Sopwith Dolphin

The Sopwith Dolphin was a British, single-seater fighter pilot who was deployed in the Royal Flying Corps in early 1918 and later in the Royal Air Force.

 

Development and design:

At the beginning of 1917, under the direction of the chief designer of the Sopwith Aviation Company, Herbert Smith, the development of a new fighter pilot was started, which was to be designed for the 200 hp Hispano-Suiza 8B engine.

With the internal designation 5F.1 an airplane was developed, with which the upper wing was divided to improve the view of the pilot. In order to adjust the centre of gravity of the aircraft, the lower wing was moved forward by 33 cm and was therefore no longer directly below the upper one.

Due to missing engines the first prototype was equipped with a 150 HP Hispano-Suiza 8B V8 engine. On 23. May 1917 the first test flight of the new airplane took place. In June the transfer to the French Saint-Omer took place where pilots of the 60th squadron tested the airplane extensively. After the completion the airplane could convince both the pilots and the British Ministry of Defence, so that first 700 airplanes were ordered.

Shortly after the first test flights a second prototype was built. Instead of a frontal cooler an upper wing cooler was installed. In addition, the lower wings were given some cut-outs to improve the pilot's downward visibility. However, these modifications were not included in the later series production.

Also the third and the fourth prototype contained some changes at radiator, fuselage lid, fin and rudder, whereby the fourth prototype was used as basic type for the series production afterwards, which started from October 1917.

The initial delivery problems with the actually planned Hispano-Suiza 8B engine were mainly due to the bad metal which was used for the processing. This led to numerous failures of the reduction gear and to a slowdown of production. In addition, the French aircraft of type SPAD S.XIII were to be equipped with the engines first, before the Sopwith Dolphin received them. The supply with the engines improved only at the beginning of 1918, after another French company was assigned with the licence construction.

By the end of the war 2.072 aircraft could be built.

 

Sopwith Dolphin

 

Drawing of the Sopwith Dolphin

 

Cockpit of a Sopwith Dolphin

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

In February 1918 the delivery to the 19th and 79th squadrons began. In March followed the 87th and 23rd season. At the beginning of the missions the new airplanes were inadvertently held for German airplanes, so that these were attacked by British air defence cannons or also by British and Belgian pilots. In addition, the split upper wing caused fears, especially among inexperienced pilots, that a crash landing could lead to serious injuries to the head and upper body. However, the fears were quickly refuted by tests.

After the first missions, the aircraft quickly became more and more popular with pilots. It was fast, agile and with experience easy to fly. In addition, it could be used at great heights and thus the German reconnaissance planes of the type Rumpler C.VII could be fought decisively.

Altogether four squadrons were completely equipped with the Sopwith Dolphin, other squadrons had these airplanes as supplement. With 89 shot down German airplanes the 87th squadron was one of the most successful with these airplanes.

Beside the British air force also at the end of the war it was started to equip a Canadian squadron with the Sopwith Dolphin airplanes, however this was operational only shortly after the surrender of the German Empire. After the war the air force of the USA bought also some airplanes for test purposes.

 

A Sopwith Dolphin of the Canadian Air Force

 

 

 

Technical data:

Designation: Sopwith Dolphin
Country: Great Britain
Type: Fighter
Length: 6,78 meters
Span: 9,91 meters
Height: 2,59 meters
Weight: 641 kg empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: A Hispano-Suiza 8B engine with 200 hp (149 kW)
Maximum speed: 211 km/h
Range: Max. 315 kilometres
Arming: 2 x 7,7 mm Vickers Machine Gun

Up to 2 x 7,7 mm Lewis machine guns

4 x 12 kilogram bombs

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Sopwith Dolphin

Die Sopwith Dolphin war ein britischer, einsitziger Jagdflieger der Anfang 1918 in dem Royal Flying Corps und später in der Royal Air Force eingesetzt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Anfang 1917 wurde unter der Leitung des Chefkonstrukteurs der Firma Sopwith Aviation Company Herbert Smith mit der Entwicklung eines neuen Jagdfliegers begonnen, der für den 200 PS starken Hispano-Suiza 8B Motor ausgelegt sein sollte.

Mit der internen Bezeichnung 5F.1 wurde ein Flugzeug entwickelt, bei dem die obere Tragfläche geteilt war um die Sicht des Piloten zu verbessern. Um den Schwerpunkt des Flugzeuges entsprechend anzupassen wurde die untere Tragfläche um 33 cm nach vorne versetzt und lag somit nicht mehr direkt unter der Oberen.

Wegen fehlender Motoren war der erste Prototyp mit einem 150 PS starken Hispano-Suiza 8B V8 Motor ausgerüstet. Am 23. Mai 1917 erfolgte der erste Probeflug des neuen Flugzeuges. Im Juni erfolgte die Verlegung in das französische Saint-Omer wo Piloten des 60. Geschwaders das Flugzeug ausgiebig testeten. Nach dem Abschluss konnte das Flugzeug sowohl die Piloten als auch das britische Verteidigungsministerium überzeugen, sodass zunächst 700 Flugzeuge bestellt wurden.

Kurz nach den ersten Testflügen wurde ein zweiter Prototyp gebaut. Bei diesem wurde anstelle eine Frontalkühlers ein Oberflügelkühler verbaut. Zudem erhielten die unteren Tragflächen einige Ausschnitte um die Sicht des Piloten nach unten zu verbessern. Diese Modifikationen wurden jedoch in der späteren Serienproduktion nicht aufgenommen.

Auch der dritte und der vierte Prototyp enthielten einige Änderungen an Kühler, Rumpfdeckel, Flosse und Ruder, wobei der vierte Prototyp als Grundtyp für die Serienproduktion anschließend genutzt wurde, die ab dem Oktober 1917 anlief.

Die anfänglichen Lieferschwierigkeiten bei dem eigentlich geplanten Hispano-Suiza 8B Motor lagen hauptsächlich an dem schlechten Metall welches für die Verarbeitung genutzt wurde. Das führte zu zahlreichen Ausfällen des Untersetzungsgetriebes und zu einer Verlangsamung der Produktion. Zudem sollten zuerst die französischen Flugzeuge vom Typ SPAD S.XIII mit den Motoren ausgerüstet werden, bevor die Sopwith Dolphin diese erhielten. Die Versorgung mit den Motoren verbesserte sich erst Anfang 1918, nachdem eine weitere französische Firma mit dem Lizenzbau beauftragt wurde.

Bis zum Kriegsende konnten so 2.072 Flugzeuge gebaut werden.

 

Sopwith Dolphin

 

Zeichnung der Sopwith Dolphin

 

Cockpit einer Sopwith Dolphin

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Im Februar 1918 begann die Auslieferung an die 19. und 79. Staffel. Im März folgte die 87. und 23. Staffel. Zu Beginn der Einsätze wurden die neuen Flugzeuge versehentlich für deutsche Flugzeuge gehalten, sodass diese von britischen Flugabwehr Kanonen oder auch von britischen und belgischen Piloten angegriffen wurden. Zudem sorgte die geteilte obere Tragfläche besonders bei unerfahrenden Piloten für Befürchtungen, dass bei einer Bruchlandung diese zu schweren Verletzungen am Kopf und Oberkörper führen können. Durch Tests konnten die Befürchtungen jedoch schnell wiederlegt werden.

Nach den ersten Einsätzen wurde das Flugzeug bei den Piloten schnell immer beliebter. Es war schnell, wendig und mit Erfahrung leicht zu fliegen. Zudem konnte es in großer Höhe eingesetzt werden und damit die deutschen Aufklärungsflugzeuge vom Typ Rumpler C.VII entscheidend bekämpft werden.

Insgesamt wurden vier Staffeln vollständig mit der Sopwith Dolphin ausgerüstet, andere Staffeln hatten diese Flugzeuge als Ergänzung. Mit 89 abgeschossenen deutschen Flugzeuge zählte das 87. Geschwader zu dem erfolgreichsten mit diesen Flugzeugen.

Neben der britischen Luftwaffe wurde auch zum Ende des Krieges begonnen, eine kanadische Staffel mit den Sopwith Dolphin Flugzeugen auszurüsten, jedoch war diese erst kurz nach der Kapitulation des Deutschen Reiches einsatzfähig. Nach dem Krieg kaufte auch die Luftwaffe der USA einige Flugzeuge zu Testzwecken.

 

Eine Sopwith Dolphin der kanadischen Luftwaffe

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Sopwith Dolphin
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Jagdflugzeug
Länge: 6,78 Meter
Spannweite: 9,91 Meter
Höhe: 2,59 Meter
Gewicht: 641 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: Ein Hispano-Suiza 8B Motor mit 200 PS (149 kW)
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 211 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 315 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: 2 x 7,7 mm Vickers Maschinengewehr

Bis zu 2 x 7,7 mm Lewis Maschinengewehre

4 x 12 Kilogramm Bomben

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!