Short Type 827

The Short Type 827 was a British, two-seater seaplane, which was used for reconnaissance and later also for bombing raids in the First World War.

 

Development and design:

The basic construction of the Short Type 827 was derived from the already used Short Type 166, but the dimensions were smaller to accommodate the newly developed V-8 high-performance engine from Sunbeam.

The fuselage was placed on the lower wing, which was equipped with two large floats underneath. Two smaller floats were located at the wing tips and at the tail of the aircraft.

First a 155 HP Sunbeam engine was used as drive, in a later version, also called Short Type 830, a 200 HP engine was used.

Furthermore 10 airplanes were built, which were a mixture of the Short Type 166 and the Short Type 830. The wings and the fuselage of the 166 as well as the cross wings and the cockpit of the 830 were used. The planes were powered by a 140 HP Salmson-Canton-Unné engine. These airplanes were called Short Type 830s, but were not further developed.

In the middle of 1914 the first test flights began, after the beginning of the First World War the delivery to the Royal Naval Air Service began which wanted to use the airplanes for the reconnaissance at sea and for bomb attacks. For this purpose, brackets were attached under the lower wing so that the aircraft could carry two 25 kilogram bombs.

 

Short Type 827

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

From June 1915 the Short Type 827 were used for coastal protection and flew reconnaissance missions on the British coast. When German battle cruisers fired at the cities of Lowestoft and Yarmouth, the planes tried to bomb the ships.

To support the sinking of the British ships in the Rufijidelta lying German small cruiser SMS Königsberg three Short Type 827 aircraft were brought on site. The plan was to improve the accuracy of the British guns by means of reconnaissance flights and thus be able to hit the German ship. However, the aircraft arrived too late and were sent a short time later to Mesopotamia. In order to bomb the positions of the Ottoman troops there, the floats of two of the three aircraft were dismantled and replaced by wheels.

At the end of 1915, four aircraft were handed over to the Belgian army, which brought the aircraft near the town of Albertville, near the German colony of East Africa. From there, attacks on German troops and the German ship SMS Goetzen in Lake Tanganyika were flown.

Most of the 108 aircraft built remained in service until the end of the war.

 

A Short Type 827 in use in East Africa

 

A Short Type 827 loaded with cameras for a reconnaissance flight

 

A Short Type 827 in service of the Australian Air Force

 

 

 

Technical data:

Designation: Short Type 827
Country: Great Britain
Type: Reconnaissance plane, Bomber
Length: 10,74 meters
Span: 16,43 meters
Height: 4,11 meters
Weight: 1.225 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: A water-cooled V8 engine from Sunbeam with 150 hp (110 kW)
Maximum speed: 100 km/h
Range: Max. 3 hours and 30 minutes
Arming: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis machine gun and up to 50 kilograms of bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Short Type 827

Die Short Type 827 war ein britisches, zweisitziges Wasserflugzeug, welches für die Aufklärung und später auch für Bombenangriffe im ersten Weltkrieg genutzt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Die Grundkonstruktion der Short Type 827 ging aus der bereits verwendeten Short Type 166 hervor, jedoch waren die Ausmaße geringer um den neu entwickelten V-8 Hochleistungsmotor der Firma Sunbeam aufnehmen zu können.

Der Rumpf wurde in Kastenbauweise auf den unteren Flügel gesetzt, wobei dieser mit zwei großen Schwimmern darunter ausgestattet war. Zwei kleinere Schwimmer befanden sich an den Flügelenden sowie am Heck des Flugzeuges.

Als Antrieb wurde zunächst ein 155 PS starker Sunbeam Motor verwendet, in einer späteren Version, auch als Short Type 830 bezeichnet, wurde ein 200 PS starker Motor genutzt.

Weiter wurden auch 10 Flugzeuge gebaut, die eine Mischung aus der Short Type 166 und der Short Type 830 darstellten. Dafür wurden die Flügel und der Rumpf der 166 sowie die Querflügel und der Aufbau des Cockpits der 830 verwendet. Angetrieben wurden die Flugzeuge mit einem 140 PS starken Salmson-Canton-Unné Motor. Diese Flugzeuge wurden als Bezeichnung wurde Short Type 830s bezeichnet, jedoch nicht weiter entwickelt.

Mitte 1914 begannen die ersten Erprobungsflüge, nach Beginn des ersten Weltkrieges begann die Auslieferung an den Royal Naval Air Service der die Flugzeuge für die Aufklärung auf See und für Bombenangriffe nutzen wollte. Hierfür wurden unter der unteren Tragfläche Halterungen angebracht womit das Flugzeug zwei 25 Kilogramm Bomben mitführen konnte.

 

Short Type 827

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Ab Juni 1915 wurden die Short Type 827 für den Küstenschutz eingesetzt und flogen an der britischen Küste Aufklärungseinsätze. Als deutsche Schlachtkreuzer die Städte Lowestoft und Yarmouth beschossen, versuchten die Flugzeuge die Schiffe zu bombardieren.

Zur Unterstützung der Versenkung der britischen Schiffe bei dem im Rufijidelta liegendem deutschen kleinen Kreuzer SMS Königsberg wurden drei Short Type 827 Flugzeuge vor Ort gebracht. Geplant war, durch Aufklärungsflüge die Zielgenauigkeit der britischen Schiffsgeschütze zu verbessern und dadurch das deutsche Schiffe treffen zu können. Die Flugzeuge kamen allerdings zu spät an und wurden kurze Zeit später nach Mesopotamien weiter geschickt. Um dort die Stellungen der osmanischen Truppen zu Bombardieren, wurden bei zwei der drei Flugzeugen die Schwimmer abmontiert und durch Räder ersetzt. 

Ende 1915 wurden vier Flugzeuge der belgischen Armee überlassen, die die Flugzeuge in die Nähe der Stadt Albertville, nahe der deutschen Kolonie Ostafrika brachten. Von dort aus wurden Angriffe auf die deutschen Truppen sowie das im Tanganjikasee liegende deutsche Schiff SMS Goetzen geflogen.

Von den insgesamt 108 gebauten Flugzeugen verblieben die meisten bis zum Ende des Krieges im Dienst.

 

Eine Short Type 827 im Einsatz in Ostafrika

 

Eine Short Type 827 wird mit Kameras für einen Aufklärungsflug beladen

 

Eine Short Type 827 im Dienst der australischen Luftwaffe

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Short Type 827
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Aufklärungsflugzeug, Bomber
Länge: 10,74 Meter
Spannweite: 16,43 Meter
Höhe: 4,11 Meter
Gewicht: 1.225 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein wassergekühlter V8 Motor von Sunbeam mit 150 PS (110 kW)
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 100 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 3 Stunden und 30 Minuten
Bewaffnung: 1 x 7,7 mm Lewis Maschinengewehr und bis zu 50 Kilogramm Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!