Morane-Saulnier N

The Morane-Saulnier N was an early, light French monoplane that was one of the first fighter aircraft to be used by the Allies.

 

Development and construction:

The French company Société Anonyme des Aéroplanes Morane-Saulnier, founded by the brothers Léon and Robert Morane and Raymond Saulnier, was already producing sports and racing aircraft before the First World War.

The development of the Morane-Saulnier N emerged from the predecessor model of the Morane-Saulnier G, whereby special emphasis was placed on good aerodynamics in order to increase the speed. Since the aircraft was originally intended for racing in the air, the focus was less on easy control, so that this was done by twisting the wings instead of the usual ailerons, which made the aircraft more manoeuvrable, but the controls were designed to be quite sensitive and more of experienced pilots could handle.

The 80 HP Le Rhône 9C was chosen as the engine, which brought the aircraft to a speed of 165 kilometers per hour.

The first flight of the prototype took place on July 22, 1914. Since political tensions in Europe were already increasing significantly at this time and a war was already foreseeable, there was very little public interest in another racing aircraft.

 

Morane-Saulnier N plane

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

With the outbreak of World War I, the need for military aircraft increased, and many pre-war models that were not originally designed for such missions were bought or withdrawn in order to be able to use them on the various fronts.

This also affected the Morane-Saulnier N aircraft, which were equipped with a machine gun for the pilot for use at the front. So that the projectiles did not damage the propeller, a machine gun synchronized with the propeller shaft did not exist at the beginning, the propeller was protected with sturdy deflector plates on which the projectiles were deflected.

In addition to France, Great Britain and Russia also used aircraft of this type at the front to shoot down enemy aircraft, making the Morane-Saulnier N one of the first Allied fighters.

From March 1916 began some modifications to the aircraft. So the engine was swapped for the more powerful 110 HP Le-Rhône-C engine. Some aircraft were also equipped with a synchronized machine gun.

At the end of 1916, however, the Morane-Saulnier N aircraft on the Western Front began to be exchanged for the more modern Nieuport 11. Only in Russia did the aircraft remain in service until the surrender.

 

 

 

Technical specifications:

Description: Morane-Saulnier N
Country: France
Type: Fighter plane
Length: 6,70 meters
Span: 8,15 meters
Height: 2,25 meters
Weight: 288 kilograms empty
Crew: Max. 1
Engine: a Le Rhône 9C engine with 80 HP (approx. 60 kW)
Maximum speed: 165 kilometers per hour
Range: Max. 1 hour and 30 minutes
Armament: 1 machine gun 7,7 mm

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: Deutsch (German) Français (French) Italiano (Italian) Español (Spanish)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Morane-Saulnier N

Die Morane-Saulnier N war ein früher, leichter französischer Eindecker der als eines der ersten Jagdflugzeuge auf Seiten der Alliierten eingesetzt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Die französische Firma Société Anonyme des Aéroplanes Morane-Saulnier, gegründet von den Brüdern Léon und Robert Morane sowie Raymond Saulnier, produzierte bereits vor dem ersten Weltkrieg Sport und Rennflugzeuge.

Die Entwicklung der Morane-Saulnier N ging aus dem Vorgängermodell der Morane-Saulnier G hervor, wobei besonderer Wert auf eine gute Aerodynamik gelegt wurde um die Geschwindigkeit zu steigern. Da das Flugzeug ursprünglich für den Rennsport in der Luft gedacht war, lag der Fokus weniger auf einer leichten Steuerung, sodass diese durch Flügelverwindung statt durch die üblichen Querruder erfolgte, was das Flugzeug zwar wendiger machte, dafür die Steuerung recht sensibel ausgelegt war und eher von erfahrenen Piloten gehandhabt werden konnte.

Als Motor wurde der 80PS starke Le Rhône 9C gewählt, der das Flugzeug auf eine Geschwindigkeit von 165 Kilometer pro Stunde brachte.

Der Erstflug des Prototypen erfolgte am 22. Juli 1914. Da zu dieser Zeit bereits die politischen Spannungen in Europa deutlich zunahmen und ein Krieg bereits absehbar war, war das Interesse an einem weiteren Rennflugzeug in der Öffentlichkeit sehr gering.

 

Morane-Saulnier N Flugzeug

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Mit Ausbruch des ersten Weltkrieges stieg der Bedarf an militärischen Flugzeugen, wobei auch viele Vorkriegsmodelle die ursprünglich nicht für solche Einsätze ausgelegt waren gekauft oder eingezogen wurden um diese an den verschiedenen Fronten einsetzen zu können.

Dies betraf auch die Morane-Saulnier N Flugzeuge, die für den Fronteinsatz mit einem Maschinengewehr für den Piloten ausgerüstet wurden. Damit die Geschosse jedoch nicht den Propeller beschädigten, ein mit der Propellerwelle synchronisiertes Maschinengewehr gab es zu Beginn noch nicht, schützte man den Propeller mit stabilen Ablenkblechen an denen die Geschosse abgelenkt wurden.

Neben Frankreich setzten auch Großbritannien und Russland Flugzeuge dieses Typs an der Front ein um feindliche Flugzeuge abzuschießen, womit die Morane-Saulnier N als eines der ersten Jagdflugzeuge der Alliierten galt.

Ab dem März 1916 begannen einige Modifikationen an dem Flugzeug. So wurde der Motor gegen den leistungsstärkeren 110PS Le-Rhône-C Motor getauscht. Einige Flugzeuge wurden zudem mit einem synchronisiertem Maschinengewehr ausgerüstet.

Ende 1916 wurde jedoch damit begonnen, die Morane-Saulnier N Flugzeuge an der Westfront gegen die modernere Nieuport 11 auszutauschen. Lediglich in Russland blieb das Flugzeug bis zur Kapitulation im Einsatz.

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Morane-Saulnier N
Land: Frankreich
Typ: Jagdflugzeug
Länge: 6,70 Meter
Spannweite: 8,15 Meter
Höhe: 2,25 Meter
Gewicht: 288 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 1
Motor: ein Le Rhône 9C Motor mit 80 PS (ca. 60 kW)
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 165 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 1 Stunden und 30 Minuten
Bewaffnung: 1 MG 7,7 mm

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: English (Englisch) Français (Französisch) Italiano (Italienisch) Español (Spanisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!