzt um die veralteten Nieuport Flugzeuge zu ersetzen. Gegenüber den Flugzeugen der österreich-ungarischen Luftwaffe, der Oeffag D.III, erwiesen sich die Flugzeuge zwar als langsamer dafür als wendiger.

Im Laufe des Jahres 1917 wurde auch die belgische Luftwaffe mit Hanriot HD.1 Flugzeugen ausgerüstet welche an der nördlichen Westfront eingesetzt wurden.

 

Eine der wenigen französischen Hanriot HD.1 Flugzeuge

 

Eine abgestürzte Hanriot HD.1 an der Isonzo Front im Jahr 1917

 

Eine Hanriot HD.1 Anfang 1918 auf dem Fliegercamp Saloniki in Griechenland

 

 

 

Einsatz nach dem ersten Weltkrieg:

Nach dem ersten Weltkrieg verblieben einige der Hanriot HD.1 Flugzeuge in der französischen Luftwaffe. Zudem kauften die USA, Schweiz, Ecuador und Venezuela ebenfalls einige auf.

Besonders in Frankreich und den USA wurden diese für Versuche mit Schiffen benutzt. In den USA wurde auf dem Schlachtschiff USS Mississippi eine Startrampe angebracht auf der Hanriot HD.1 Flugzeuge starten konnten.

In Frankreich hingegen konzentrierten sich die Versuche auf dem zum Flugzeugträger umgebautem Schiff Béarn. Dort wurde eine 45 Meter lange Holzplattform aufgesetzt auf der am 20. Oktober 1920 die erste erfolgreiche Landung eines Flugzeuges auf so einem Deck stattfinden konnte.

 

Eine Hanriot HD.1 der US Navy aus dem Jahr 1919

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Hanriot HD.1
Land: Frankreich
Italien unter Lizenz
Typ: Jagdflugzeug
Länge: 5,85 Meter
Spannweite: 8,70 Meter
Höhe: 2,55 Meter
Gewicht: 400 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: ein Le Rhône 9J Sternmotor mit 110 PS (81 kW)
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 184 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 550 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: 1 - 2 MG 7,7 mm

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: English (Englisch) Français (Französisch) Italiano (Italienisch) Español (Spanisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!