Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5

The Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5 was the first reconnaissance aircraft of the Royal Aircraft Factory, which went into mass production and was used in smaller numbers at the beginning of the war.

 

Development and construction:

In late 1913, the Royal Flying Corps had to deliver its airships to the Royal Navy. As compensation, this received from the British Ministry of Defense around 25,000 British pounds. The money was used to order 24 new reconnaissance planes at Royal Aircraft Factory.

Thus began the development of the Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5, where the new aircraft was in direct competition with the existing B.E.2. Already before the beginning of the development a quantity of altogether 24 pieces was given up.

The construction was based on the experience of previous models. The R.E.5 was thus a biplane with a solid tailspur gear, the wheels were supported on skids. From the B.E.2 the cockpit was almost completely taken over, so that the pilot sat on the rear seat and the observer in the front seat.

On January 26, 1914, the first flight of the prototype took place. By the time the war began, 16 aircraft had been produced, and not all were delivered to France to the front. One aircraft received the Royal Naval Air Service, others were used for testing purposes. Thus, two aircraft received additional tanks to increase the range and its ability to fly long distances. Another aircraft was given a wind brake, which should significantly shorten the landing because the airfields at the front usually had much shorter runways than those that existed in the UK. On three aircraft, the wings were modified and experimented with suspensions for bombs. Also, tests were done with other engines.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5

 

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

In September 1914, the first six Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5 aircraft were brought to France and assigned to the 2nd Squadron. Another five aircraft followed and were split into different squadrons.

Originally the planes were to be used as reconnaissance planes and bombers, with the bombs and hand grenades had to be thrown out of the cockpit by hand, as there were no brackets for them on the aircraft.

Despite the negative report by Squadron commander John Porte that the R.E.5 aircraft were taking off too slowly, using a runway that was too long and difficult for inexperienced pilots to fly, the aircraft remained at the front until mid-1915.

The last two were withdrawn until September 25, 1915.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5

 

 

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5
Country: Great Britain
Typ: Reconnaissance plane
Length: 7,98 meters
Span: 13,57 meters
Height: 2,95 meters
Mass: unknown
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: An Austro-Daimler piston engine with 120 hp
Maximum speed: 126 km/h
Reach: unknown
Armament: Up to 27 kg bombs

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5

Die Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5 war das erste Aufklärungsflugzeug der Firma Royal Aircraft Factory, welches in Serienproduktion ging und in kleinerer Stückzahl zu Beginn des Krieges eingesetzt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Ende 1913 musste das Royal Flying Corps seine Luftschiffe an die Royal Navy abgeben. Als Entschädigung erhielt dieses von dem britischen Verteidigungsministerium rund 25.000 britische Pfund. Das Geld wurde genutzt, um bei der Firma Royal Aircraft Factory 24 neue Aufklärungsflugzeuge zu bestellen.

Somit begann die Entwicklung der Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5, wobei das neue Flugzeug in direkter Konkurrenz zu der bereits vorhandenen B.E.2 stand. Bereits vor Beginn der Entwicklung wurde eine Stückzahl von insgesamt 24 Stück aufgegeben.

Die Konstruktion ging aus den Erfahrungen der Vorgängermodelle hervor. Die R.E.5 wurde damit zu einem Doppeldecker mit einem festen Heckspornfahrwerk, dessen Räder auf Skids abgestützt waren. Von der B.E.2 wurde das Cockpit fast vollständig übernommen, sodass der Pilot auf dem hinteren Sitz und der Beobachter auf dem vorderen Sitz saßen.

Am 26. Januar 1914 erfolgte der erste Flug des Prototypen. Bis zum Kriegsbeginn waren bereits 16 Flugzeuge produziert, wobei nicht alle nach Frankreich an die Front geliefert wurden. Ein Flugzeug erhielt der Royal Naval Air Service, andere wurden für Testzwecke genutzt. So erhielten zwei Flugzeuge zusätzliche Tanks um die Reichweite zu erhöhen und dessen Fähigkeit, lange Strecken zu fliegen. Ein weiteres Flugzeug erhielt eine Windbremse, diese sollte die Landung deutlich verkürzen da die Flugplätze an der Front für gewöhnlich deutlich kürzere Landebahnen hatten als die, die in Großbritannien vorhanden waren. Bei drei Flugzeugen wurden die Tragflächen modifiziert und mit Aufhängungen für Bomben experimentiert. Auch wurden Tests mit anderen Motoren unternommen.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Im September 1914 wurden die ersten sechs Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5 Flugzeuge nach Frankreich gebracht und dem 2. Squadron zugeteilt. Weitere fünf Flugzeuge folgten und wurden auf verschiedene Squadrons aufgeteilt.

Ursprünglich sollten die Flugzeuge als Aufklärer und Bomber eingesetzt werden, wobei die Bomben und Handgranaten per Hand aus dem Cockpit geworfen werden mussten, da es keine Halterungen für diese am Flugzeug gab.

Trotz des negativen Berichtes des Squadron Kommandant John Porte, dass die R.E.5 Flugzeuge zu langsam Abhoben, eine zu lange Landebahn benötigten und für unerfahrende Piloten schwer zu fliegen seien, verblieben die Flugzeuge bis Mitte 1915 an der Front.

Die letzten beiden wurden erst am 25. September 1915 abgezogen.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5

 

 

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Royal Aircraft Factory R.E.5
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugzeug
Länge: 7,98 Meter
Spannweite: 13,57 Meter
Höhe: 2,95 Meter
Gewicht: unbekannt
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein Austro-Daimler Kolbenmotor mit 120 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 126 km/h
Reichweite: unbekannt
Bewaffnung: Bis zu 27 kg Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!