Short Bomber

The Short Bomber was a British two-seater long-range aircraft which was used as a bomber and for torpedo attacks and was developed from the successful Short Type 184.

 

Development and design:

The Short Bomber was built from a mixture of the aircraft Short 184 and 166. The fuselage of the two aircraft types was put together and the wings of the 166 were taken over.

The box-shaped fuselage was put again on the lower wing and provided with a continuous cockpit. With the first prototypes the observer sat still in the front seat around the machine gun attached on the upper wing to serve. With the development of the ring attachment, the machine gun was moved to the rear of the cockpit and the pilot now sat on the front seat.

Various Rolls-Royce Eagle and Sunbeam engines were used for propulsion.

Since the airplanes should be used predominantly as bombers, mountings for bombs were attached under the lower wing with which the airplane should carry up to 420 kilograms of bombs. After the first test flights, however, it turned out that the performance of the aircraft was not designed for such loads, so the wingspan had to be increased. After the first modification the prototypes flew much more unstable than before. The fuselage was lengthened by 1,35 meters to eliminate this problem as well. Only after the second modification could the aircraft carry the required bomb load and fly relatively quietly.

Some of the short bombers were to be used in the British Navy for torpedo attacks. For this a device was attached to the hull instead of the bomb holders with which a 14 inch Whitehead Torpedo could be taken up.

In 1916 the company finally received the order for the production of 83 short bombers, which were delivered from the beginning of November 1916.

 

Short Bomber

 

Drawing of a Short Bomber

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

In mid-1916 the 7th squadron of the Royal Naval Air Service was equipped with the first Short Bomber aircraft. In the night from 15 to 16 November, the first attack was flown on the Belgian city of Ostend and its port, where the base of the German submarines was located at that time.

During the winter from 1916 to 1917 further bomb attacks were flown, but it quickly became apparent that the Short Bombers were too weak in performance to be used effectively.

Until April 1917, these were finally replaced by the more powerful Handley Page Type O / 100 aircraft and withdrawn from the front. The last attack of the Short Bombers took place in the four nights before 23 April 1917 on the Zeebrugge Mole in preparation for the large fleet attack of the British.

 

 

 

Technical data:

Designation: Short Bomber
Country: Great Britain
Type: Torpedo Bombers, Bombers
Length: 13,72 meters
Span: 25,61 meters
Height: 4,57 meters
Weight: 2.273 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: A Rolls-Royce Eagle water-cooled V12 engine with 250 hp (187 kW)

In some airplanes Sunbeam engines too

Maximum speed: 124 km/h
Range: Max. 6 hours
Arming: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis machine gun, a 14 inch torpedo or up to 420 kg bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Short Bomber

Der Short Bomber war ein britisches, zweisitziges Langstreckenflugzeug, welches als Bomber und für Torpedoangriffe genutzt wurde und aus der erfolgreichen Short Type 184 entwickelt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Der Short Bomber entstand aus einer Mischung der Flugzeuge Short 184 und 166. Dabei wurde der Rumpf der beiden Flugzeug Typen zusammen gelegt und die Flügel der 166 übernommen.

Der kastenförmige Rumpf wurde dabei erneut auf den unteren Flügel aufgesetzt und mit einem durchgehendem Cockpit versehen. Bei den ersten Prototypen saß der Beobachter noch im vorderen Sitz um das auf dem oberen Flügel angebrachte Maschinengewehr zu bedienen. Mit der Entwicklung der Ringbefestigung wurde das Maschinengewehr in den hinteren Bereich des Cockpits verlegt und der Pilot saß nun auf dem vorderen Sitz.

Für den Antrieb wurden verschiedene Rolls-Royce Eagle und Sunbeam Motoren verwendet.

Da die Flugzeuge überwiegend als Bomber eingesetzt werden sollten, wurden unter der unteren Tragfläche Halterungen für Bomben angebracht womit das Flugzeug bis zu 420 Kilogramm Bomben mit führen sollte. Nach den ersten Testflügen zeigte sich jedoch, dass die Leistung des Flugzeuges nicht für solche Lasten ausgelegt war, daher musste die Flügelspannweite erhöht werden. Nach der ersten Modifikation flogen die Prototypen deutlich unruhiger als davor. Um diesen Fehler ebenfalls zu beheben wurde der Rumpf 1,35 Meter verlängert. Erst nach der zweiten Modifikation konnten die Flugzeuge die erforderliche Bombenlast tragen und ließen sich verhältnismäßig ruhig fliegen.

Einige der Short Bomber sollten in der britischen Marine für Torpedoangriffe eingesetzt werden. Hierfür wurden anstelle der Bombenhalter eine Vorrichtung an dem Rumpf angebracht womit ein 14 Zoll Whitehead Torpedo aufgenommen werden konnte.

Im Jahr 1916 erhielt die Firma schließlich den Auftrag für die Produktion von insgesamt 83 Short Bombern, die ab Anfang November 1916 ausgeliefert wurden.

 

Short Bomber

 

Zeichnung eines Short Bombers

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Mitte 1916 wurde das 7. Geschwader des Royal Naval Air Service mit den ersten Flugzeugen vom Typ Short Bomber ausgerüstet. In der Nacht vom 15. auf den 16. November wurde der erste Angriff auf die belgische Stadt Ostende und den dortigen Hafen geflogen, wo sich zu dieser Zeit der Stützpunkt der deutschen U-Boote befand.

Während des Winters von 1916 auf 1917 wurden weitere Bombenangriffe geflogen, jedoch zeigte sich schnell, dass die Short Bomber von der Leistung her zu schwach waren um effektiv eingesetzt werden zu können.

Bis in den April 1917 wurden diese dann schließlich von den leistungsfähigeren Handley Page Type O / 100 Flugzeugen abgelöst und von der Front abgezogen. Der letzte Angriff der Short Bomber erfolgte in den vier Nächten vor dem 23. April 1917 auf die Zeebrugge Mole zur Vorbereitung des großen Flottenangriffes der Briten.

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Short Bomber
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Torpedobomber, Bomber
Länge: 13,72 Meter
Spannweite: 25,61 Meter
Höhe: 4,57 Meter
Gewicht: 2.273 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein Rolls-Royce Eagle wassergekühlter V12 Motor mit 250 PS (187 kW)

In einigen Flugzeugen auch Sunbeam Motoren

Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 124 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 6 Stunden
Bewaffnung: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis Maschinengewehr, ein 14 Zoll Torpedo oder bis zu 420 kg Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!