Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2

The Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2 was a single-seater biplane, which was developed before the First World War as the first aircraft in the UK especially as a fast reconnaissance aircraft with only one pilot.

 

Development and construction:

In 1912, under the direction of Geoffrey de Havilland at Royal Aircraft Factory, the development of a fast reconnaissance aircraft began.

As a basis, a biplane version was taken, this time the crew member should serve both as a pilot and as an observer and so that the aircraft transported only one person.

Initially under the designation B.S.1, a hull of wood with two equal wings emerged. The side control was done by wing distortion and a smaller rudder than the B.E.3. The drive was a double-row, 14-cylinder Gnome Wankel engine with 100 hp.

In early 1913, the prototype of Geoffrey de Havilland was flown for the first time. It showed excellent performance with a top speed of 147.6 km / h, a top speed of 82 km / h and a climb rate of 4.6 meters per second, although the engine did not deliver the hoped 100 hp but only 82 hp. Geoffrey de Havilland, however, was not satisfied with the small oar and criticized the resulting poor maneuverability. After further test flights, he began with the development of a larger rudder. This could not be installed, however, because the plane crashed on March 27, 1913 with de Havilland. He himself broke his jaw while the plane was completely destroyed.

After the accident, the prototype was rebuilt again and a single-row, 14-cylinder Gnome Wankel engine also installed with 100 hp. In addition, triangular fins were mounted above and below the hull and a larger rudder. Initially under the designation B.S.2, the aircraft was later renamed S.E.2 (for Scout Experimental). In October 1913 the first flight was carried out.

After Geoffrey de Havilland left the company and moved to Airco, Henry Folland began in April 1914 to build a new prototype of the S.E.2. The rear of the aircraft was revised again, with larger side and rudder, with new horizontal stabilizers and elevators. In addition, better streamlined struts and streamlined tension wires (Raf wires) have been incorporated. On October 3, 1914, the first flight was carried out with this prototype.

On February 17, 1914, the aircraft was handed over to the 5th Squadron of the Royal Flying Corps for testing, in March, the 3rd Squadron received the aircraft for testing purposes. In April, it was returned to the Royal Aircraft Factory.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2

 

Royal Aircraft Factory B.S.1

 

Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2

 

 

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

After a few changes of the aircraft that fell back on the tests in the two squadrons, the modified version was brought to France on October 27, 1914 and assigned there to the 3rd Squadron.

Before the first use at the front a provisional armament was attached. The two rifles were attached to the side of the fuselage and aimed at the propeller to avoid damaging it when firing.

In the early months of the war, the Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2 was among the fastest aircraft over the Western Front.

In March 1915, however, it was damaged by a bomb and had to be returned to the UK. There it was finally scrapped, since it was already working on a successor model.

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Designation: Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2
Country: Great Britain
Typ: Reconnaissance plane
Length: 6,25 meters
Span: 8,38 meters
Height: 2,39 meters
Mass: 327 kg empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: A Gnôme circulating motor with 80 hp
Maximum speed: 155 km/h
Reach: Max. 2 hours and 30 minutes
Armament: Two 7.7 × 56 mm rifles

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2

Die Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2 war ein einsitziger Doppeldecker, der vor dem ersten Weltkrieg als erstes Flugzeug Großbritanniens speziell als schneller Aufklärer mit nur einem Piloten entwickelt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

1912 begann unter der Leitung von Geoffrey de Havilland bei der Firma Royal Aircraft Factory die Entwicklung eines schnellen Aufklärungsflugzeuges.

Als Basis wurde eine Doppeldecker Version genommen, wobei diesmal das Besatzungsmitglied sowohl als Pilot als auch als Beobachter dienen sollte und damit das Flugzeug nur eine Person transportierte.

Zunächst unter der Bezeichnung B.S.1 entstand ein Rumpf aus Holz mit zwei gleich großen Tragflächen. Die Seitensteuerung erfolgte über Flügelverwerfung und einem kleineren Ruder als wie bei der B.E.3. Als Antrieb diente ein zweireihiger, 14-Zylinder Gnome Wankelmotor mit 100 PS.

Anfang 1913 wurde der Prototyp von Geoffrey de Havilland das erste mal geflogen. Dabei zeigten sich hervorragenden Leistungen mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 147,6 km/h, einer Standgeschwindigkeit von 82 km/h und einer Steiggeschwindigkeit von 4,6 Metern pro Sekunde, obwohl der Motor nicht die erhofften 100 PS sondern nur 82 PS lieferte. Geoffrey de Havilland war jedoch nicht mit dem kleinen Ruder zufrieden und bemängelte die dadurch entstehende schlechte Manövrierfähigkeit. Nach weiteren Testflügen begann er mit der Entwicklung eines größeres Ruders. Dieses konnte jedoch nicht mehr verbaut werden, da das Flugzeug am 27. März 1913 mit de Havilland abstürzte. Er selbst brach sich dabei den Kiefer, das Flugzeug wurde hingegen völlig zerstört.

Nach dem Unfall wurde der Prototyp wieder neu aufgebaut und ein einreihiger, 14-Zylinder Gnome Wankelmotor ebenfalls mit 100 PS eingebaut. Zudem wurden dreieckige Flossen über und unter dem Rumpf sowie ein größeres Ruder montiert. Zunächst unter der Bezeichnung B.S.2 wurde das Flugzeug etwas später in S.E.2 (für Scout Experimental) umbenannt. Im Oktober 1913 wurde der erste Flug durchgeführt.

Nachdem Geoffrey de Havilland aus der Firma ausschied und zu Airco wechselte, begann Henry Folland im April 1914 einen neuen Prototyp der S.E.2 aufzubauen. Das Heck des Flugzeuges wurde nochmals überarbeitet, mit größeren Seiten- und Seitenruder, mit neuen Höhenleitwerken und Höhenrudern. Es wurden zudem bessere stromlinienförmige Streben und stromlinienförmige Spanndrähte (Raf-Drähte) eingebaut. Am 3. Oktober 1914 wurde der erste Flug mit diesem Prototyp durchgeführt.

Am 17. Februar 1914 wurde das Flugzeug dem 5. Squadron des Royal Flying Corps zum Testen übergeben, im März erhielt auch das 3. Squadron das Flugzeug für Testzwecke. Im April wurde es der Royal Aircraft Factory zurück gegeben.

 

 

Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2

 

Royal Aircraft Factory B.S.1

 

Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2

 

 

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Nach einigen Änderungen des Flugzeuges die auf die Tests in den beiden Squadrons zurück fielen, wurde die modifizierte Version am 27. Oktober 1914 nach Frankreich gebracht und dort dem 3. Squadron zugeteilt.

Vor dem ersten Einsatz an der Front wurde noch eine provisorische Bewaffnung angebracht. Die beiden Gewehre wurden seitlich am Rumpf angebracht und zielten an dem Propeller vorbei um diesen beim Schießen nicht zu beschädigen.

In den ersten Monaten des Krieges zählte die Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2 zu den schnellsten Flugzeugen über der Westfront.

Im März 1915 wurde es jedoch durch eine Bombe beschädigt und musste zurück nach Großbritannien gebracht werden. Dort wurde es schließlich verschrottet, da bereits an einem Nachfolgemodell gearbeitet wurde.

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.2
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugzeug
Länge: 6,25 Meter
Spannweite: 8,38 Meter
Höhe: 2,39 Meter
Gewicht: 327 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: Ein Gnôme Umlaufmotor mit 80 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 155 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 2 Stunden und 30 Minuten
Bewaffnung: Zwei 7.7×56 mm Gewehre

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!