Short 184

The Short 184 was a two-seater reconnaissance aircraft specially designed and built for attacks at sea with a torpedo and was the first aircraft to sink an enemy ship with a torpedo hit.

 

Development and design:

Even before the First World War, the British Navy experimented with various aircraft in order to use them for torpedo attacks at sea. The Short Admiralty Type 166 also belonged to these aircrafts. Since none of the aircrafts produced a corresponding performance, the British Ministry of Defence awarded the order for the development of a suitable airplane.

The company Short Brothers under the direction of Horace Short then began with the revision of the already used type 166 using the much more powerful Sunbeam Mohawk engine with 225 hp, hence the partly used designation Short 225.

The basic construction was based on the already used Short seaplanes. The fuselage was a conventional, wired, wooden box girder to keep the weight as low as possible. Only the engine was fixed with pressed steel crossbeams which were mounted between the longitudinal beams. The radiator was mounted above and behind the engine directly in front of the upper wing.

The two main floats were carried by two struts attached to the front cross tube and two pairs of struts attached to the rear cross tube, the torpedo attachment was between the floats.

For the communication with the mother ship a radio transmitter was installed, which could be folded in and out. In order to communicate with the ship in the event of a radio transmitter failure, a basket with carrier pigeons was also carried.

At the beginning of 1915, the first two prototypes were completed and extensively tested. Due to the high weight of the torpedoes, however, the aircraft only had to take off with a half-full tank, which reduced the flight time to 45 minutes. Despite this short time span, the order for series production of the aircraft was placed with the company.

 

Short 184

 

Short 184

 

Cockpit of a Short 184

 

Maintenance of a Short 184

 

Maintenance of a Short 184

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

On 21 March 1915, the two prototypes of the Short 184 were loaded onto the converted passenger ship HMS Ben-my Chree and ordered into the Aegean Sea. There the airplanes should support the landing of the British at Gallipoli.

On 12 August 1915, Flight Commander Charles Humphrey Kingsman Edmonds succeeded in attacking and completely destroying an Ottoman merchant ship with a torpedo which had already been torpedoed by the British submarine HMS E14 and run aground. Another transport ship was sunk on 17 August.

During the Battle of Skagerrak from 31 May to 1 June 1916, 4 more Short 184 aircraft were deployed. These were carried by the seaplane carrier HMS Engadine and took over reconnaissance flights to report the position of the German ships to the British squadron.

In addition to the English Channel and the North Sea, the aircraft also served in the Middle East. There, however, they were mainly used for reconnaissance and the transport of material. By the river Tigris the Short 184 airplanes were not dependent on airfields and could keep up with the advancing British troops.

From 1917 and the renewed unrestricted U-boat War of the German Empire, the Short 184 were used until the end of the war mainly for sighting and fighting German submarines. Although the pilots succeeded in sighting many submarines, none could be sunk.

A total of 936 aircraft were built by the end of the war. After the war these were still used until 1920 to find sea mines.

 

 

 

Technical data:

Designation: Short 184
Country: Great Britain
Type: Torpedo bomber
Length: 12,40 meters
Span: 19,40 meters
Height: 4,10 meters
Weight: 1.680 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: A V12 engine Sunbeam Maori with 225 HP, later 260 HP
Maximum speed: 139 km/h
Range: Max. 320 kilometres
Arming: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis machine gun, one 35,6 cm torpedo or 236 kg bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Short 184

Die Short 184 war ein zweisitziges Aufklärungsflugzeug, welches speziell für Angriffe auf See mit einem Torpedo entwickelt und gebaut wurde und das erste Flugzeug war, welches ein feindliches Schiff durch einen Torpedotreffer versenken konnte.

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Bereits vor dem ersten Weltkrieg experimentierte die britische Marine mit verschiedenen Flugzeugen um diese für Torpedoangriffe auf See nutzen zu können. Zu diesen Flugzeugen gehörte auch die Short Admiralty Type 166. Da keines der Flugzeuge eine entsprechende Leistung erbrachte wurde von dem britischen Verteidigungsministerium der Auftrag für die Entwicklung eines passenden Flugzeuges erteilt.

Die Firma Short Brothers unter der Leitung von Horace Short begann daraufhin mit der Überarbeitung des bereits verwendeten Typs 166 unter der Verwendung des deutlich stärkeren Sunbeam Mohawk Motors mit 225 PS, daher auch die teilweise verwendete Bezeichnung Short 225.

Die Grundkonstruktion basierte auf die bereits verwendeten Short Wasserflugzeuge. Der Rumpf war ein herkömmlicher, drahtgebundener, hölzerner Kastenträger um das Gewicht so minimal wie möglich zu halten. Lediglich der Motor war mit gepressten Stahlquerträgern befestigt die zwischen den Längsträgern montiert waren. Der Kühler wurde oberhalb und hinter dem Motor direkt vor dem oberen Flügel montiert.

Die beiden Hauptschwimmer wurden von zwei am vorderen Querrohr befestigten Streben und zwei am hinteren Querrohr befestigten Strebenpaaren getragen, der Aufsatz für den Torpedo lag zwischen den Schwimmern.

Für die Kommunikation mit dem Mutterschiff wurde ein Funksender verbaut, der sich ein und ausklappen lies. Um im Fall eines Ausfalls des Funksenders noch mit dem Schiff zu kommunizieren, wurde zudem ein Korb mit Brieftauben mitgeführt.

Zu Beginn des Jahres 1915 wurden die beiden ersten Prototypen fertiggestellt und ausgiebig getestet. Aufgrund des hohen Gewichtes der Torpedos mussten die Flugzeuge jedoch nur mit einem halb vollen Tank starten, was dazu führte, dass die Flugdauer auf 45 Minuten reduziert wurde. Trotz dieser kurzen Zeitspanne erging der Auftrag zur Serienproduktion der Flugzeuge an die Firma.

 

Short 184

 

Short 184

 

Cockpit einer Short 184

 

Wartung einer Short 184

 

Wartung einer Short 184

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Am 21. März 1915 wurden die beiden Prototypen der Short 184 auf das umgebaute Passagierschiff HMS Ben-my Chree verladen und in die Ägäis beordert. Dort sollten die Flugzeuge die Landung der Briten bei Gallipoli unterstützen.

Am 12. August 1915 gelang es dem Flight Commander Charles Humphrey Kingsman Edmonds ein bereits durch das britische U-Boot HMS E14 torpedierte und auf Grund gelaufenes osmanisches Handelsschiff mit einem Torpedo anzugreifen und vollständig zu zerstören. Ein weiteres Transportschiff konnte am 17. August versenkt werden.

Während der Skagerrakschlacht vom 31. Mai auf den 1. Juni 1916 wurden 4 weitere Flugzeuge vom Typ Short 184 eingesetzt. Diese wurden von dem Wasserflugzeugträger HMS Engadine mitgeführt und übernahmen Aufklärungsflüge um die Position der deutschen Schiffe an das britische Geschwader zu melden.

Neben dem Ärmelkanal und der Nordsee dienten die Flugzeuge auch im Nahen Osten. Dort wurden diese jedoch überwiegend für die Aufklärung und den Transport von Material eingesetzt. Durch den Fluss Tigris waren die Short 184 Flugzeuge nicht auf Flugplätze angewiesen und konnten mit den vorrückenden britischen Truppen mithalten.

Ab 1917 und dem erneuten uneingeschränktem U-Boot Krieg des Deutschen Reiches wurden die Short 184 bis zum Kriegsende überwiegend für die Sichtung und Bekämpfung von deutschen U-Booten eingesetzt. Zwar gelang es den Piloten viele U-Boote zu sichten, versenkt werden konnte jedoch keines.

Insgesamt wurden bis Kriegsende 936 Flugzeuge gebaut. Nach dem Krieg wurden diese noch bis 1920 zum Auffinden von Seeminen eingesetzt.

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Short 184
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Torpedobomber
Länge: 12,40 Meter
Spannweite: 19,40 Meter
Höhe: 4,10 Meter
Gewicht: 1.680 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein V12 Motor Sunbeam Maori mit 225 PS, später 260 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 139 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 320 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis Maschinengewehr, ein 35,6 cm Torpedo oder 236 kg Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!