Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8

The Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8 was the first single-seat fighter aircraft of the Royal Aircraft Factory and at the same time the last pusher propeller aircraft, which was still brought to the front.

 

Development and construction:

In mid-1915, Royal Aircraft Factory under the direction of J. Kenworthy began the development of a single-seat fighter aircraft. In doing so, Kenworthy based on the basic design of the Airco DH.2 and the Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.2, which were already built and used.

Since at this time there was no machine gun synchronized with the motor gearbox, the F.E.8 was again based on the principle of the pressure propeller. This should allow the pilot as large a field of fire as possible, but not the engine and the propeller restricted the field.

What was unusual about the aircraft was that the gondola was made of steel tubes framed with duralumin. This should protect the pilot from enemy fire significantly better than the otherwise used fabric and wooden covers.

The F.E.8 was armed with a 7.7 mm Lewis machine gun, which was initially mounted movable. In later missions, however, showed that it was hardly possible for the pilot to operate the machine gun freehand. This was locked in the course of production and the whole aircraft was used for targeting.

On October 15, 1915, the prototype was flown by the test pilot Frank Gooden for the first time. Subsequently, the transfer to the Central Flying School in Upavon, who also tested the aircraft several times. After being described as stable, manoeuvrable and easy to land, the second prototype was brought to France for testing at the front.

After some adjustments, the production of the first series began in May and June 1916 could be delivered. By the end of the war, a total of 295 aircraft of this type were built.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8

 

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

In June 1916, the 29th Squadron received the first two Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8 aircraft. Since the Squadron was already equipped with the new Airco DH.2, a direct comparison could be drawn. The F.E.8 was slightly faster compared to the DH.2 and the pilot's view was better. However, the DH.2 was easier to fly.

In August 1916, the 40th Squadron was equipped exclusively with the F.E.8 aircraft, followed in October by the 41st Squadron.

At this time, however, the Germans began to use their new Halberstadt and Albatross fighters. These were the F.E.8 clearly superior, so that they were considered obsolete shortly after their introduction at the front.

This inferiority was particularly evident on 9 March 1917 when the F.E.8 aircraft of the 40th Squadron encountered the Albatros D.III aircraft of the German Jagdstaffel 11. 4 F.E.8 aircraft were shot down, four more seriously damaged. One caught fire on landing and was also destroyed. Thereafter, the F.E.8 aircraft were exchanged for the newer Nieuport 17.

The 41st Squadron was the only one to retain these aircraft, but only used them to combat ground targets.

 

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8
Country: Great Britain
Typ: Fighter
Length: 7,21 meters
Span: 9,6 meters
Height: 2,8 meters
Mass: 406 kg empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: A Le Rhône or Gnôme Monosoupape 9-cylinder rotary engine with 110 or 100 hp
Maximum speed: 151 km/h
Reach: Max. 2 hours and 30 minutes
Armament: A 7.7mm Lewis machine gun

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8

Die Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8 war das erste einsitzige Jagdflugzeug der Firma Royal Aircraft Factory und gleichzeitig das letzte Druckpropellerflugzeug, welches noch an die Front gebracht wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Mitte 1915 begann bei der Firma Royal Aircraft Factory unter der Leitung von J. Kenworthy die Entwicklung eines einsitzigen Jagdflugzeuges. Dabei orientierte sich Kenworthy an der Grundkonstruktion der Airco DH.2 und der Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.2, die bereits gebaut und eingesetzt wurden.

Da es zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch kein mit dem Motorgetriebe synchronisiertes Maschinengewehr gab, wurde bei der F.E.8 erneut auf das Prinzip des Druckpropellers gesetzt. Dies sollte dem Piloten ein möglichst großes Schussfeld ermöglichen, wobei nicht der Motor und der Propeller das Feld einschränkten.

Ungewöhnlich war an dem Flugzeug, dass die Gondel aus Stahlrohren gerahmt und mit Duraluminium überzogen war. Das sollte den Piloten vor feindlichem Beschuss deutlich besser schützen als die sonst verwendeten Stoff und Holzbezüge.

Bewaffnet wurde die F.E.8 mit einem 7,7 mm Lewis Maschinengewehr, welches zunächst beweglich eingebaut wurde. In späteren Einsätzen zeigte sich jedoch, dass es für den Piloten kaum möglich war das Maschinengewehr freihändig zu bedienen. Dieses wurde im Laufe der Produktion arretiert und das ganze Flugzeug wurde zum Zielen genutzt.

Am 15. Oktober 1915 wurde der Prototyp von dem Testpiloten Frank Gooden zum ersten mal geflogen. Anschließend erfolgte die Übergabe an die Central Flying School in Upavon, die das Flugzeug ebenfalls mehrfach testeten. Nachdem es als stabil, manövrierfähig und einfach zu landen beschrieben wurde, wurde der zweite Prototyp nach Frankreich zur Erprobung an die Front gebracht.

Nach einigen Anpassungen begann die Produktion der ersten Serie die im Mai und Juni 1916 ausgeliefert werden konnten. Bis zum Kriegsende wurden insgesamt 295 Flugzeuge dieses Typs gebaut.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Im Juni 1916 erhielt das 29. Squadron die ersten beiden Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8 Flugzeuge. Da das Squadron bereits mit den neuen Airco DH.2 ausgerüstet war, konnte ein direkter Vergleich gezogen werden. Die F.E.8 war gegenüber der DH.2 etwas schneller und die Sicht des Piloten besser. Allerdings war die DH.2 einfacher zu fliegen.

Im August 1916 wurde das 40. Squadron ausschließlich mit den F.E.8 Flugzeugen ausgestattet, im Oktober folgte das 41. Squadron.

Zu dieser Zeit begannen die Deutschen jedoch ihre neuen Halberstadt und Albatros Jagdflugzeuge einzusetzen. Diese waren der F.E.8 deutlich überlegen, sodass diese bereits kurz nach ihrer Einführung an der Front als veraltet galten.

Diese Unterlegenheit zeigte sich besonders am 9. März 1917 als die F.E.8 Flugzeuge des 40. Squadron auf die Albatros D.III Flugzeuge der deutschen Jagdstaffel 11 stießen. 4 F.E.8 Flugzeuge wurden abgeschossen, vier weitere schwer beschädigt. Eine geriet bei der Landung in Brand und wurde ebenfalls zerstört. Danach wurden die F.E.8 Flugzeuge gegen die neueren Nieuport 17 ausgetauscht.

Das 41. Squadron behielt als einziges diese Flugzeuge, setzte diese jedoch nur noch für die Bekämpfung von Bodenzielen ein.

 

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Royal Aircraft Factory F.E.8
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Jagdflieger
Länge: 7,21 Meter
Spannweite: 9,6 Meter
Höhe: 2,8 Meter
Gewicht: 406 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: Ein Le Rhône oder Gnôme-Monosoupape 9-Zylinder-Umlaufmotor mit 110 oder 100 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 151 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 2 Stunden und 30 Minuten
Bewaffnung: Ein 7,7-mm-Lewis Maschinengewehr

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!