Short S.38

The Short S.38 was an early British reconnaissance aircraft developed by Short Brothers before the First World War.

 

Development and design:

Already in May 1910 the constructor Horace Short began with the development of the Short S.27, which was very strongly oriented to the Farman III. Some of these aircrafts were used by the Royal Naval Air Service to be used as reconnaissance planes on their ships.

During one of these missions there was an accident on the HMS London on 9 July 1912 and the aircraft was severely damaged. After salvage it was handed over to the company, which completely rebuilt it and made some modifications and changes.

The final aircraft was named Short S.38 after its completion and was flown for the first time on 30 August 1912.

The basic construction remained as with the Short S.27 a thrust biplane with unequal wingspan. However, the wingspan of the S.38 was increased and the nacelle was adapted so that crew members, pilots and observers could fly there. Also the stern was revised, whereby the tail unit was enlarged and two rudders were inserted.

After acceptance by the Royal Naval Air Service, 9 aircraft of this type were initially built, delivered and used for pilot training.

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Drawing of the Short S.38

Drawing of the Short S.38

 

 

 

Use in the First World War:

When the First World War broke out in Europe, the 9 Short S.38 were located in Eastchurch and were used by the Royal Naval Air Service for training. Since the leadership of the pressure propeller airplanes was altogether very content, this ordered 1915 further airplanes around the high training need to be able to cover.

Since the company Short Brothers was already busy with the production of other aircraft at this time, the order was outsourced to other companies. Pemberton-Billing built 12 and White and Thompson 24 Short S.38 aircraft under licence.

In the year 1916 these were delivered then bit by bit and remained until 1917 in the service and for the training of pilots.

 

 

 

Technical data:

Designation: Short S.38
Country: Great Britain
Type: Coastal patrol, Training aircraft
Length: 10,82 meters
Span: 16 meters
Height: unknown
Weight: 499 kg empty
Crew: Max. 2
Engine: A Gnôme rotation motor with 80 HP
Maximum speed: 93 km/h
Range: Max. 467 kilometres
Arming: none

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: deDeutsch (German) frFrançais (French) itItaliano (Italian) zh-hans简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) ruРусский (Russian)

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!

Short S.38

Die Short S.38 war ein frühes britisches Aufklärungsflugzeuges, welches von der Firma Short Brothers noch vor dem ersten Weltkrieg entwickelt wurde.

 

Entwicklung und Konstruktion:

Bereits im Mai 1910 begann der Konstrukteur Horace Short mit der Entwicklung der Short S.27, welches sich dabei sehr stark an der Farman III orientierte. Einige dieser Flugzeuge wurden von dem Royal Naval Air Service genutzt um diese auf ihren Schiffe als Aufklärungsflugzeuge einzusetzen.

Bei einem dieser Einsätze kam es auf der HMS London am 9 Juli 1912 zu einem Unfall wobei das Flugzeug schwer beschädigt wurde. Nach der Bergung wurde es der Firma übergeben, die es komplett neu aufbauten und dabei einige Modifikationen und Änderungen vornahmen.

Das endgültige Flugzeug erhielt nach dessen Fertigstellung die Bezeichnung Short S.38 und wurde am 30. August 1912 erstmals geflogen.

Die Grundkonstruktion blieb wie bei der Short S.27 ein Schubdoppeldecker mit ungleicher Spannweite. Bei der S.38 wurde jedoch die Spannweite vergrößert und auch die Gondel angepasst, sodass bei Besatzungsmitglieder, Pilot und Beobachter dort Platz fanden. Auch das Heck wurde überarbeitet, wobei das Leitwerk vergrößert wurde und zwei Ruder eingebaut wurden.

Nach der Abnahme durch den Royal Naval Air Service wurden zunächst 9 Flugzeuge des Typs gebaut, ausgeliefert und dienten für die Ausbildung von Piloten.

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Short S.38

 

Zeichnung der Short S.38

 

 

 

Einsatz im ersten Weltkrieg:

Als der erste Weltkrieg in Europa ausgebrochen war, befanden sich die 9 Short S.38 in Eastchurch und dienten dem Royal Naval Air Service für die Ausbildung. Da die Führung von den Druckpropeller Flugzeugen insgesamt sehr zufrieden war, bestellte diese 1915 weitere Flugzeuge um den hohen Ausbildungsbedarf decken zu können.

Da die Firma Short Brothers zu dieser Zeit bereits mit der Produktion anderer Flugzeuge ausgelastet war, wurde der Auftrag an andere Firmen ausgelagert. So wurden bei Pemberton-Billing 12 und bei White und Thompson 24 Flugzeuge vom Typ Short S.38 in Lizenz gebaut.

Im Jahr 1916 wurden diese dann nach und nach ausgeliefert und verblieben bis 1917 im Dienst und zur Ausbildung von Piloten.

 

 

 

Technische Daten:

Bezeichnung: Short S.38
Land: Großbritannien
Typ: Küstenpatrouille, Ausbildungsflugzeug
Länge: 10,82 Meter
Spannweite: 16 Meter
Höhe: unbekannt
Gewicht: 499 kg leer
Besatzung: Max. 2
Motor: Ein Gnôme Rotationsmotor mit 80 PS
Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 93 km/h
Reichweite: Max. 467 Kilometer
Bewaffnung: keine

 

 

 

 

 

This post is also available in: enEnglish (Englisch) frFrançais (Französisch) itItaliano (Italienisch) zh-hans简体中文 (Vereinfachtes Chinesisch) ruРусский (Russisch)

Kommentare sind deaktiviert.

error: Content is protected !!